We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free samples of alcohol?! Sure!”

1871 Bar and Lounge
Ranked #14 of 155 Nightlife in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Free samples of alcohol?! Sure!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We were walking down a street in Leeds today while on our vacation and a waitress stops us and asks us if we want free drink samples. We ended up having happy hour here. The atmosphere was great and drinks were well priced. Overall, it was pretty great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    14
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to have an after work drink”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Came here for a few drinks after work. The decoration is simple and nice service is good I recommend this place to everyone who wants to have a drink after work and been in the city center

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CPTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to relax with a cocktail!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Love it! Thanks to Holly and the team for the great cocktails!!
Not only do they do the usual cocktail favourites, the 1871 team also have their own signature drinks on the menu! Phenomenal!!! However, I don't recommend you trying them all on the same visit!!
Feeling pekish? they also do a mean burger!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bar-Shame about the managers attitude!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

As a group of 8 girls on a hen night we of course wanted to celebrate with a stylish cocktail or two on our trip to Leeds. Now as you can expect on the average hen night we were in "hen party" sashes and yes we were carrying an inflatable willy. We were very aware of the fact that not all places that we would visit would approve of this and so we asked on the door if this was OK. The guys on the door were lovely and proceeded to let us in...

At the bar we all ordered our drinks, we weren't being loud or obnoxious in anyway and the atmosphere in the bar was fabulous. However this was soon to be ruined my a manager. Upon leaving the bar to join us at our table a guy, named Phil I think we were told, proceeded in a very impolite way to inform us that our inflatable willy was not allowed. He was short and abrupt and when we pointed out that this was OK on the door and at the bar he became quite aggressive.

When I asked for a manager he informed me that this was him. I explained calmly that we had just bought drinks and that we were happy to leave the inflatable behind the bar or out of sight until we left. He then snottily replied that this is an £180 an evening hotel and that it is offensive to the customers and the hotel brand. I must stress how sneering he was while he said this.

We deflated the inflatable and the manager stormed away form us. Now things worth pointing out:
1- we were quite willing to deflate/hide the inflatable
2- as we had all just purchased drinks at the bar we too were customers and did not deserve to be spoke to in that rude way.
3-The snooty bar managers attitude, Phil I suggest you fix this, sneering down at us and trying to intimidate us with the price of the room rates was low of you. Also its worth mentioning that two of us work in the hotel business at Hilton and Somerston hotels and I can assure you that our staff and colleges would never treat our customers like that. We'd expected better from Marriott management....

All in all the bar had a fabulous atmosphere, very upbeat and beautifully decorated. The cocktails were lovely and to be fair the bar staff were great.

Like I said it was a shame about the managers attitude!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Cocktails & nibbles! A shopping trip must!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great little wine bar in the centre of Leeds, we recently visited on a shopping trip and after popping into a couple of stinky dives in Leeds we found this quite a warming and friendly experience. It's not cheap but, hey....you can treat yourself....right?
Has some great little comforts on a bar menu, including fish finger sandwiches, serves great cocktails made fresh with loads of TLC, the ladies love it. Always busy but when the afternoon turns to the evening I noticed the fancy drinks like cider in an iced glass with fruit seemed to run out. Worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1871 Bar and Lounge also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to 1871 Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing