We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasantly busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #501 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unpleasantly busy”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this Pizza Express as a family of 4 during a visit to The Royal Armouries. Arrived at 11.30am on a Sunday and within almost half an hour the place was absolutely heaving and they were struggling to cope with the volume of orders. Quite a few tables were asking how much longer the food would be. A pre booked table of 9 arrived and the table wasn't ready, they very hastily pushed some together right next to us which was a bit awkward. The food was fine but the wait was too long especially with little ones. The waiter did not interact at all with the children and got one of the orders wrong.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owl77Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    47
    30
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
936 reviews
535 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Good meal. Student discount”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great food and it takes student discount at 20 percent. Really nice meal and we will be back next time we are up.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Attitude”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Came in with my 2 friends and little cousin on Sunday. It was very busy and we were eventually greeted by a lovely girl called una... The table she sat us at had the sun shining directly on us and was too hot so we asked it we could move, una wanting to satisfy customers of course said yes , but when we got to another section a girl called steph told us she won't be cleaning a table for us she's too busy and she wouldn't serve us if we sat outside either so we went back to the hot table. Luckily the sun went after a few minutes. The food was ok didn't find it anything special. I recently moved to the area and thought this would be a great place on my days off to have catch ups with friends but after the way steph spoke and treated us I won't be returning!! It wasn't even what she said, it was how she said it! The worst waitress I have ever met in my life, if it wasn't for una and her politeness I would of just walked straight back out. I understand the place was busy but still, if you can't work under pressure you shouldn't be a waitress! Thank you to una for the recommendations with sharing starters, desserts etc... You should shine some of your manners on steph!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole1992hackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location pizza not at the usual standard ”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the restaurant when nearby on business. Pizza Express is normally pretty reliable. But on this occasion both the starter and pizza were disappointing and burnt in places - I will try somewhere else next time.

Helpful?
Thank JDNSKI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I went with a few friends and we were disappointed. Honestly, it´s better to buy the ones that they sell in Tesco. The pizzas were small, overpriced and tasteless. The four seasons pizza actually it should be named "3 seasons and a half" (only 3 anchovies).
I wont go back again. There are better pizza places in Leeds for the same price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing