We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacked Ambience & poor service”
Review of Elysium - CLOSED

Elysium
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: City centre located LS1 (2min Walk from Leeds Train Station) modern Italian Restaurant/Bar, offering Modern Italian Cuisine. With a new food menu for the restaurant to appeal to people with all tastes of Italy. Offering great value meals with Fine Italian Dining. While the menu covers most regions of Italy, there is a particular emphasis on the cuisine of Italy. Elysium is committed to sourcing ingredients from small, artisan producers, with many specially imported from Italy. In true Italian style, we insist at Elysium preparing and making all the bread and pasta fresh each day, complemented only by the very best in seasonal British produce.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lacked Ambience & poor service”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Having read the previous reviews I was dubious about visiting this restaurant but the Living Social Voucher made it worthy. We arrived bang on time after treking through town from the cinema at The Light to then be stood there over 5 minutes feeling stupid..... When a lady did eventually come to us there was no friendly welcome just 'have you booked'. On seating we were given the menus & that was that, I felt very unimportant which was either down to the fact we were 'voucher people' or that she was needed elsewhere!?! We were a party of 2 adults, 3 teens & 1 child & the two round tables we were allocated made it very awkward to speak to everyone. I just felt like we needn't spend any longer there than needed as it just wasn't comfortable. The food was fine, nothing out the ordinary but even if it had been the service let the whole experience down. Unfortunately I wouldn't re-visit or recommend there's a whole lot better out there, voucher deal or not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H_Kits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    81
    53
    60
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped for brunch after checking into crown plaza across the road. Apart from struggling to work out how to get into the place -must be a Leeds thing as struggled with two other places the place was lovely. We were only customers at first but got busier. Eggs florentine and Benedict were perfectly cooked, full English also very good. Coffee very tasty. Would definitely go again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ideas above its station”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

On the surface, Elysium is a modern, sophisticated cafe with its high tables, white walls and chrome fixtures. But behind the facade is a distinctly average cafe, with below-par food and appalling service.

To say the service was slow would be to do a disservice to snails. Coffee took fifteen minutes to arrive - and tasted foul - breakfast a further twenty. The full English was disappointing - cold beans, cheap bread and limp tomato. The tasty poached egg and miniature slice of bacon weren't enough to tip the balance in this breakfast's favour. The orange juice was concentrated, and out of a packet.

On close inspection the decor was distinctly odd, the ceiling gaping with missing light fittings, and a 1970s ice cream fridge a peculiar feature.

In summary, avoid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBirdsEye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service good food”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We held our hen do celebration at this resturant. It was a Friday night and the resturant was empty so had the resturant to ourself. The table was decorated and food was excellent. Good sized portions - one person had chicken salad for starter and the plate was piled high. We had chicken, steak, belly pork, pasta and risotto all very lovely with generous side dishes. The resturant manager was very nice, not too in your face seen as though we were the only guests. That was until a table of people arrived who were friends/relatives of the owner and one guest was slightly annoying. She was a bit dunk and couldn't help but pester our hen party table and at one point had an unfortunate incident with her top hanging down. Lucky when her food arrived she backed off to leave us in peace. Apart from that a very nice meal. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJCrazycards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“goost house”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

we had a meal on saturday . the worst italian food i ever had ,the pasta and pizza were tasteless,it was hadly no customers in the restaurant .the place looked like a goost house ,
staff had no idea what they ar doing,sur this place is not run bay italian job, atmosphere zero,avoid the place,we won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elysium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing