We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty choices, great find!”

Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen
Ranked #430 of 1,857 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are an exclusively vegetarian cafe serving a range of sandwiches, salads and light lunches which are prepared on the premises. There are many vegan options to choose from and also a gluten free menu. All our cakes are homemade. We are licensed and sell vegan wines, lager and beer. Where possible ingredients are locally sourced. In the deli you can choose from a selection of vegetarian and vegan cheeses, hummus, salads, falafel and frittata as well as our own vegetarian main meals to take home. On our shelves we stock a variety of vegetarian, vegan and gluten free products
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty choices, great find!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I wanted to find somewhere convenient, with decent food, to meet up with friends all travelling into Leeds. Nichols seemed to fit the bill. We weren't disappointed. None of our party are exclusively veggie, but I rarely eat meat and I love vegan food. The choice was great and I had a wonderfully tasty chickpea curry (which I still crave, even though the visit was in June!!). My friends were very happy with their choices too and we all had a piece of delicious chocolate cake to finish the meal. If I lived in Leeds I'd be back frequently. Unfortunately I am in Cambridge!! Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HSh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john s, Owner at Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for choosing us and pleased you were not disappointed. The chick pea curry is a favourite and of Caribbean origin. We appreciate that you took the time out to share your experience on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    27
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Went to Nichols for lunch, vegetarian/vegan cafes/restaurants are few and far between in Leeds so was excited to try it out. As it was lunch time it was a busy but we where seated quickly. The menu was great and so refreshing to have lots of different choices, they cover everything; raw, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free etc. The food was fresh and delicious and I can't wait to go back and try something different as there was so much choice. Its a shame it isn't open into the evening as I would go regularly for an evening meal. I really liked Nichols and if you are looking for a great vegi cafe, this is it; it is a shame there isn't more places like this around Leeds! Great work, thanks!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scbpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john s, Owner at Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to review us on TA. We pride ourselves on offering a variety of choices and keep bringing fresh options to the menu.
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
“Veggie heaven ”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Fab deli that's worth the drive out the centre of Leeds for. Staff were very friendly and food was amazing. Veggie food done well can really make such a difference and the food delicious and very reasonably priced for the amount of food we got. It was good to see that they do chips and some veggie places go too healthy which doesn't always suit everyone. Wish there was more places like this.

Helpful?
Thank Lkbradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john s, Owner at Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the drive out and sharing your experience on TA.
We are all happy that you enjoyed the quality and quantity of food and found the staff friendly. The house fries are very popular and like all our food homemade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good to find somewhere that serves tasty food which appeals equally to non-vegetarians. Great choice, value for money, pleasant staff. Highly recommended and will be back again soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john s, Owner at Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for you recommendation, glad that we ticked all the boxes. See you on your next visit and thanks for taking the time to review us on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem in Chapel Allerton”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nichols Deli is one of the rare places that offers great food, coffee and sense of community. The quality and choice of food is excellent, even my non-vegetarian friends think so. It's a huge positive that you can order London's Monmouth coffee in the heart of Chapel Allerton. The staff are very friendly and always give a warm welcome.
I highly recommend N.V.D as a place to visit if you want full flavour, high quality food and drink at great prices. All this in a friendly and inviting environment, what more is there is ask for?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kosmo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john s, Owner at Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on TA. Our staff have a passion for the deli and are delighted that the golden thread running through TA reviews are the consistency of food and service. Very pleased you enjoy the coffee, Monmouth roast an excellent bean; their coffee cupper brings together the single estates that produce just the right flavours and tones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Nichols Vegetarian Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing