We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice deco, terrible food”
Review of New World Cafe

New World Cafe
Ranked #1,270 of 1,837 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice deco, terrible food”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

3 course deal
Watered down miso soup with little tofu and no seaweed etc
Cold soggy fried rice with fatty pork and too much green pepper
2 Spring roll style small gyoza

It was cheap at 9 for 2 people but it was still not worth it

Deco was nice and staff friendly enough but food really let it down. I love Japanese food and if it had been good I would return again and again but it failed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Risa_Risa_Risa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fine for lunchtime”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Visited today using a Wowcher voucher. Japanese 3 course lunch. Limited menu of soup, gyoza dumplings and a choice of a rice or noodle dish. Portions not massive but quite tasty. Plates could have been warmer.
All in all service was fine and the food was tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really terrible food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We went with a groupon voucher that entitled us to 2 starters and 2 mains, The options were very limited. We had what can only be described as mush balls for starters, they were that bad we left them all and ordered ourselves some soup which was okay, For main we had chow mein which i was surprised was so bad, mine was really greasy and my boyfriends was really dry! The food ordered of the groupon menu was that bad we ended up spending more money on extras from the menu, many of which were just as bad. Drinks were nearly £5 for a half pint glass of soft drink. Overall i was very unimpressed and will not be going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funksoulsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff bordering on homophobic, cold food & a let down”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I visited this 'restaurant' via a Living Social offer and feel we were treated in the most appalling manner as we were two men having dinner together. As we arrived, we were looked at as though we had advised we were there to defacate on the tables rather than to have a nice meal out? All I had said was that we had booked a table for two and gave my name. The man checking this looked the pair of us up and down and checked his desk after audibly huffing.
After being hurridly shoved onto a table in the furthest back corner of the dining area, we were approached 3 times to order in less than 10 minutes which made us feel pressured to order and feel unwelcome. I dont know about anyone else, but when going out for dinner, its nice just chatting away and not immediatley eyeing up the menu.
The food was flavourless and cold and we left feeling cheated and rushed out. I would not recommend this place to anyone and feel they the establishment have a great deal to learn about customer service and how to treat its patrons.
Thumbs down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeedsArtBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS, WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“On the one hand....”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We visited on Saturday 18th at about 7.30pm It was not busy by any means. It didn't start well when the manager on letting someone out of the restuarant let the door go in my wife's face.
The service was very slow, there only appeared to be one menu which was quite limited. The starters did not come together, i had to wait quite a long time after my wife had recieved hers. The main courses came but only one portion of rice, the scond one again took a long time to arrive.
But on the other hand the food was very good, but the portions were small. We went upstairs to the Karaoke but is was deserted. Overall not bad but probably would not choose to go there again as there are much better places to eat in Leeds

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gasman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New World Cafe also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to New World Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing