We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit”
Review of Behind the Town Hall - CLOSED

Behind the Town Hall
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Second visit to Behind the Town Hall, and it did not disappoint. I had a lovely glass of an off-dry Riesling and we shared one of the mixed platters which was a selection of delicious German sausage, cheese and fruit with rye toast and crackers. The proprietor is delighted to share his knowledge about German beers and wines. Looking forward to a return visit soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliSheph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unusual and excellent”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Terrific and unusual venue with excellent wines, beers and food. Martin is a very friendly host and is obviously passionate about his food, drink and customers. I recommend the cheese and meat platter as well as the wheat beers. We have put our email addresses on the mailing list and can't wait for the next event!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavieG959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A really enjoyable experience.

Great wines and lovely food, with a very knowledgeable and entertaining host.

Definitely recommend the wine flight, as it is great value for money and allows you to try different wines.

Looking forward to coming back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H_E_doncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A different couple of hours”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

If you enjoy wine you must visit this wine bar!
We went for a wine tasting, using a voucher. We .tasted 3 white and 3 red wines.
Martin is very knowledgeable and made the evening very interesting and enjoyable. We rarely drink German wines but we found 3 that we both liked and bought a bottle of one of them to take home.
We also enjoyed a delicious platter of continental meats and cheese.
If you have friends who enjoy wine and would like to try 'non-supermarket' wines, I strongly recommend that arrange to spend an evening here.
It would be a great venue for a celebration

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall excellence”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent venue that we called into on our way through Leeds. Great food service and choice of wines, had a great cheese and meat platter and will go back again as soon as we visit Leeds again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjgriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Behind the Town Hall also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing