We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor communication”
Review of LIVIN'italy

LIVIN'italy
Ranked #73 of 1,974 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BAR - ITALIAN KITCHEN - DELI the friendliest retreat/bar in Leeds City Centre with an Italian restaurant and in-house deli. Open from breakfast to late night cocktails. But tasting truly is believing!!
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

After reading all the positive reviews on trip advisors, I booked my partners birthday meal here, I spoke to the manager who was more than welcome to book a party of 11 on a Saturday
Manager asked me if I'd been to this restaurant before, I told them no!,
well I can book your party in the lounge area is that fine ,I told him I'll go with his recommendations,
So saturday the 12th arrives party in full swing, not only its the smallest restaurant ive ever been to ,& shared toilets!
The host arrives to show us to our table
The table was adequate for small child under the age of 5!
If we wanted to eat our food on our laps then perfect.
We spoke with the management who refused to alter our table
Management tried to blame the party booking, by the way NEVER mentioned about eating dinner on a childs table never mind are knees
I was disguised with the manager attitude
Who turned around and said to us you can go else where!
I will never never go back, poor service (manager ) restaurant again
You ruined my partner birthday night!
But thankgod for bibis a more up market restaurant who couldn't do enough for us, they even gave us a free bottle of wine for my partner birthday.
Please note DO NOT arrange to eat in the lounge area!!!!!

2  Thank Fay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivinItaly_LS1, Owner at LIVIN'italy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Fay H,

many thanks for your feedback, which underlines an issue we came across once before with a large party that didnt communicate to the other members the kind of set up. Apart from this occasion, we never come across this problem, as we have sorted out a while ago this potential issue by communicating clearly the difference between a table in our restaurant area upstairs, a table downstairs and a table in our lounge area (bar style, lower sitting.....), prior to any bookings.

i can say with confidence, that you were indeed told about the set up clearly (which by the way is not as you describe, otherwise you would find that nobody would use such area, at contrary, we are busy with big parties that quite often specifically ask for such area every week end, because they love the laid back layout). in fact, you were also invited to come and check the area if not sure, underlining the differences right from the start, but you didnt seem to have any time for either and you were confident the area would have been fine.

we had many happy customers in such area day after day for the past 2 and half years so we dont quite see the issue as you did, and when taking a booking, we dont recommend any areas of our venue, as they are all quite different, we simply explain them and let you decide which is best for yourself. This approach works very well for us, but it didnt seem to work on this occasion.

At the time of complaint, of course the manager came to try and understand why, after the conversation you had over the phone and therefore being very well aware of the layout, you were ultimately not happy with it (i understand it wasn't you not being happy at first, but a gentleman in your party)?

i also understand you might have felt under pressure, having booked the table yourself, but to blame us with a slightly misleading explanation of events, seems unfair from my personal point of view.

ultimately, we are very hard working people that take work and professionalism very seriously and to hear such comments, purposely designed to hurt an establishment you never even had the chance to experience, seems biased and useless, as it doesnt help anybody else reading it, nor it changed the outcome of your night.

i would also like to add that, the behavior of our manager, was not by any means argumentative, in fact, if he had an alternative space available, he would have been very happy to solved the issue by giving you a different table, but being a buzzing establishment, all the restaurant was booked up, as well as the very same area you were allocated, was booked for another larger party, right after yours, so in an attempt to please, our manager made you aware of the fact that no deposit will be taken for your table, if you decided to go elsewhere, despite us having lost out on a large space right in the middle of a saturday night. But obviously, you didnt consider the fact that we were only trying to help, at contrary, you thought he was telling you to go elsewhere?

ultimately, i think i can agree with you, there was a communication issue, one i dont think could have been sorted our end in that particular instance, in any other way. i therefore think the very best solution was found on such occasion, even though we have lost out on a large party booking also going against our deposit policy, to let you enjoy your evening as you wanted, inviting you back for a more enjoyable experience in the area of our venue preferred to you.

so i am glad you found an alternative venue to your liking, big enough and to your standard, i admit we are by choice extremely different from such establishments and we take pride in being so, taking nothing away from such a great venue like the one you went to, which i respect fully for their great accomplishments and to which i pay a visit from time to time but from which, we just have a very different approach.

i wish you all the best and hope to see you for a meal in our restaurant area sometime in the future.

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 868 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great friendly welcome, tasty food at sensible prices and a superb lively atmosphere. A definite return visit to this place. In a single word... Fantistico!!

Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great atmosphere, great drinks and great food. A particularly good relaxing venue to sit outside in the sun enjoying the lovely surroundings and food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melaniej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

All the staff make you feel personally welcome, they also try to ensure all personal request are honoured. I have visited many times since the opening and would highly recommend it. The food is all fresh and cooked on the premises, it is all sourced to a high quality. The cocktails are the best and are not your ever day cocktail, again all care and attention is made into the cocktails and wines they sell.

Give it ago you won't be disappointed

Tracey H

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved the style of the place, exposed brick meets modern twist. Food was amazingly tasty and the cocktails were the best I've tasted yet.
Would only say an extra member of staff upstairs would allow staff time to give a more personal service and therefore add to the atmosphere of the place.
Would definitely recommend and will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LIVIN'italy also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to LIVIN'italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing