We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yorkshire trip”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights with 3 friends on art trip, none of us spring chickens!
Pros - New building, lifts, smart rooms, secure with card access and friendly staff. Easy walk to city bus stop.
Cons - Unable to make even simple breakfast as available kitchen not equipped, involving trek across campus to Refectory with erratic opening hours. The only kitchen/tv room we were allowed to access was inadequate for no. of visitors staying, and tv watching/relaxing/chatting was rendered impossible by washing machine activity etc.
Probably good for conference guests, less appropriate for us. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agedpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very disappointing overall. This may be of a good standard as student accommodation but was billed as a conference venue. The rooms were clean first day but very basic - no tv/radio/ or any forms of entertainment and with the campus facilities closed for functions on two nights very little to do in eve. Also shared facilities such as kitchen were either locked or being lived in by overseas students who were using them as an annex of their rooms and leaving mess everywhere, including drinks clothing it equipment and even medication as well as being asleep on sofas frequently

The walls were very thin and with absence of tv etc it was impossible not to hear every word of telephone conversations the adjoining tenant was having with his partner, as well as his toilet and washing habits.

Finally there was the service. Servicing of rooms was randomly selected. One day it was cleaned, one day towels were changed and the rest of the four day stay nothing was done, When this was raised with reception by myself and other delegates we were told that rooms werent serviced on sundays. This is odd enough but made worse that other rooms on same floors were done that day so obviously some staff were in.Also promises of additional coat hangers (there were two) did not materialise. All in all not a very good experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeW642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed two nights on a recent trip to Leeds. Immaculately clean, modern room and friendly staff. It was the start of a bank holiday weekend, but staff were very friendly and patient. Great value, and as a Leed uni alum, it was great to stay on campus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeetinLeeds, Sales Assistant at University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are very happy to hear you had an excellent stay, Ginjammer.

We pride ourselves on providing great value and an excellent service in our brand new accommodation, and always with a smile!

We now have more dates available to book throughout the year- check out our website or contact us for details!

Thanks again,

Meet in Leeds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

An excellent two night stay. Accommodation and food excellent topped off with welcoming and friendly staff. Facilities on site met all our group's needs and it would be a pleasure to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fergie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeetinLeeds, Sales Assistant at University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We are very happy to hear you had an excellent stay, Fergie64.

We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service at our newly refurbished accommodation at affordable prices, and always with a smile!

If you are back in Leeds for the July 2014 Tour de Yorkshire Grand Depart you can book start-line accommodation at our MEETinLEEDS website now.

Thanks again,

Meet in Leeds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Thank you for an enjoyable stay. Chris - you were always cheerful, friend and helpful. Thank you.rooms are only suitable for one person but have ensures and a double bed. There is a kit hen with a washing machine and dryer as well as cooking facilities. It is on campus and 10-15 min walk to town. Great value. I will stay here next time I in town

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrVik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeetinLeeds, Sales Assistant at University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words, DrVik.
We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service at our newly refurbished accommodation at affordable prices, and always with a smile!

If you are back in Leeds for the July 2014 Tour de Yorkshire Grand Depart you can book start-line accommodation at our MEETinLEEDS website now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Mansio Suites Headrow
Mansio Suites Headrow
#27 of 87 in Leeds
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,186 reviews
The New Ellington
#14 of 87 in Leeds
803 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court

Property: University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court
Address: Mount Preston Street | University of Leeds, Leeds LS2 9JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University of Leeds - Storm Jameson Court 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Jameson Court is the flagship campus accommodation operated by the University of Leeds, offering up to 459 superior single en suite bedrooms built to extremely high standards. It is one of the University of Leeds' premier residences and has been accredited with a 4-star grading from Visit England. If you're looking for a comfortable base from which to explore the buzzing city of Leeds or the surrounding countryside, then look no further! The excellent road, rail and bus network will provide ample opportunities to sample the diversity of Yorkshire. With beautiful countryside, exceptional places of interest, fantastic shopping and nightlife, there is something for everyone, right on the doorstep! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing