We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Ibis Leeds Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

8 of us stayed at the ibis on Sunday 16th march. Check in was noisy and receptionist not that welcoming. The hotel reception area was being vacuumed so hearing was difficult. Once checked in our room on the 10th floor was very clean and met our needs, room was a little too warm for our comfort and we couldn't seem to turn the heating controls down.

For sake of ease we decided to stay at the ibis for an early evening meal before leaving for our evening out. We were shown to our table at 5.45 pm. There was one other couple there wanting to eat also.. We ordered drinks and food. The drinks arrived but the food arrived one hour later.. BY that time we were all extremely hungry and I have to say not one of my party of eight enjoyed our meals. The food was cold, my "sustainable fish" was awful. I cut into the batter which disintegrated into nothing. The chips and peas were cold. Two friends had gammon with the strangest of accompanying plated potatoes and vegetables.. Other friends had piri piri chicken (minus any sauce! Everyone declared it the worst meal they had ever had.

I did complain but was only offered apologies and not solutions..

We went for the breakfast next morning and that was perfectly acceptable and value for money.

I did complain again after breakfast about our dining experience and was again met with apologies but no solutions. I think that was bad management.

A restaurant is only as good as it's chef. If you want people to return then you gave to value the customers. We were made to feel like passing trade and not valued customers.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room. Do not be tempted to dine in just for sake of ease. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review further to your stay with us at Ibis Leeds Centre.

I'm sorry to hear you had received such service on your recent visit. Your feedback will be shared with the relevant Heads of department to ensure this type of service isn't given again.

Kind Regards,

Alistair Good
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed last Monday and couldn't have asked for better my only gripe was coffee in paper cups if I go again will take my own mug otherwise for price keep up good work couldn't do enough for us even found extra pillows when asked

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words further to your stay with us at Ibis Leeds Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alistair Good
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Atif M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Good value hotel with comfortable rooms. The same as all ibis hotels really. The reception Staff are friendly and efficient . Though bar staff could do with a bit more training. Breakfast is buffet style and good value and better selection than most ibis hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review further to your stay with us at Ibis Leeds Centre. Your feedback will be passed onto the Food & Beverage Manager.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alistair Good
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Having stayed at various Ibis hotels we knew exactly what to expect. This Ibis was clean comfortable and adequately equipped as others, it was nice and central and had everything you need for a comfortable and reasonably priced overnight stay.

We were aware from reading reviews that the car park was across the road - a very busy road -and you either took your life in your hands attempting to cross or faced a bit of a hike up to the crossing. However, they fail to mention some important facts re the exact location of the car park and how the charges work.

There is no charge to use the car park between 6pm and 8am, and importantly this means if you arrive before 6pm or leave after 8am you have to cross that road yet again to top up the pay and display. Also equally importantly the hotel is just off of sort of roundabout within the busy one way/ring road system and the car park is in the centre island of this roundabout - not in Marlborough Street itself. We were following instructions to the hotel and ended up having to find our way round the one way section/ring road to get back to the entrance to the car park.

Use directions for West St Car Park rather than the hotel itself and another useful tip is if you put money in the machine after 6pm the hours you purchase will not start until 8am the next morning - The whole parking situation should be better explained on the website for this particular hotel to make it easier for guests.

The Ibis breakfast is normally very good for a hot buffet style and we have complimented it on stays at other Ibis hotels, but sadly the hot buffet while looking well cooked was only tepid at best which made it uneatable. I did notice one of the kitchen staff taking the temperature of the various items about 15 minutes later and went over to politely point out that we had not been able to eat our breakfast due to the temperature he simply said "really, sorry" and continued his job. He didn't attempt to discuss the readings he was taking and whether they backed our opinion or disputed them. Due to his complete lack of interest we mentioned the temperature problem at reception - at first they wholeheartedly refuted our allegation and said that they check the temperature regularly and ensure that it doesn't fall below the minimum temperature guideline for serving food and perhaps our taste was for hotter food. We explained that we normally enjoy Ibis breakfasts and that temperature is not an issue at their other hotels, and it was the first time we have had cause to complain, but they still insisted they checked regularly that it didn't fall below minimum temperature and it must just be down to our personal choice of temperature. Finally he refunded the cost of breakfast (£7.95 per person) but not until he had made us feel that we were just complaining for the sake of it.

We did not find the staff rude/ignorant as has been mentioned in other reviews, but we certainly found that they were lacking in some important customer service skills when compared to Ibis hotels in Brighton, London etc. Nothing that a bit of additional training perhaps wouldn't improve on.

Would probably stay again as the rooms are perfectly adequate and in the hope that the customer service improves and becomes more in line with other Ibis hotels around the UK.

Room Tip: Parking: read comments above. You need to be aware of location and how the pay and display works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG31England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review further to your stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear we didn’t live up to your expectations. The car park, which can be safely accessed via 2 pedestrian walk ways (one at each end of the car park), has 3 different methods of payment whilst parking there. 1) Via an automated telephone system using the car park location code 2) paying via the smart phone app which can be downloaded from iTunes 3) paying cash at the coin operated machines which are situated in the car park. The alternatives to cash make parking much easier and saves time, this stops you from returning to your car to top up the cash.

With regards the food standards I will be speaking with the Food & Beverage Manager to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alistair Good
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Manchester, United Kingdom
58
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leeds Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leeds Centre

Address: 23 Marlborough Street | West Yorkshire, Leeds LS1 4PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Leeds
#21 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £29 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leeds Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leeds Centre is a 168 room hotel located within the centre of Leeds, close to the shopping district, 10 minutes walk from Leeds railway station, 20 minutes drive from Leeds Bradford Airport. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel features a restaurant open between 6 p.m. and 10 p.m and a bar open between 12 noon and 1 a.m with snacks available 24 hours. Complimentary WIFI is available throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have its own car park but there is a public pay and display car park opposite the hotel where charges apply during the day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Leeds Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Leeds Centre Hotel Leeds
Accor Leeds Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing