We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful”
Review of Ibis Leeds Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I pretty much agree with most of the reviews here. The rooms are basic, dingy and the bathroom is like a space capsule. The rooms do get hot. The window is not that easy to control (flings wide open like a deadweight taking you with it). It seems to be a wind tunnel area too especially noticeable the higher up the building you are so not advisable to be climbing on furniture and messing about with windows. The area is a hotel quarter, so there is a lot of choice available if you feel that Ibis are living up to the budget label but not the quality badge. The menu on the other hand is surprisingly good for a budget hotel. The check in and out was fast - no problems with the staff at all!

Room Tip: If travelling by train do note that the location is not that close by foot. You have to walk over s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all feedback and take on board comments raised.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Leeds.

Kind Regards,
Alistair Good
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    528
    263
    55
    52
See reviews for
130
336
135
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

After reading some reviews after booking, I was put off a bit, but the hotel was lovely. Comfy beds, very quiet and clean, yes the rooms are basic, but what do people expect for the money. Staff friendly and helpful and breakfast lovely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrsfoodiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to hear you were impressed with your stay with us at Ibis Leeds Centre. Feedback about the Ibis beds are appreciated, take time to watch the recent award winning video clips about our Ibis Sweet Beds, these are available on YouTube.

Kind Regards,

Alistair Good
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stay here at least once a year. You know what to expect. I don't particularly want an atmospheric bar but I like a comfortable bed. The room was hot. Strong smell of urine in the bathroom. People OK

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review further to your stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear the bathroom was a let down. Your feedback will be shared with the housekeeping department.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Leeds.

Kind Regards,
Alistair Good
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

8 of us stayed at the ibis on Sunday 16th march. Check in was noisy and receptionist not that welcoming. The hotel reception area was being vacuumed so hearing was difficult. Once checked in our room on the 10th floor was very clean and met our needs, room was a little too warm for our comfort and we couldn't seem to turn the heating controls down.

For sake of ease we decided to stay at the ibis for an early evening meal before leaving for our evening out. We were shown to our table at 5.45 pm. There was one other couple there wanting to eat also.. We ordered drinks and food. The drinks arrived but the food arrived one hour later.. BY that time we were all extremely hungry and I have to say not one of my party of eight enjoyed our meals. The food was cold, my "sustainable fish" was awful. I cut into the batter which disintegrated into nothing. The chips and peas were cold. Two friends had gammon with the strangest of accompanying plated potatoes and vegetables.. Other friends had piri piri chicken (minus any sauce! Everyone declared it the worst meal they had ever had.

I did complain but was only offered apologies and not solutions..

We went for the breakfast next morning and that was perfectly acceptable and value for money.

I did complain again after breakfast about our dining experience and was again met with apologies but no solutions. I think that was bad management.

A restaurant is only as good as it's chef. If you want people to return then you gave to value the customers. We were made to feel like passing trade and not valued customers.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room. Do not be tempted to dine in just for sake of ease. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review further to your stay with us at Ibis Leeds Centre.

I'm sorry to hear you had received such service on your recent visit. Your feedback will be shared with the relevant Heads of department to ensure this type of service isn't given again.

Kind Regards,

Alistair Good
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed last Monday and couldn't have asked for better my only gripe was coffee in paper cups if I go again will take my own mug otherwise for price keep up good work couldn't do enough for us even found extra pillows when asked

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManagementTeam, Assistant Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words further to your stay with us at Ibis Leeds Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alistair Good
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leeds Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leeds Centre

Property: Ibis Leeds Centre
Address: 23 Marlborough Street | West Yorkshire, Leeds LS1 4PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Leeds
#21 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leeds Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leeds Centre is a 168 room hotel located within the centre of Leeds, close to the shopping district, 10 minutes walk from Leeds railway station, 20 minutes drive from Leeds Bradford Airport. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel features a restaurant open between 6 p.m. and 10 p.m and a bar open between 12 noon and 1 a.m with snacks available 24 hours. Complimentary WIFI is available throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have its own car park but there is a public pay and display car park opposite the hotel where charges apply during the day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Leeds Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Leeds Centre Hotel Leeds
Accor Leeds Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing