We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent visit”
Review of Moorlea Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorlea Hotel
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Blagnac
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent visit”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

A perfectly clean room. Friendly and helpful welcome. The staff couldn't do enough to help and advise us. They will be seeing me during all the school hols next year to visit my daughter who will be studying in Leeds. If only they could have stopped the rain, only joking!
A perfectly clean room. Friendly and helpful welcome. The staff couldn't do enough to help and advise us. They will be seeing me during all the school hols next year to visit my daughter who will be studying in Leeds. If only they could have stopped the rain, only joking!
A perfectly clean room. Friendly and helpful welcome. The staff couldn't do enough to help and advise us. They will be seeing me during all the school hols next year to visit my daughter who will be studying in Leeds. If only they could have stopped the rain, only joking!
A perfectly clean room. Friendly and helpful welcome. The staff couldn't do enough to help and advise us. They will be seeing me during all the school hols next year to visit my daughter who will be studying in Leeds. If only they could have stopped the rain, only joking!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahBlagnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
10
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Godalming
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked 3 rooms for one night before my son's graduation at Leeds University. The staff were friendly and the rooms were quite reasonably priced with 1 single room with wash basin, 1 single with shared bathroom and a double ensuite.

Glad we were so close to Leeds Uni as it would have been too much of a rush if we had not been within such short walking distance.

Loved the cooked breakfast - the only thing that REALLY got my back up was that they wanted more money for proper coffee which I have never had to do before at a B+B or hotel. We were told the money goes to charity - to be honest I couldn't care less where the money goes -it just annoyed me that we had to all fork out extra. I don't drink instant coffee!

Apart from that I would recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank IngGodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

After reading two previous bad reviews (which I think is fairly obvious were the same person) I phoned the hotel before booking and spoke to this "terrible racist person" who of course was nothing of the sort!
I booked and then arrived on a Saturday afternoon and found both the owners really nice and chatty with good advice.
We were not shown to our room, however, but were given the keys and told to go to room 3.
Not the largest room in the world, but it was ensuite and that was all we required.
During the night, however someone from room 4 (next door) got out of bed and the noise of the creaking floor boards woke us up (the walls are not very thick either) but it was only £50 per night for two of us which is very reasonable for Leeds.
Breakfast was cereal,tea or coffee and juice and toast unless you wanted a cooked breakfast for £5
Overall the stay was good and cost effective, thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesPne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed in a non en-suite room, I found no inconveniece with this, the communal bathrooms were clean and comfortable. The location is great for the Universities, Headingly or Leeds City Centre. The cooked breakfast is an optional extra, and great. The staff I met were fantasically helpful, friendly and a pleasure to speak to. It was exceptional value for money compared with the city hotels and I wanted for nothing. I booked online, and was contacted to get an estimation on when I would be arriving. The directions provided were clear and easy to follow.
In short I found it Friendly, Clean, Comfortable and Great Value, it's a lovely little bed and breakfast, and I will gladly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

The Moorlea Hotel in Leeds where my teenage daughter and I shared a twin room not ensuite in March 2011 is a lovely old fashioned warm comfortable guest house with tastefully decorated spacious rooms and breakfast room and is very reasonably priced. The full English breakfast was very nice and saw us through the day till tea time. Its also very handy for Leeds University. The staff are very friendly and chatty. Its great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Great value for money. Very close to Leeds University. Very nice staff. We got free breakfast upgrade from continental to full English. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kudlexomiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 1 week while he was working at the University. The location is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the University and about 15 minutes to the train station. The accommodations were great and Albert provided us with anything we needed (he always asked us if needed anything in our room). Since we are huge coffee drinkers he even went out of his way to get ground coffee and french presses for our stay! We will definitely stay here again. Thank you Albert.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The New Ellington
#14 of 87 in Leeds
802 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,186 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlea Hotel

Property: Moorlea Hotel
Address: 146 Woodsley Road, Leeds LS2 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a warm, friendly, informal, guest accommodation in the University Quarter. Walking distance to the city centre, LGI, sports grounds and the university itself. We are ideally located for visiting academics, parents and attendees to conferences. Mini cocktail bar open to residents. Free WiFi. Quality English and Continental breakfasts. It is our commitment to make your stay at ‘The Moorlea’ a pleasant experience and your comfort and satisfaction is important to us. Be seeing you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlea Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing