We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & caring hospitality - thank you”
Review of Moorlea Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorlea Hotel
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Bristol
1 review
“Wonderful & caring hospitality - thank you”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I would recommend The Moorlea to anyone visiting Leeds University. Albert was wonderful - he couldn't have been more helpful and easy-going. The room was warm and cosy. The beds were comfy with spotless bedlinen. I was so glad that I choose it over a budget chain hotel.

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
10
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I stayed at this hotel with two teenagers to visit Leeds university campus. We had a room with four beds which was very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. The en-suite shower room and toilet was also spotless and the free toiletries were lovely.

Breakfast was included in the very reasonable price and was very good. The hotel is only five minutes walk from the campus and about 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city.

The welcome was very friendly and the staff were very helpful. I was even given a parking permit to enable me to park outside all day long.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to someone needing a convenient and comfortable overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

I have stayed here twice now... under new and old management and I have to say I wasn't disapointed in any way. Service is friendly with a warm welcome on arrival. Breakfast is lovely and included in the price of the room. Bathrooms, bedrooms and linen was all very clean and overall just very good value for money. I found them to be very non-judgemental on appearences (we're all metallers) and there was no complaints when we let ourselves in at stupid o clock in the morning. Will definatly be staying here everytime I'm in leeds.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misscherrypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Stayed here last saturday after having to leave another BnB.
This place is lovely, recently renovated and is spotless.

Warm and welcoming, clean rooms, lovely sheets, new bathrooms. I will be definatly staying here again for my trips to leeds.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor, Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Myself and 3 of my friends stayed on Saturday night as we were having a girly night out in Leeds for the first time. We were made to feel really welcome and we really enjoyed our stay and night out. The hotel is currently under renovation but created no noise for us during our stay. The rooms themselves were finished and were bright and modern. Breakfast was nice too. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Very close to the city centre and only cost us £3 in a taxi.

  • Liked — Very Modern Rooms
  • Disliked — It wasn't finished as it was under renovation but hopefully it will be when we return.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gemma054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Very friendly hotel - well run and the best breakfast in leeds....
my stays are business trips rather than pleasure and as I regulary stay in hotels across the country I have to look for value for money - which this hotel always delivers on the 3/4 times I book in per year ... ideally situated for the city centre.

P Taylor

  • Liked — friendliness cleanliness breakfasts and location for the city
  • Disliked — wasnt anyhting i disliked - wouldnt stay if there was
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jan_taylor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We Googled "accommodation/guest houses in Leeds" and in our price range, felt that the Moorlea would suit. It stated family-owned but had 2 managers who were pleasant enough and the dining room and breakfasts were good.
However! The stairs to our 2nd floor room were very steep and narrow and being more mature in years, found these a little difficult. We booked a 3-bed room. It was very small with only just enough space to move around. The bathroom had been renovated, as per their website, but the shower recess was so tiny, that we couldn't easily get in between the two sliding doors. There was hardly enough room to dry oneself. The bathroom was not cleaned each day. Towels had seen better days.The sheets were worn thin and the beds had plastic undercovers which russelled all night. One fitted bottom sheet didn't fit and was half way down the bed by morning. The door to our room made a dreadful noise which would have been offputting to other guests.
In short - a little tired overall.

  • Liked — The English breakfast
  • Disliked — Tired and worn bedrooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pah-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The New Ellington
#12 of 87 in Leeds
802 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,185 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlea Hotel

Property: Moorlea Hotel
Address: 146 Woodsley Road, Leeds LS2 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a warm, friendly, informal, guest accommodation in the University Quarter. Walking distance to the city centre, LGI, sports grounds and the university itself. We are ideally located for visiting academics, parents and attendees to conferences. Mini cocktail bar open to residents. Free WiFi. Quality English and Continental breakfasts. It is our commitment to make your stay at ‘The Moorlea’ a pleasant experience and your comfort and satisfaction is important to us. Be seeing you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlea Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing