We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel staff very friendly rooms very clean and tidy.walking distance close to city centre, lovely full english breakfast, also did a varied of other options for breaky loads to eat. lovely hotel décor. very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfpint123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear halfpint123,
Thank for you you review.
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    466
    186
    73
    30
See reviews for
156
256
33
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was booked into this hotel as part of a team for our Christmas celebrations and monthly team meeting.
I could only suggest a few changes to the hotel. Overall it was perfect for what we needed which was: somewhere for a central location, pre-evening drink, sleep, shower, breakfast and meeting room. The hotel is spending money in tidying up. It has updated it's bar area and on the floor I stayed (fifth) having the marble floors ground down and re-polished which had already been done in the entrance (can you imagine them doing that at Travel Lodge? didn't think so) and was looking great.

Rooms: Clean, comfortable beds, windows that open really well (I personally like fresh air in the room while I sleep) TV, safe, ironing board.

Breakfast: A bit school canteen style for service, yet fresh, hot, tasty with a good choice.

Meeting room: Tidy, spacious, not overly equipped (we didn't get any note paper, not sure if this was normal or not so no big deal), drinks service was great.

Only tips for improvement - a more luxurious towel.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely yes!
Would I recommend it to you? Yes I would

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteryshopper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Mysteryshopper75,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.
We have invested significantly in the hotel over the last 6 months, with a complete refurbishment of our public areas, upgrade of the TV's in the bedrooms and now currently in the process of renovating all of the marble work throughout. we are also reviewing our towel choice and going through the various suitabilty tests!
Thanks again and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed here in the Summer with my partner and daughter and had a lovely overnight stay. The staff were fab & the room was clean, comfortable and roomy. We had food in the bar...lovely atmosphere. Catered for all our needs; we arrived quite late and still were able to order without question. Food was freshly prepared despite the time and high quality.
Ate breakfast in the restaurant the following morning - huge range on offer!! Offered continental, full English as well as fresh fruit/cereal etc. Couldn't decide so had both hot and cold!
Met manager - he was courteous and happy to spend time discussing our stay & reason for visiting Leeds.
Overall great stay - highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaKate1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Victoriakate1981,
Thank you very much for your review.
It is superb to read that we looked after you well and the team were so accommodating.
Hopefully you are visiting Leeds again soon and choose Bewleys!
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Last minute booking and I had never heard of this chain before, but, I was generally impressed with the hotel.

It is about a 10 minute walk from the train station and seems quite a new build. check in was a breeze and I was allocated a room on the 2nd floor.

The room was a good size and had everything you could need from a business hotel. it was clean and well appointed.

Dinner was included in the rate and when I arrived at the restaurant at 9.30pm it was empty and my order was soon taken.

WOW is the only thing I can say about the food...it was fabulous and apart from licking the plate clean there was nothing else I can say about it.

A very comfortable bed and had a great night sleep and felt refreshed...which is what you want from a hotel really.

Would I recommend it...hell yes! If you are ever in Leeds I would recommend you stay here, you will get a warm welcome and great food!

Room Tip: Get an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshtraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Welshtraveller36,
Thank you very much for such a glowing report!
There is not much I can add to that other than I hope you return soon to Bewleys!
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Handy, clean and close to leeds city centre. The bar areas have recently been refurbished and are very cosy with sports & news shown on the screens in the bar.

Rooms are a good size and generally clean. If you don't like smoke then make sure you don't get a non-smoking room on the smoking floor because its still off putting.

Good access to asda house, beware the overnight parking fills up very early and parking on street means u have to be up early to avoid the traffic wardens.

Breakfast is pretty standard buffet full English & selection of continental.

Staff are pretty helpful.

Room Tip: Try and pick a room away from the lifts as they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Brett R,
Many thanks for your review.
The recent refurbishment has gone down very well and The Inkwell Bar continues to draw in both residents and non-residents alike.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel has it's own secure carpark which was great!! £10 for overnight stay which we thought was good.
Check in was fine, had 2 rooms of 3, which were next door to each other. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable.
Was around a 15minute walk into town. We got a taxi on the way back. This cost £8.
Heard no noise during the early hours, but maybe that's because we had been drinking.
Check out was very easy & quick!
Perfect for what we needed! No complaints!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Bram23,
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to read that you had a good time both here at Bewleys Hotel and in the City. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We've stayed at Bewleys on a couple of occasions and have always liked the hotel, it is clean and modern and breakfast is good. However last nights stay was terrible due to being kept awake all night by drunken guests running up and down the corridor and partying in the room next door! Screaming, shouting drunkards were still arriving at 5am!! The room cost us nearly £100, next time I will choose a cheaper hotel and hope for the best!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4_Yorkshire_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Scatterella,
Many thanks for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you had a disrupted nights sleep. We do have regular property walks overnight to make sure that the floors are quiet overnight, CCTV and a security team that will respond to any reports on nosie made. Given the time of year, we have a large proportion of our guests that are in 'party-mode' and it does make it a challenge.
With regards to your other points made, it is great to read that under normal circumstances you enjoy your time with us and hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Leeds
#17 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#20 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Leeds

Property: Clayton Hotel Leeds
Address: 7 City Walk | Sweet Street, Leeds LS11 9AT, England (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Leeds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Bewleys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing