We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
lincolshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful :)”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Enjoyed a super night away here on the special package offer £39.99 pp. Joined our friends here at tea time Friday night. Busy reception lots checking in but the staff were swift and helpful. Our room was lovely. Pre dinner drinks in the bar.....result happy hour till 8pm drinks half price. The four if us enjoyed a gorgeous 3 course dinner with a bottle of wine per couple all included in the package. The hotel is very central in this vibrant city. Buffet breakfast and parking also included. Excellent value for money. Will be returning soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dulbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Dulbert,

Many thanks for taking the time to review and your positive comments.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and saw the value that we lok to offer to our guests!

We look forward to welcome you back to Bewleys very soon.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    500
    196
    78
    31
See reviews for
172
287
35
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely clean rooms, really good size single beds, staff very helpful, we checked in on a Friday night so thought check in would be horrific but actually staff were really quick a efficient....good breakfast in the morning good selection...bar open late and staff friendly...no noise heard at all in rooms from other residents...would recommend definatly!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em55555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Em55555555,

Thank you very much for posting a review!

It is great to see that the team looked after you so well and reception in particualr were so prompt.

I hope we can welocme you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Couldn't ask for more really - Really nice hotel - Friendly staff, really spacious rooms, nicely decorated, superb quality really. Drinks in the bar are a bit pricey, but aren't all hotel bars the same? Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Zack H,

Many thanks for taking the time to review and your positive comments.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Bewleys very soon.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel with a group if ladies for a friends hen weekend.
Arrived and only 1 room was ready, so everyone had to put their luggage in the one room.
We decided to go and have a meal in the bar at the hotel. We all ordered together and we were all sat at the same table.
All our food was brought out at different times,,,, the soup had to be returned as it was stone cold, the 2 bloomer sandwiches were actual cheap stale sandwiches with ingredients missing, the cold fish platter not only had items missing such as the prawn cocktail, it was the foulest looking plate of fish we had ever seen and it took over an hour to bring out to the fable!!!!
We tried approaching the bar staff time and time again, finally having to ask for a manager to come see us. We did get the fish platter refunded and 2 bottles of wine as an apology so we thought our bad start had ended!
No such luck.
When the others in our party tried to get into their rooms after an afternoon of shopping, there was more confusion about who was paying, not enough was paid, etc etc. in our own room of 3 , there err only 2 towels, 2 cups, milk and tea for 2. Ringing down to reception to ask for the correct amount resulted in an extremely rude staff member saying ' oh it's you again with more problems!'
Coming back to the hotel after a night in Leeds , our room cards were checked by the door man who then told us to 'JOG ON' who says that to paying guests???
We ran out off toilet roll on the Saturday, and had to wait an hour for new supplies! Good job we didn't have dysentery !!
In the Sunday we arrived in the foyer to pay the bill which had changed from £700 to almost £1000!!! It took over an hour to sort it out!
At the same time other groups were complaining.
The majority of the staff at this hotel were rude, arrogant, unhelpful and had no customer service skills whatsoever! One staff member actually criticised us to another staff member in front of us!
If you're gonna slag off your customers do it away from them at least.
In summary ; RUDE, disappointing , not worth the money we paid out, bad attitude from staff.... In future we will be jogging on to a better hotel with better service and good value for money!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank analatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear analatara,

Many thanks for taking the time for your review.

Firstly I must apologise for the shortcomings in service that you did receive. From investigating with my colleagues I understand that there was confusion between all parties including the online booking agent that you used, plus rooms were booked under different names to those presented. This does cause a delay, although we would expect to have dealt with that quicker than you have stated. Your feedback on the food has been noted and I am pleased to see that our Food and Beverage Manager dealt with your issues immediately.
I have also spoken to the out-sourced security company around this statement 'jog on...'. It is not something that they can recall nor language that they would even think to use. My only thought could be that the team do try and manage the influx of guests in the small hours through humour, as we appreciate it can be inconvenient at that time to check room numbers. This may have possibly been misconstrued?
Finally, on your point regarding our team lacking customer service skills, we do pride ourselves on the friendly and adaptable nature of our team and is disspappoints me to read that you feel it hasn't come across on this occasion.

I do hope that you don't choose to 'jog on' to another hotel in the future and would decide to give us another shot! If that is the case, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel so that I can deal with your reseravtion personally.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here on the Dream and Dine weekend offer - £79 for two for the room, parking a three-course evening meal each, a bottle of wine to share and breakfast the following day.
We thought the deal was too good to be true and feared the worst when we arrived to a very noisy reception area/bar, but the party-goers soon left for the evening and I am not sure when they returned but we certainly weren't disturbed.
The meal was good - from the set menu which offered a choice of four starters, four mains and four desserts. The wine choice was either a bottle of house red or white and we went for the latter to accompany our chosen fish dishes.
Breakfast was self service, full Irish and continental. It wasn't as good a standard as the evening meal but, for the price we paid, we had absolutely no complaints. Our alternative was £50 for a room only in a budget hotel nearby - and we would have had to pay for parking. This, after all, was a Friday night.
Good comfortable room and polite/friendly staff as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some great city views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wags05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Wags05,

Not much I can add to that other than thank you for you lovely feedback.

Our dream and dine offer on fridays and sundays hads proved very popular - we alsways encourage geusts to keep an eye out on our wesbite for similar deals!

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Bewleys very soon.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Got to the hotel, got told our rooms are not ready and put our bags in the meeting room, 28 women put there bags in and we went for a couple of drinks and a booked cocktail making session at 2pm, we got back to the hotel at 5pm to be told we had no rooms booked and the staff was very rude, why would they allow us to leave our bags if we are not booked in,??, we had handed the booking form over at 11.45am and they had lost it by 5pm, it took them over 40 mins to sort out the issue no apology, 2 women in our group even got given a key to a room somebody was already in!! We are not the only group this happened to, it also happened to a group of 22 the next day, BEWARE when booking this hotel, the day staff are just incompetent and are rude,

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Diane,

I would like to thank you for your review but on this occasion I will not. It would appear that, along with our 'jog..on' review that there is some contrived misrepresentation here of what we endeavour to deliver to our many guests that visit us. We don't get it right on every occasion, but we strive to do so in what can be particuarly difficult circumstances.

For the benefit of yourself and whoever may read this, I would just like to say that your party could possibly have been the rudest, most agressive group ever encountered here in 10 years since opening. Physically threating, shouting unrepeatable vitriol to our reception team all based on your rooms reservtion for a hen group that you actually booked individually online through 3rd party websites. What the team had to go through with your group is beyond words and I would never wish for them to experience it again. Within your party, no one could remember what name they booked in under and whilst the team were trying to sort it all out members of your party behaved in totally unacceptable fashion, screaming, shouting and at one point physically prodding one of the managers trying to help you out.

I arrived on duty moments after you went back out for the evening and, quite frankly, had I arrived in the midst of it all I would have taken the unheard of step of actually refusing your reservation and cancelling the bookings. As it was, I merely added additional security in anticipation of your return.

Regards,

Michael Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First time, normally stay Holiday Inn. Own car park £10. Big beds but think it was 2 singles pushed together. No air conditioning so with windows open lots of noise. Good buffet breakfast. Checking a bit slow as it was busy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofthecity57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear outofthecity57,

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,218 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,418 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Leeds

Property: Clayton Hotel Leeds
Address: 7 City Walk | Sweet Street, Leeds LS11 9AT, England (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Leeds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Bewleys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing