We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, not the greatest location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice room, not the greatest location”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for one night between university visits in two cities. The check in staff were helpful in allocating a room not directly above the noisy bar/restaurant area. The room was clean, comfortable and the decor and furnishings of a decent standard. The location wasn't great, on a busy main road, and the walk to the station and city centre was about 15 mins along a busy road and through the railway underpass. Despite the traffic noise, I had a pretty good night 's sleep and didn't hear any disturbing sounds from neighbouring rooms or the corridor.

The breakfast was a total waste of money. I didn't think you could go too far wrong with a cooked breakfast, but this one was pretty inedible and I would definitely give it a miss another time. Unfortunately, there are no local cafes as an alternative, so you are a somewhat 'captive audience' unless you want to 'venture forth' on an empty stomach or drop in at the Tesco on the way into town.

Apart from that, I would give Bewley's a thumbs up and stay there again if I needed to stay overnight in Leeds

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor or higher and not at the far end nearest the dual carriageway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottielocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Lottielocco,

Many thanks for your review. I hope your University visits were sucessful!

It is pleased to read that the team on the desk accommodated you with your room choice and that you were undisturbed by the traffic. I must apologise for your breakfast experience - I have passed your feedback on to the team and look forward to them working their magic!

Thank you again and I hope we can welcome you back to Leeds in the furture.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    499
    196
    78
    31
See reviews for
172
287
35
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The type of hotel does what you would expect. Functional, clean, decent food and all for a good price. Location is slightly out of the centre and you are faced with a nice walk through the railway underpass to get into the centre but otherwise can't complain about this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Ben R,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is great to see that we had everyting you needed during your stay and found us good value for money.

I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Leeds.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arrived in Leeds for the Test match at 10am. Room not ready but we expected that returned at 6pm room still not ready - not what we expected ! Didn't get an explanation or reason. While I expected not to get into the room at 10am I assumed it would be ready by 6pm considering on your day of departure you have to be out of your room before lunch.
Breakfast the following morning - I was told by an unfriendly unhelpful young lady " its buffet, its in there, help yourself."
At checkout experienced the same attitude from the staff on the desk - They didn't ask if I had enjoyed my stay or had had any problems - I felt like they were only interested in getting my money.
On a positive the hotel was clean, the breakfast was very nice, room was comfortable if a little too hot
Wont be going back would rather try another hotel in the city

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Allison M,
Many thanks for your review.
Please accept my apologies for the poor service experienced. It is surprising to read but nonetheless we have addressed it with the releavnt departments and should hope that this lapse is not repeated. The personality of our team is something that we pride ourselves on and is particularly dissappointing to read when we have dropped the ball.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope that we do have the opportunity to show ourselves in our true form in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Me and my wife stayed here yesterday for one night so we could venture out into Leeds to see what the night life was like.

We booked online and checked in on the same day. The staff on the front desk were helpful and we were told that the car park was £10 for an overnight stay which we thought was good as it was secure. We wanted to take our car out during the night and come back in with it later on, which wasn't a problem. We just went to the front desk and they gave us 2 tickets once we had paid the £10 so that we could leave for free.

We had a double room on the 6th floor. The hotel was clean throughout and we our room was lovely. The bathroom was clean, the bedding was clean and the bed was comfy too. We had tea and coffee in our room as well as an iron and ironing board which was handy.

Checkout wasn't until noon which we thought was beneficial for those going out.

One thing to be aware of is taxi drivers that will try rip you off. This hotel is approx 0.6 miles from the centre of town and myself and my wife walked both ways because the taxi drivers wanted to charge £10 for a trip that is a 15 min walk at it's best to the centre of town.

Will stay here again, if the price is right!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KXharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear KCDCharles,
Many thanks for your review!
There is not much I can add other than 'thank you' for your comments and that is great to see you had such a good time here at Bewleys Leeds.
I hope we can welcome you back again in the future!
Kind regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

One of the top 2 hotels we stayed at while touring Great Britain. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Dinner was provided as part of the tour and several choices were available. Service and food were very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thurmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dera thurmudge,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is great to see that you and your fellow 'tourers' enjoyed the team and the hotel. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels around Britain and have a safe trip back!

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for one night. Staff very friendly at check in and we were able to check in early. The room was very hot though and the bed quite small for two adults. There wasn't a side table on one side of the bed. It is an easy walk to and from the train station. The bar was also good and surprisingly quiet considering the Football world cup was on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dera MissCAH,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We have just invested in a new stock of stand fans for bedrooms in order to cool our warmer rooms. This seems to be doing the trick!

Thanks again for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to Leeds soon.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Bewleys just for one night, check in was smooth, fast and courteous: Drew couldn't have explained any better all the hotel facilities.
Spacious and quiet room with comfy bed. Would recommend it, though didn't experienced the restaurant and bars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lalla200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear lalla200

Many thanks for your review and lovely feedback about Drew. Drew is certainly very pleased, as are we that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoeming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,217 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,418 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Leeds

Property: Clayton Hotel Leeds
Address: 7 City Walk | Sweet Street, Leeds LS11 9AT, England (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Leeds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Bewleys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing