We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working in Leeds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Working in Leeds a few days a week I need somewhere to crash.

It was ok, but the in room wifi was very sloooow and the breakfast service more than a bit disorganised.

On the upside, a decent distance from town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear John,
Many thanks for your review.
We have taken on board your comments about breakfast - the team are normally well-drilled so we look forward to not seeing a repeat of the chaos you allude to! On a positive, we have started again with our WiFi and installed new hardware trhoughout. We look forward to this work being completed by the end of July.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Checked in for a night away visiting a relative, 2 adults and 3 children under 11years old. Could not believe the number of stags and hens booking in... literally coachloads! Bit apprehensive to see this, though I had read a previous review about lots of stags and hens, but we felt very self conscious as we appeared to be the only family there.

Were given our rooms, the first one was ok, the second room absolutely STANK of cigarettes and the sofa was covered in cigarette burns, as this was a non smoking room we went down to reception and they immediately moved us, no problems, that was good.

However the other room which seemed ok we later realised was on floor 2, literally overlooking the front of the hotel, where the stags and hens gathered to smoke and wait for taxis into leeds for a massive night out. Constant shouting, banging of car doors from 11am when they appeared to go out and then arrive back at 3am? 4am? Basically from the early hours pissed people going out and arriving back right under my window.

Why did the hotel not put all the hens and stags at the front of the hotel where it's noisy and families (i.e us!) at the back where it's quiet??

Also, smoking appears to be an 'option' in the non smoking rooms as there is a sign which states "if you choose to smoke in this room you will be charged £100" implying that you CAN smoke if you want to - so they do!

Also smoking in the stairs going downstairs and someone left a can of lager for us to trip over on way down the stairs in the morning.

As far as I can see this hotel has some deal going with hen and stag parties at weekends so if you want a quiet night away with family, I'd go elsewhere.

PS do the smoke alarms not work anywhere in the hotel?? What happens if there is a fire?

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank imogen212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Imogen212,
Thank you very much for your detailed review.
First I must apologise that you had a disrupted night's sleep. As the largest hotel in Leeds we do attract a broad mix of guests and, as Leeds is a destination for groups partying during the summer, we do tend to get our fair share!
Just to address some of your feedback. We do not allow smoking anywhere in the building. It is not optional and as you mention a £100 cost is incurred should they do so. Our smoke alarms are fully functioning. Those smoking-schemesters tend to put a sock over or dice with death by hanging out of the window to get a nicotine fix.
With regards to placing guests on the relevant floor, it is something that we do focus on and generally our guests are very pleased with how we allocated rooms. If we had have placed you on the other side of the building then the disurbance would possibly have been of the doors opening and closing on the floor that you were located on.
Many thanks again for your feedback and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location when driving in to Leeds. On the edge of town but within a 10 min walk it the city centre and even less to the lovely Granary Wharf and the pubs/restaurants near there.
Lovely new bar, with a pub feel, nice rooms and lovely staff.
Would recommend for a girlie shopping break or couples night out. Good value for money and parking on site makes it an easy option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WendyMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Wendy,
Many thanks for a very nice review!
It is fantatsic to see that you enjoeyed your stay with us so much. I will pass your comments on to the team - they will be very pleased, I'm sure!
I hope we can wleocme you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here this week and will not be staying again. They advertise free wifi throughout all areas of the hotel. This was laughable as it did not work throughout my stay, regardless of where I tried. I did complain twice to reception staff who could not have been less interested. One male member of staff kept insisting it was working perfectly! I spoke to 8 people in the bar who could not get wifi, 3 in the reception area and 3 others in the lift. No connectivity at all. A nightmare for business travellers like myself as I had been travelling most of the day and had a lot of work to get on with.
My room whilst well furnished and spacious, smelled of tobacco smoke and there was ash on the windowsill confirming this.
Do not expect any toiletries - just a soap dispenser.
The only saving grace was the bar staff were friendly and helpful and the evening food was ok.
Breakfast was not so good, the bacon was stone cold and you had to run from one place to another to get various things.

Room Tip: Book in somewhere else if you need wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Alison,
Thank you very much for your review.
First I must apologise for the bacon you mention as wella s the poor wifi. We have had come challenges recently, which cumulated in loss of wifi in the public areas, except for in The Brasserie. The signal kept dipping in and out with no explanation. As a result, over the past 2 weeks we have reinstalled wifi throughout and added additional hardware to ensure that we have the best possible signal.
On a plus, is is great to read that the team in The Inkwell were on top form and looked after you.
i hope we can welcome you back to Leeds again in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed the weekend of the Tour De France in Bewleys Leeds. From the moment I booked to the departure of our stay the staff have went above and beyond in trying to make our stay as comfortable and as easy as possible.
Upon arrival we were told our room was on the 4th floor. My wife has a phobia of lifts and mentioned "at least I won't have to walk too far up", and without any further prompting Hannah on reception quickly offered us a room in the 1st Floor. That shows a level of care for customer satisfaction rarely seen in this day and age. She also handled our check in wonderfully after having just dealt with some rather difficult customers.
Parking was easy (if a little confusing trying to find it) and the room was spotless and clean. Air conditioning would have been nice though.
Breakfast was the usual buffet fare though the sausages could do with cooking longer, and more varied selection of fruit would have been nice. The staff were quick to oblige when we asked for a hot chocolate for our son.
I would not hesitate to stay here again, and would heartily recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: If staying on the 1st and 2nd floor, ask for a room away from the bar/restaurant area. We stayed jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabCat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear fabcat69,
Thank you very much for a super review. I am sure the team (particularly Hannah!) will be pleased with the comments. The Tour de France weekend was extrememly busy indeed for everyone and it is great to see that our levels of hospitality were upheld!
I hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Young guy checked us in cant remember his name and he couldn't have been more friendly.. Room was comfy, reasonable price, only problem is we were not in city centre and taxis charged over £10 :( When ever we need to stay in Leeds we will certainly stay at this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lizzyanne000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Lizzyanne000,
Many thanks for your review and lovely comments about the team.
I hope that you enjoyed your time staying in Leeds and look forward to welcoming you back to Bewleys very soon.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a hen party. The location is fantastic if you don't like driving through the city centre and it has an added bonus of an underground car park. The hotel is just off the motorway. It is a 10 min walk into town but that didn't bother us. When we arrived there were quite a few stag and hen parties gathered in reception so at that point I was rather dubious about whether this was a party hotel with lots of noise and the occasional bit of trouble. Check in was great and our rooms were ready at 12.30 rather than at the check in time of 2pm. Rooms were nice and big, comfortable beds, big bathroom. We did not experience any noise at night. Breakfast was great to - good selection! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandBarry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear jenandbarry07,
Thank you very much for your review.
It is great to read that you had a pleasant stay here at bewleys.
I hope we can welcome you abck again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,139 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,205 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#36 of 87 in Leeds
2,331 reviews
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Leeds

Address: 7 City Walk | Sweet Street, Leeds LS11 9AT, England (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Leeds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £51 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Leeds is a 4 star hotel conveniently located just minutes from the city centre and is easily accessible from Junction 3 of the M621. It is just a 10-minute walk from Leeds Railway Station and a 20 minutes’ drive from Leeds Bradford International Airport. Clayton Hotel Leeds offers spacious, stylish accommodation designed with comfort and convenience in mind and equipped with everything needed for a comfortable and restful stay. The hotel has a secure, underground car park available for guests, complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and a well-equipped fitness suite with complimentary use to guests. With its great location, just minutes from Leeds city centre, Clayton Hotel Leeds acts as a great base while visiting the area’s popular tourist attractions, shopping centres, restaurants and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Bewleys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing