We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ”
Review of Rare - CLOSED

Rare
Price range: US$16 - US$41
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Championing premium local produce and offering a refined yet relaxed menu, Rare is a one-of-a-kind hideaway in Leeds. Enjoy succulent, whole roasted chickens served on a spike, freshly muddled cocktails, and meats brined, braised and slow-cooked in house for melt-in-the-mouth flavours. Chunky wood tables, free Wi-Fi and a range of eclectic specialist newspapers and magazines aid the laidback ambience at Rare restaurant, while local DJ legend Lucy Locket curates bespoke Rare playlists.
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Visited last month with my husband. The mead beer went down really well. We both had steak and it was cooked perfect. The portion sizes were small considering price but overall nice work. The cow in the middle is also a great focal point.

Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew075, Owner at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for visiting Rare and taking the time to review, it makes a big difference to our business.

We are really pleased you enjoyed the food and that it was cooked so well.

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Rare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 421 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The bar is was already a very nice area but the addition of the outdoor space makes it even better. The food was great as was the service. The Pork Belly with Crackling was awesome, well cooked and presented. The choice of beers and lagers on sale was also different and very niche. If your coming to Leeds then you need to try to book a table

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank disneyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew075, Owner at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review Rare.

We're not just a steakhouse as you've proved by sampling our pork belly and spending time in our bar and outside area.

Great to hear the service was up to standard too.

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Ate at Rare last night. Good choice of beers on (from Ilkley brewery), food was excellent and staff v friendly - cant ask for anymore! We even sat at the table with the massive stuffed cow overlooking us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris12111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew075, Owner at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Can I first congratulate you in getting the words Moo into a review, excellent work.
Secondly we are really glad you enjoyed your time at Rare, just how it should be.

Thanks,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently went to Rare as a spur of the moment meal for a friends birthday. Cannot say enough about the food and service at this restaurant. As someone who has worked in the service industry for >5 years I generally have high expectations for a meal of this calibre. Needless to say Rare met and surpassed my expectations. I shared a large porterhouse with my friend along with a few sides. The presentation and quality of the food is some of the best I've had. The steak was an excellent cut and perfectly cooked. The service is informative, friendly, yet understated making the whole experience one to remember.

Highly recommend Rare to anyone looking for some good grub!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew075, Owner at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

This is a really kind review and is what our jobs are all about. Giving our customers a fantastic, informal restaurant experience.

May I add that the Porterhouse is a choice well made.

Thanks for taking the time to review us,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Told to go here by friends and wasn't disappointed food was fantastic and service was great couldn't fault the place and having a bar upstairs was a bonus. Will defiantly be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simon73m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew075, Owner at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Short, kind and to the point.
Much appreciated.

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rare also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing