We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff were really helpful. Would definately stay here again. The disabled rooms were really good as having an elderly relative they were able to use the bathroom with ease.

Room Tip: The two rooms i saw were both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrLeedsEast, Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms, our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Vida & all the team at Leeds East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here and had two good nights sleep. Friendly, helpful staff greeted us, the room was spotless, comfortable (huge double bed) and quiet. Despite the fact that there were two stag parties staying there was very little noise at night.
It is a bus or taxi ride to the town centre (about £5 per taxi) as this is situated in a business park slightly out of town.
The cracking breakfast is worth paying for; self service and plenty of choice.

Room Tip: We stayed up on the third floor; may just give you a little more peace at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrLeedsEast, Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Leeds East Premier Inn. Our team will be very happy to hear your kind words about the service you received. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Vida Forsyth & all the team at Leeds East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Once again, the Premier Inn experience was great. The hotel and staff were superb as usual, very friendly team, welcoming and helpful.
Great position, just off the motorway and in easy reach of York, where we spent most of our stay. Not far from centre of Leeds either, however we didn't venture in.

What really lets this hotel down, and the reason we wouldn't consider using it again, is the pub next door which Premier Inn uses as it's catering facility.
Our first impression (around 6pm) was slightly tarnished by the gathering of smokers outside the front door which we had to walk through. When inside, it was clearly a local's drinkers pub, as the atmosphere was rowdy (with some choice language) and not very welcoming. Having my wife and 2 small children with me, I found this uneasy. (I almost expected the jukebox to come to an abrupt stop as the saloon doors swung open)
We found a table in a quiet (ish) corner. We noted that there were no other children in, so clearly not a family pub locally.
The menu was good, and there is a Thai restaurant upstairs. We had to ask for a children's menu, as there were non on display anywhere which reinforced the opinion it is not selling itself as a family pub.
The food off the main menu was OK and well presented, and priced reasonably so no complaints about the food itself, just the environment it's served in.
Unfortunately the breakfast (usually a highlight of our stays!!) :) was disappointing, being served again in the pub. No buffet, so had to wait to be served, which was slow, the juice, tea/coffee, cereals etc were spread along the bar, in between the beer taps. This is just not appropriate. There were plenty of spaces in the pub where if some effort was made, some tables could be pulled together to provide a proper servery. We have been to enough Premier Inns where this has been done so it is not beyond the realms of possibility. Finally, serving breakfast 7-9am is not convenient. Clearly this was to fit in with the pub schedules of clearing up before opening times, however the hotel customers are being disadvantaged.

Overall then, the Premier Inn Leeds East come recommended if you only stay in the hotel. Unfortunately it is severely let down by its association with the drinkers pub next door. May suit business or couples, but families might find it unwelcoming.

Room Tip: First floor probably best to avoid heavy footsteps above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Holding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrLeedsEast, General Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hello Nick, thank you for your kind comments and compliments about Leeds East. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience at The Brown Cow & Dragon. If you were to stay again our reception staff would be more than happy to provide you with details of local places to eat which are child friendly and you may find more appropriate. Your feedback has been noted and will also be passed out. Kind regards, Vida & all the team at Leeds East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

It was my 60th birthday and there were 7mature ladies staying with me to celebrate. The security man on our return from a night out was rude and scared my friend who he man handled to her room. There is another review by one of our party going into more depth about what happened. The manager of leeds east rang me to apologise and apart from this incident everything else had been fine. The young receptionist who we complained to on sunday morning was very professional. I really think the hotel should offer another nights stay for all of us as none of us got any sleep and it would show us that they care about our bad experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrLeedsEast, General Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Janet, it was myself who called you to apologise for the incident, I apologise again, as I understood at the time you did not want a complimentary stay, so apologies if I did not handle the issue to your requirements. Our night team and security are on hand to protect all our guests from the noise made by large groups, which I'm sure you can appreciate as we offer the Good Night Guarantee. I have now investigated the matter fully, and although we do not offer complimentary stays, I am very keen to speak to you again to resolve the matter for you. Please call me at you earliest convenience on (0113) 2645676. Many Thanks, Vida Forsyth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed at Leeds East before and it has always been a pleasant experience. There is a good pub/restaurant next door, serving English or Thai food which is good value for money.
This Premier Inn is well positioned for the motorway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrLeedsEast, General Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hello, Paul. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Leeds East Premier Inn! I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards Vida Forsyth & all the team at Leeds East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were 7 mature ladies booked to celebrate a 60th birthday...we booked & paid for 4 double rooms as there should have been 8 but one had to cancel at last minute....lovely rooms always at premier inn & reception staff were lovely & very helpful, location was good, next door to good pub with lovely food (thai food was fab!) & taxis ordered by reception were reasonably priced & helpful.. sadly thats were the good things end....would never stay there again due to the intimidating night security men...we were an all female group, back in the hotel by 12.30 after a lovely night, not loud or drunk but put pj's on to meet in one room for a nightcap...never got chance as we had been followed up & were ordered into our own rooms....went to bed to watch tv & then had security knocking again asking us to turn tv down, I went outside room to check noise level & our tv
couldn't be heard outside our room..he was seen to have his ear to the doors of the rooms... w
as just checking we were all in our own rooms...one lady in our party who was in a room alone had stayed in reception talking to two couples, she came up to her room alone & was followed by a
male security guard who, when she came to collect her jacket from my room was 'ordered' twice into her own room in a very intimidating manner..& told she had 10 mins to get into her room or he would call the police....would he have done that to a male guest..? I don't think so....when our complaint about this was raised the next morning at reception another guest heard & spoke up to say she had witnessed what had happened & said it was very intimidating...a lovely celebration weekend was spoilt....at ages ranging from 45 to 60 we were treat like kids on a school trip with teachers checking up on us every 30 mins...couldn't sleep all night even though beds were soo comfy as was waiting for next knock on door from security checking we were in our own rooms....never again would I stay there.. nothing like any other premier inn I have stayed in..they seriously need it sorting....breakfast was lovely when it was eventually served...needs tweaking as bacon was cold before everything else eventually became available but staff were lovely so can overlook that...their main problem is the night security staff..thankfully they aren't apparently employed by premier inn so they definitely need to re think that aspect as it will lose them so much business...its too far out of city centre for young party people & better suited for families or more mature guests..when they get rid of the intimidating night security staff they employ now....

Room Tip: The rooms were excellent as always at Premier Inn as were the lovely, helpful reception staff but sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn71155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrLeedsEast, Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are very sorry to hear about the incident on the night of your stay.
Thank you for taking my call and I hope we have managed to resolve your issue and cocerns. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a friend and our two 15 years old daughters so they could go to a concert! Arrived slightly early than the two o'clock check in and found the lovely receptionist to be very helpful and no problem checking in abit early. We ate at the pub opposit which was fine as pub grub goes. Reception ordered us a cab to town which was £8 to the centre which we felt was good value. On our return we jumped into a Leeds City cab after a few minutes into a return the driver informed us it was £20 to the hotel, we questioned this and were told it's a £8.50 standing charge avoid CITY CABS total rip off. Once at the hotel we were met by 4 people drinking in reception who were told the manager had told them they were not allowed to continue there night in one room! Finding this slightly strange we went to our room!. We had only been in a 10 mins or so when the security card knocked on our door demanding to know how many were in our room, we told him and he left only to return with the manager again wanting to know how many people! We allowed them in and they even checked the bathroom for extra guests!!!! Not the best nights sleep as could hear the people above walking about from 4am. BREAKFAST: served in pub was cold, only a couple of serving spoons available so everybody was waiting to be able to serve themselves. We ate at 8am so was plenty but am sure if you left it later it would have been even worse!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrLeedsEast, Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

·We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. At Leeds East Premier Inn we endeavour to deliver a high level of service in all our hotels, and we apologise that you did not receive this during your stay. Your feedback has been noted and will be duly investigated by myself. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss further on 0113 2645676

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Leeds Colton
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds City West Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Britannia Leeds Hotel
#72 of 87 in Leeds
911 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#32 of 87 in Leeds
1,277 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel

Address: Selby Road | Whitkirk, Leeds LS15 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from the magnificent Tudor-Jacobean mansion and grounds at Temple Newsam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing