We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time!”
Review of Epernay Leeds

Epernay Leeds
Ranked #31 of 169 Nightlife in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We stock multiple vintages, sourcing our champagne from more than 21 houses, ranging from larger established names, to small independent growers. The stylish, spacious interior is perfect for drinking through to the early hours, or simply relaxing on the beautiful terrace.
Reviewed 16 April 2017

8 of us visited to celebrate a friends 50th birthday. He had booked a table and chose some champagnes in advance. The gentlemen who looked after of us was superb, so helpful and knowledgeable and made sure we all had a wonderful afternoon enjoying champagne and nibbles. Perfect chilld afternoon with friends. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Thank CupcakeCandyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna C, Public Relations Manager at Epernay Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Hi CupcakeCandyQueen,

Thanks so much for your great review of our bar. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and we thoroughly enjoyed hosting your party.

We are so glad you had a fantastic time and we look forward to welcoming you again for any future celebrations. We'll keep the Taittinger on ice for you!

If you require any future reservations or would like to plan another birthday party with us, please feel free to contact me directly and i'll organise everything for you.

Best wishes,

Jenna
Business Development Manager
events.epernay@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"champagne bar"
in 10 reviews
"electric press"
in 9 reviews
"great service and great drinks"
in 2 reviews
"nice bar"
in 4 reviews
"pornstar martini"
in 2 reviews
"bank holiday"
in 2 reviews
"hen do"
in 2 reviews
"bar area"
in 2 reviews
"champagnes"
in 9 reviews
"cocktails"
in 22 reviews
"bollinger"
in 3 reviews
"fizz"
in 3 reviews
"fab"
in 3 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Been to Epernay reguraly when was old manager. Was always welcome and aliasy was amazing.
Went for glass this weekend. Absolutely disappointing! Staff was lovely but Manager( or looks like him) was a simply T..t
Horrible person, ignorant and miserable!
Steering you what ever u do!! His knowledge was less then non. Feels mega uncomfortable and will definitely never return!!!!!!!

I have vice 1 star but if I could I will give none!

HORRIBLE

1  Thank Mario_Zak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna C, Public Relations Manager at Epernay Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Mario,

Whilst we appreciate constructive criticism on Trip Advisor from all people who leave comments, we do not appreciate scathing written attacks on any of my management team.

The reason he was dismissive of you being in the venue was due to a prior visit where you insulted the venue on its new appearance, made 3 of our regular guests feel uncomfortable and insulted the manager on duty on his appearance because he was wearing a suit.

This kind of behaviour is not acceptable in our venue, we always say that Epernay is our home and we treat people like guests in our home, if they cannot behave as guests then they are not welcome.

If you would like to discuss this face to face with myself feel free to contact me on gmepernay@gmail.com

Regards
Jonathan Grasty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Whenever me and my friend come to Leeds we always visit Epernay. It has a relaxed atmosphere with lovely seating inside the electric press. Best pornstar martini ever and now they serve food. Staff are friendly too - unlike other places we've been to

Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna C, Public Relations Manager at Epernay Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Hi Lisa,

Thanks so much for your review.

It was lovely meeting yourself & your friend on Saturday and we were pleased to see you enjoyed our fantastic cheeseboard, the Comte especially!

We look forward to welcoming you back for Pornstar Martinis again soon.

If you have a special occasion coming up, or would just like to book a table, do feel free to contact me directly on events.epernay@gmail.com.

Best wishes,

Jenna
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I went here with my elderly mother and received terrible service. I have been coming here with her for over 10 years and was absolutely shocked at how rude the staff were. Just this one experience has completely turned me off of going again. This use to be a friendly place.... not to mention that it smells like a dirty bar. Such a shame but with so much competition now in Leeds it needs to sort itself out and look at the staff!

2  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna C, Public Relations Manager at Epernay Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear Martin2Victoria,

Many thanks for your review that you have left on trip advisor.

After discussing this matter with my management team to investigate when this occurred I have discovered that the service was failed to be supplied to you as you were disallowed entry into the venue, our doorman had instigated our Challenge 25 policy on yourself & you had no physical ID on you - by law once you have been asked for ID the only person that can over rule the decision is the on duty licensee, who agreed with the doorman on challenging yourself, I do accept that you had a digital copy of your passport on your phone however that can not be accepted as identification.

If you would like to discuss this matter further I believe your mother was passed my details by the manager at the time for her to discuss this with myself, if you do not have details please feel free to contact me on gmepernay@gmail.com

Regards
Jonathan Grasty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I rang Epernay because I was trying to find a cocktail bar which was able to serve cocktails for my friend who recently became a vegan. I spoke to Jonathan who was outstanding. He admitted that they do not currently have one but said he would research this and also speak to his staff, one of whom was a vegan. After a further telephone conversation between Jonathan and my friend he asked her which was her favourite cocktail and said he would make it for her. On the night of our visit my friend took her own vegan cream and cocoanut milk (however Johnathan did offer to get this for her) and Johnathan not only made her favourite cocktail he also wrote down the recipe and took the time to explain which alcohol she could and could not drink. He was professional, exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All the other members of staff we came into contact with also were friendly and professional. All in all our visit to Epernay was very pleasurable.

Thank Wendy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna C, Public Relations Manager at Epernay Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Hi Wendy,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us at Epernay. We are so glad that our staff and Jonathan especially were able to accommodate your friends needs, our top priority is customer service and going above and beyond for our guests, so I'm so pleased to hear we delivered!

It was fantastic to meet you and we really enjoyed making your experience that bit more special, you're more than welcome to join us for a vegan cocktail (or three!) again soon!

If you would like to book in again, do feel free to contact me directly.

Best wishes.

Jenna
Business Development Manager
0113 242 9977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epernay Leeds also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Epernay Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing