We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice way to spend a sunny afternoon”
Review of Canal Gardens

Canal Gardens
Ranked #72 of 157 things to do in Leeds
Attraction details
LEEDS U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice way to spend a sunny afternoon”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We regularly visited untill they started to charge an entrance fee it hasn't stopped us going but we just don't go as often.However we do just visit the gardens and enjoy a drink or ice cream from the cafe the gardens are always well tended and the place is always clean our granddaughter likes to watch the voles playing in the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank granniejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where have most of the roses gone?”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

In spite of pouring rain, one missing dog, and fewer blooming roses than expected, the meal we enjoyed in the small café, plus the friends we made while sheltering from the weather almost made up for the lack of blooms. Not forgetting the antics of one lemur, staring through the glass of it's cage at our now found Staffy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A credit to the gardeners.”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

A walk round the canal gardens in the height of summer is a joy. With al the flowers in bloom, the heady scents and the fountains adding to the scene, it is just a joy to behold.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alpatjanange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I am sure this use to be better. Now you have to pay and I am not sure what there is more that you are paying for

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dorothy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“tropical day out”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

a brilliant place to bring the children and also great for adults as well the atmosphere is spectacular from the aquarium to the insect and snakes lovely meerkat enclosure and a lovely desert area to walk round nice coffe house

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleyclark_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canal Gardens also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Canal Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing