We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Correction to recent Mike Patx Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howley Hall Golf Club

Howley Hall Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 29 Outdoor Activities in Leeds
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Correction to recent Mike Patx Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I play at Howley Hall Golf Club most weeks and was very disappointed to read Mike Patz recent review. On closer reading it became clear that he was writing a review based on his experience at a different course. As most people who have played Howley Hall will know it does not have any overhanging power lines, nor has it a number of blind holes. Mike Patz has been requested to retract or correct his review but has not done so as of yet. I trust that regular users of tripadvisor will assess Howley Hall based on all the excellent reviews posted by other visitors. Everyone is welcome to come along and enjoy the excellent course and club facilities Howley Hall has to offer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank colinrobertsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Basic course - decent municipal standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Went on a voucher to try it out. It was rather disappointing, as it is no more than a basic municipal course standard. Poor signage to get around; a number of holes had blind shots that made it difficult to follow unless you'd played it before. Setting is odd, with many holes affected by the electric lines overhead, which were quite noisy on some holes. Many greens were poor standard.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We held our wedding reception here in late August and every single guest who we spoke to commented on how impressed they were with the venue and what a great job had been done with the food, bar and every other detail on the day. Everyone was made to feel very welcome, as we were throughout the planning process, and we genuinely could not have asked for anything more to have been done.

It is undoubtedly a challenge to prepare a full meal for the number of guests we had in attendance, but this was achieved with outstanding results. Delicious, well presented food was served without any delays or problems.

A comment which has been made to us a couple of separate times by guests was that the day ran "like clockwork" and that sums things up in a nutshell. There were no complaints or negative comments whatsoever, despite some of the guests being notoriously picky!

If we could plan our wedding again we wouldn't change a thing and we will always be grateful for the time and effort which was put in by all the staff to make the day so enjoyable for our family, friends and ourselves. For most people their wedding day is one of the most important days of their life and from our experience spending it Howley Hall Golf Club is a decision we are very glad to have made.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our Wedding at Howley Hall- 17th August”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had our Wedding reception at Howley Hall- it was AMAZING!!
There are not enough words to describe how wonderful our day was! Jenny and Tess went above and beyond what was expected, nothing is too much trouble and everyone is made to feel welcome.
This was an excellent find as a Wedding reception venue and the price is very reasonable, the food is as impressive as the wonderful surroundings and we were truly made to feel special!

We would highly recommend Howley Hall and we will be back for our Sunday lunch!!

Thank you Howley Hall
Sarah & Darren

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarahDarren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD AND BRILLIANT STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I am a member of the golf club; however I have attended a wedding reception as a guest of my best friend, which was truly a marvellous occasion; made so much so by the helpfulness of all the staff.
The Golf Club is an ideal venue for any wedding reception or private function as it is not only situated in superb surroundings, but the bar lounge, and dining area are very beautifully furnished and decorated. It is truly a jewel in the crown of the south Leeds area. There are ample hotel nearby i.e. travel lodge, premier inn and village hotel.
The club is situated a bit off the beaten track and provides secure parking.
The Bar Manager, Jenny, and catering Manager, Tess are truly very helpful people and will go the extra mile to make your occasion a very special event; as do their staff; especially Wendy and Sharon, who are ever so helpful, kind and considerate.
I have personally organised several charity balls and events which have all gone down very well with extremely pleasant feedback from guests.
The food is brilliant and always served very fresh, using the finest produce.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff of Howley Hall; so if it's a good venue you are looking for, pop in and have a look and a chat with the staff.
I have already booked the venue for my birthday next year!!
I had Sunday lunch today, a carvery; which was absolutely brilliant, as ever!
Well done Howley Hall, keep up the brilliant work

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ubl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howley Hall Golf Club also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Howley Hall Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing