We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but awful customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value but awful customer service”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

When me and my friends arrived for three nights I was told to pay a 50 pounds security deposit!( which we had three rooms) they did not tell me this when I booked the room either. I asked if the money would be taken out of my account, they said no but they hold the money for about four days! Which I was not happy about. Each member of staff told me different answers to when the.money was going back into my acccount! J had to phone my bank up which cost me! The staff were not helpful and one even rolled his eyes at me! The rooms were nice but too noisy was woken up by lorries and by their cleaners asking us if we wanted our rooms cleaned at 8am!
The breakfast was horrriabe and cold.
Would not recommend hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    301
    222
    81
    50
See reviews for
115
205
50
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in a family room with our grandsons on a trip to the Armouries, it was ideal for us. The room was very clean , the breakfast was good ,the staff friendly , the area outside was great for the boys to run around while we sat and relaxed with a drink what more could you want for £46 . we are looking to go back but this time on our own.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm / Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights and can't really complain. 10 Min walk to city centre. Decent sized room and breakfast not as bad as I had feared. Plenty of choice, nice sausages, beans, scrambled egg (sort of)! yogurts, fruit, cereals, breads, juices and coffee etc. 3 days running the scrambled egg was unedible, very dry like powder. Stayed tues, wed, thurs, and breakfast area very quiet. Staff friendly and helpful, but felt like a naughty boy re £50 deposit. (see below).

Was not advised they need a £50 deposit until I checked in, and basically didn't have it. Was asked if I could pay cash instead, eventually told it was ok but was a bit embarrassed in front of other people to be honest. I only had £40 on each of my debit cards. It should be made clearer. I saved up for this little break as a treat as I am in quite bad health and am poor, so couldn't magic £50 out of nowhere. I think this alone would stop me staying at a Holiday Inn Express again, but for most people probably wouldn't be a problem. It sort of did spoil my trip though, kept sneaking past reception after that and wanted the floor to swallow me up. Never been asked for a deposit before at any hotel.

That aside, the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our stay at the Armouries Hotel in Leeds, was not a pleasant one. The 'full' english breakfast consisted of sausage, beans and egg, which was of poor quality. The customer service received at the hotel was not satisfactory, we were not greeted on arrival or thanked as we checked out. Upon arrival we were asked to give our credit card details and submit a fee/deposit of £50 in case their was 'substantial damage' made to the hotel room. We were very careful to not damage any of the items in our room and slept on our own towels to avoid fake tan getting onto the bed sheets.

However regarding this a small amount of fake tan happened to come in contact with the bed covers, as a result I received a phone call after our stay saying that the £50 deposit has been taken out of my bank account! We were accused of ''mud and blood being on the sheets and the towels being wet" 'As a matter of fact, the mud and blood is fake tan, which is washable and used daily by many women, it may look like blood, but this is the usual appearance of St. Moritz foam. I was told that they need to be sent of for special service to be cleaned but that does not cover a 50 pound cost. As for the towels being wet, those were used to protect the floor of the overflowing shower which when on at high speed, does enter the bathroom floor. Personally I think this is a disgrace seen as though it does not cost £50 to clean a sheet. As a result of this I would not recommend ANYONE to stay here and would advice those that do to be extra careful in not getting ANY stains on the towels or bed covers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poorhotel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Managed to book a room on Vist Leeds summer offer of £20.11! Fantastic value. Good basic, clean with friendly staff. Good location for Leeds centre, away from the hustle, 10 minute walk along the canal to the corn exchange, quiet, safe area. Room ready on arrival at 10.30 and were allowed to check in. Nice bar area with reasonably priced drinks. Parking at multi storey next door, drive in collect a ticket, park and go to hotel, on check out they give you a discount voucher and you pay the ticket man in the customer service office in the car park before you leave, £8.00 for 24hrs. Breakfast was self service cold buffet with hot sausages, eggs and beans a nice added extra although a little busy with people confused as to what to do. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Uncomfortable beds, noisy corridors, awful food. Hotels don't get much worse than this.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihg care at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you very much for your precious feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.
We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience. IHGCare^bj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

What a great hotel, small enough to give a full and friendly service, but large enough to to have services that you want and will use. For example a small bar but a big area to relax in, watch TV, or just chat to friends. A very good complimentary breakfast service that doesn't finish until 10.30. Just a 10 minute walk from the city and opposite a great museum.
And from what I coud see they have good meeting facilities!
I look forward to returning.
Steve

Room Tip: Nice fresh towels, a choice of pillows, comp tea and coffee in the room and of course TV and film pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
506 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#17 of 87 in Leeds
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing