We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A welcoming and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights and found the room clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was well organised and enjoyable. The television is old and channels limited but that is not too worrying! Sadly, this hotel failed the toast test! Once through - warm bread - twice through - black! We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    298
    217
    80
    50
See reviews for
113
202
50
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North of Watford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed one night, and found the room very comfy, lovely bathroom. Little disappointed in the TV, very limited channel choice, whats wrong with simple Freeview? Room a little scuffed and worn, and one of the window latches was broken. Breakfast was simple buffet style, so could fill up as much as you wanted, which was good. Staff were very helpful. Location, for me, was great, right opposite the Royal Armouries Museum, in a quieter area of the city, which felt pretty safe, despite the city shutting early in case of riots.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows, so much lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn_Equinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here on saturday for one night. We booked 2 rooms and found both to be clean and spacious. They weren't next door to each other but we didnt request this anyway and we didnt mind although we were only a few doors away and they did apologise.
One of the sofa beds weren't made up on arrival but they did sort this out and brought up some bedding later whilst we were out for the night.
We were there as part of a hen party and there did seem to be quite a few other hen parties and groups, which suited us but may not suit others looking for a quiet time!
Breakfast was good, with a decent choice and seemed to be replenished often.
The only down fall was the customer service, and in fairness to the staff it was busy and there was only one person on reception when there really should have been two. We had to wait about ten mins to check in and the staff member was obviously stressed so meant that they weren't quite as courteous or friendly as we would like but it was obvious that she was busy and rushed off her feet so its understandable. overall we would return if we were in a large group but it perhaps wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Holiday Inn

I stayed here a few years ago but was a little disappointed this time. The walls have become scuffed and in the shower a gap had opened between the walls and ceiling. Despite the hotel's policy of not changing towells every day unless required, I had a housekeeper knocking on my door one morning before I had dressed, to give me a bundle of clean towells!

The nearby Starbucks that I visited when last here has closed, defeating my pan for a convenient alternative to the the complimentary fried breakfast. A number of shops in the Clarence Docks area where the hotel is located have also closed, I guess the result of the economic downturn. Fortunaetly the Tesco convenience stored is still there.

This is still a pleasant and quiet location. It helps to know the route to and from the city centre partly along the river side walk, which you will not get from Google maps.

Holiday Inn Express still charge for WiFi. Maybe Caffee Nero will take the old Starbucks giving guests free WifFi nearby!

Despite these provisos, I'd still consider staying here again if I'm in the fine city of Leeds.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Donal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed our location. I do apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed overnight before seeing a gig in the city centre. Very odd place. Blairite era glass buildings, crammed full of apartments you can see being marketed at 'young professionals'. Much promised but its eerily quiet with not a soul to be seen day or night which gives the hotel and surrounding area a strange feel. Our sleep was broken at 4 am when an argument broke out for an hour or so outside the hotel, don't know if it was anything to do with hotel, but it didn't seem as if security from the hotel tried to stop it.

Hotel itself is fine, like any other Holiday Inn. Breakfast was poor quality and had run out by the time we got down and the crockery was filthy. Fine for one night, nothing special but all in all good for the money. £46, adjacent car park, big clean, comfy rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kprkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, other at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

I am glad to hear you did enjoy a big comfortable room. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the other aspects of your stay.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

When me and my friends arrived for three nights I was told to pay a 50 pounds security deposit!( which we had three rooms) they did not tell me this when I booked the room either. I asked if the money would be taken out of my account, they said no but they hold the money for about four days! Which I was not happy about. Each member of staff told me different answers to when the.money was going back into my acccount! J had to phone my bank up which cost me! The staff were not helpful and one even rolled his eyes at me! The rooms were nice but too noisy was woken up by lorries and by their cleaners asking us if we wanted our rooms cleaned at 8am!
The breakfast was horrriabe and cold.
Would not recommend hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in a family room with our grandsons on a trip to the Armouries, it was ideal for us. The room was very clean , the breakfast was good ,the staff friendly , the area outside was great for the boys to run around while we sat and relaxed with a drink what more could you want for £46 . we are looking to go back but this time on our own.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#27 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing