We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great value and style”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is close to town - but not actually in the city centre. Taxis are easy to get from a dedicated phone and the trip into town was, I think, about £2.50. Reception is bright and spacious as are the rooms. The bed was quite hard but comfortable. The breakfast buffet is extensive: hot food (bacon, scrambled egg, etc.) cereals, bread, jam, fruit, juices, hot drinks - help yourself to as much as you want.

The multi story car park is next door and offers and £8 all weekend multi-visit deal.

The area is quiet and pleasant but quite hard to find without satnav I imagine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    301
    222
    81
    50
See reviews for
115
205
50
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We booked the hotel for a 2 night special deal over a Friday and Saturday evening. I asked if the hotel would be busy as we had 2 children with us. The staff informed me that the hotel was unusually quiet so Friday went off quite well, with the exception of the very warm room and very hard bed.

The hotel is situated near a casino and on Saturday it became clear that the hotel is a Mecca for stag parties and groups of people planning a night out.

In the early hours we were worken to a noisy street scene outside as the casino and bars emptied. The remainder of the night until 6am was met with slamming doors, people trying to open our hotel door and shouting in the corridors.

If the hotel entertains these types of guests then why don't they offer a quieter floor for families or people looking for a good nights sleep. Oh, yes and please provide more comfortable mattresses!

Also the breakfast was of a very poor quality compared to other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Rock hard croissants, over cooked scrambled egg and no cutlery. Come on management, you can do better than this.

Disappointing stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mharnden1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for two nights this past weekend and we had fantastic service. The manager (I think her name was Michelle) was so friendly and accomodating and all of the staff were really helpful. Our room was comfortable and very good value for money, especially considering that we had a dinner bed and breakfast package. Our meal alone would have cost almost as much as we paid! The meal was delicious and the presentation was excellent.
This is a budget hotel, but the service is five star.
I notice that some people have mentioned that they had problems with noise, but we didn't experience anything like that at all.

Room Tip: Join the priority club. We got to extend our checkout time by three hours at no extra cost. Buy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed there for 7 months (yes 7 months!) earlier this year and enjoyed it a lot. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, free Wifi (in lobby). It needed some refurbishment and that is being done as some of the rooms were just beginning to feel 'tired'. Can be noisy particularly at the back where bottles get emptied loudly at about 6am some mornings. I never stayed Saturdays so don't know what that is like but Leeds like to party on a Saturday. When things were wrong I mentioned them to the Manager and they got fixed.

Room Tip: At the front and probably on the second or third floor. On the first floor in the middle you can pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here for one night mid week thinking it would be quite but we were sadly mistaken. This hotel seems to attract a lot of conference goers in the week. Who like to congregate smoke laugh and shout outside the hotel until the very early hours. Then talk and shout in the hotel corridors. If you must stay here get a room away from the front entrance and on the higher floors.

Room Tip: Dont take rooms near front of hotel entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boristhepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Dear Boristhepig,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Bishops Waltham
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

There was little choice of venues the time we stayed. The City was full of 'freshers' and their parents who stayed over. So..it was the only place the VisitLeeds could find for us.
1. Outside noise. It is located in a busy 'social gathering' area. Squeals and rowdyness until 4:0am in the morning!! Some hotel door banging during the early hours, too. 2. No Room free wi fi 3. No room ironing board and iron 4. Sub-standard tv - may have been analogue? 5. And the worst thing was ...they tried to charge over one third more than the already agreed booking and did'nt spot it. They gave us a receipt which said one thing, tho' our bank account said a much bigger figure:- which we didn't see until we arrived home and checked our bank!!
---------------------------------
Following our request for a goodwill gesture [m@il] we received a fairly 'pro forma' diatribe (350 words) diatribe letting us know ..."....we strive to achieve the highest standards of customer service to all our guests".

Room Tip: cannot help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_MBishopsWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear John_MBishopsWaltham,

I am most disappointed and concerned to read your comments. Our hotel is known for our great location as well as our kind and caring staff. I'm sorry your experience fell short of our high standards.

I'm can assure you we do not purposely over bill any guest who stays with us. The amount you are referring to is a pre-authorization. When the actual charge for the rooms comes off your card, the difference will be released back in to your account by your credit card company or bank.

A private message was sent to you previously to obtain additional detail. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Kevin R.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed over in this hotel on business last night. It is a conveniently located, well priced, budget hotel. I have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses during my travels and this one stands out. The service is excellent, in house food of good quality (Especially the Mousakka!) and it is comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneCharliex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
506 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#17 of 87 in Leeds
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing