We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel as had to book at the last minute. Wasn't expecting much but the hotel was nicely decorated, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was reasonable. The only down side was that the shower head holder was loose so had to hold the shower in my hand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveW321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

DaveW321

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I will pass on your comments to the team, it was very good to read that you found the hotel met with your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in Leeds, and if you are going to be a regular visitor for your business then please ask about a corporate rate and be sure to enrol in our IHG rewards programme to earn points for each stay if you have not already done so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stated here with a group of friends for a night out in leeds. Got a good rate and worth the money. Reception and the bar seemed a little understaffed for a Friday night with 2 members juggling both check in, the bar and other duties. Rooms were fine as per all holiday inns and staff were friendly as usual. Location is a little far out. Breakfast was poor, I'm sure this would be different in week as it was just so busy and ran out of forks and glasses for atleast 15min and hardly any staff around.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AJS2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear AJS206

Thank you for your recent review of your stay

It was good to here that you found the hotel good value for money and enable you to enjoy a night out in Leeds. We do tend to have three staff Members working over a Friday and Saturday so not sure why you only saw two.
When the hotel has groups staying and they eat together it can take a shirt while to replenish all items.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends should you be visiting Leeds again for a night out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently stayed here for a weekend. The accommodation was basic and clean. The location is ok, but not in the thick of the city centre, we ended up using taxis a lot. So although the cheaper option, overall the costs mounted up.
If you are staying here over a weekend be warned that breakfast gets very busy after 9.30/10.00am. It’s a self-serve buffet style, and unfortunately they were not quick at replenishing the food, nor cups, nor forks. Improvisation was key, never had to eat a fry up with a spoon before!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbella1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Tinkerbella1979

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am glad you found the accommodation was clean and met with your needs. The hotel may not be right in the city centre but this is a benefit as it is well away from the nightlife noise and in the coming summer months it is a very pleasant walk along the canal into the centre taking around 15 minutes.

In relation to the breakfast, it does indeed get very busy towards the end of breakfast and at weekends, we do provide extra seating in our three conference rooms and are currently looking at replacing some of the equipment to speed up the flow on the buffet.

Thank you again for posting your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is one of the worst Holiday Inn Express properties I have stayed at.

1. Very Dirty Rooms, no water or toiletries provided.
2. Check-in staff unable to speak English.
3. No Recognition for IHG Platinum members.
4. Breakfast was very poorly presented with dirty dishes laying all over tables and counters.
5. Check-out staff unable to print a receipt.

There are a number of other IHG properties in the area which I suggest checking out!

Reason for Visit: Business
Next Destination: Brussels, Belgium
Pros: Location
Cons: Room Cleanliness, Atmosphere, Amenities, Recognition for IHG® Rewards Club Members, Facilities

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Christopher B

We have responded to a review you posted on the express website and asked that you contacted us so we could investigate, which you appeared to decline

The hotel rooms have running water and soap and shower gel is provided free of charge. As an express brand we do not provide bottle water in the rooms

All my team are English speaking with the majority having this as their first language.

We offer a welcome letter for platinum members and an additional option of extra points or a drink and snack. I can not verify if your booking identified you as a member as if you do not book direct then this information is visible on our system. Reward members can book via numerous ways including the new IHG reward app that is easy to download onto your phone and makes booking rooms anywhere simple.

I am sorry if the breakfast area was untidy and this should not have been the case even if it was at the very end of breakfast.

I can not comment regarding you bill as a print out is a quick and easy function of our system.

Please do contact us on the email provided in our last response to you

Regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here quite a few times with work. I find it a bit remote now as everything is shut down around the hotel , there is a pizza express next door that is always deserted and a Tesco express you can walk to. The hotel I always find is quite noisy . The rooms are modern and quite typical of other express hotels but this is not one of my favourites . The car park is next door and is an Ncp or similar and it's £12 reduced fee over night . This hotel is fine but nothing great .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Joanne M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay .

The area around the hotel was originally populated with a lot of shop units which have indeed since closed but it it is my understanding that there are plans by the landlords to bring in different tenants that would offer a more sustainable future for these units. A gym is shortly due to open in the area just by Pizza express which is a good start to improving the surrounding area

I do hope you will return to us should you be in the area of Leeds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is clean, the staff really friendly and helpful. The thing about this hotel is that the room we were in was in need of a bit of a makeover, that said, clean quiet ( apart from the slamming doors in the early hours. Not the fault of the hotel). Breakfast on the first morning was a bit of a downer, hot food delivered to dining room, but hotplates not switched on, so food was cold pretty fast, but as soon as reported, food removed and warmed up. All in all not too bad a stay, handy for the armouries and town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Cookie Lincolnshire

Thank you for your recent review .

Your comments are really appreciated and it is good to see that the team reacted when the issue raised was reported. We do aim to offer a friendly welcoming atmosphere and I am glad that this was provided to you by the team.

We hope to see you again should you be in the Leeds area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here on business midweek and on arrival the road approaching the hotel was chaotic due to the conference centre next door being emptied. The multi-storey parking is very convenient and on arrival at the hotel despite a busy reception the staff were friendly and effective. The rooms were basic yet clean and the bed was comfortable. The free wifi throughout the hotel is a real bonus off business travellers but I feel the restaurant wasn't the most welcoming and as such I used the pizza express next door which had good food but as very busy the service was only adequate. I have stayed here previously and would stay again ....

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Alison J

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us .

It is unfortunate that you arrived just when one of the largest exhibitions held at the new dock next door was packing up, they do have marshals on duty and I hope you were not held up for too long. The next door multi storey is conveniently located and guests staying at the hotel can get a discounted rate of £8 for 24 hours.
I am sorry that you found the restaurant to be uninviting, we do offer a limited food menu which is ordered at the bar as our brand does not have a full service restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again if you are in Leeds

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#21 of 87 in Leeds
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#14 of 87 in Leeds
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £53 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing