We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and free breakfast too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good location right next to The Armouries (which is free) and theres a free breakfast in the hotel too which was nice, also free wifi. at £39 for a double room it was excellent value and I would definately use it again.

Room Tip: were gived a restricted mobility room (not requested) so had a walk in shower and big bathroom
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Str

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

I will pass on your comments to the team and I am glad you found that the free breakfast met with you expectations and you were able to take advantage of the free wi-fi

We look forward to welcoming you back should you be in the Leeds Area

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was fairly quiet and very clean, with fast wifi even in the room. Breakfast was great, especially the sausages. Plenty of food and regularly replenished. The room itself was well appointed with a comfy bed, sofa, big flat screen TV with freeview and apparently, air conditioning. It was a really hot weekend in Leeds so I immediately turned on the air con (which on full blast sounded like a jet engine!) After a few minutes I couldn't feel any difference in the temperature, even though I had set it to 13 degrees. I waited another 10 minutes or so, and then decided to go down to reception. I explained the problem to the lady at the desk, and was told that on a hot day it can take up to 2 hours to cool the room down! I was advised to leave it on and maybe go out for a few hours! I decided to stick it out and had a cold shower while I waited. I left the air con con on for 5 hours straight, apart from not being able to hear the TV there was no difference at all. A very uncomfortable night because of the heat, other than that this hotel is great!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just_pottsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Just-pottsie

I am sorry that your stay was affected by the heat in your room. We have moved forward our planned maintenance of the system to ensure that the whole system is in working order.

Your other comments will be passed onto the team and I am glad you were able to take advantage of the free wi-fi and enjoyed your breakfast (a good quality sausage does make the difference )

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the Leeds area

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed for one night and got a good deal so had a room each. The location was excellent as we were visiting my son who was staying in the hall of residence less than 5 minutes walk away . The hotel bedrooms were basic but very clean and had tea and coffee making facilities and comfortable beds . Check in was a bit chaotic due to a large coach party all wanting to deposit bags but staff did their best and moved our bags to a separate office in case they got mixed up with the coach party . Breakfast was basic but there was plenty of juice , tea , coffee,toast cereal and some traditional cooked items so was more than adequate .
For what we paid we had no complaints , would stay again and got a decent and very quiet nights sleep considering the hotel seemed busy .

Room Tip: Floor 5 was quiet and the odd numbers have a very good view of the tournament arena at the royal arm...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location, was clean and tidy however the whole experience was letdown somewhat by the breakfast experience. We stayed for one night on the Friday and went down for breakfast on the Saturday morning at around 10:00 am to find that the breakfast choices where depleted,combine this with lack of crockery and cutlery and you had the comical scenes of people eating the only choices left; sausages and scrambled eggs with desert spoons.......one resourceful guy improvised by putting some sausages in a glass and eating them with his fingers due to lack of cutlery/crockery/choice......... I've stayed in a few holiday inns before and this one wasn't up to a par with the usual good standards you find at that chains other hotels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Hameldaeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Hameldaeme,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am pleased to know that you found the hotel's location convenient for your activities.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience your breakfast experience may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services.

Again, thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCase

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We got an excellent cheap deal on this hotel, but after reading some of the reviews we weren't expecting much.What a pleasant surprise we got! Yes the room was basic, but it was clean and comfortable and more than adequate for our nights stay. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was fine to set us up for our day shopping. It was a short walk into the centre but taxis are cheap and plentiful in Leeds.We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We got a great advance purchase price for a Sunday night in April but later on-line we saw we had been charged an extra £30 for an extra adult, even though our son was 16 (they do have a very generous u-18 child policy). I called the national helpline and it was amended, but just prior to our stay I was sent a welcome-reminder which had charged us the extra £30. I called the Hotel's duty manager and, after some difficulty getting through, he kindly refunded it. After our actual stay, during which we had to change rooms three times on arrival due to strong cooking smells in the first two rooms (fish and chips and then macDonalds?) I later found my credit card bill showed the £30 refund, but then the day of departure the extra £30 was charged a second time!! I was unable to get through to the hotel for two days during a dozen attempts - even the national HIEx helpline couldn't get them to pick up the phone the two occasions they tried. They gave me their email and I sent them a message to call me. I got a message saying the £30 was refunded (again). I called and spoke to the duty manager and, when no offer was made, was not embarrassed to suggest a few Priority points might be deserved? After another email to remind him of this conversation I was rewarded some points which I did not feel were undeserved. Come on HIEX Leeds Armouries - you can do better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishlakedistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Englishlakedistrict,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel as had to book at the last minute. Wasn't expecting much but the hotel was nicely decorated, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was reasonable. The only down side was that the shower head holder was loose so had to hold the shower in my hand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveW321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

DaveW321

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I will pass on your comments to the team, it was very good to read that you found the hotel met with your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in Leeds, and if you are going to be a regular visitor for your business then please ask about a corporate rate and be sure to enrol in our IHG rewards programme to earn points for each stay if you have not already done so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,015 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,474 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £47 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing