We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our room through lastminute.com a few days before we were visiting. We got a cracking deal.

We wanted a hotel close to the city centre, it isn't as close as we thought (approx 15-20 minute walk).

The hotel itself was clean and inviting. The room was very basic and reminded us of a travelodge hotel.

free breakfast for all guests - it's not a full English breakfast - only sausage, scrambled eggs and beans are the hot option. Breakfast wasn't hot, it was luke warm... I'd rather have had the option to pay for a decent breakfast.

All in all a pleasant stay but would probably choose a different hotel, closer to the city centre next time.



Stayed: July 2014
Thank KEMM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Kemm 882

I am sorry that you found the breakfast to be lukewarm this should not have been the case, I will addresses this with the team members concerned to ensure that food is being checked regularly.

Whilst we may not be right in the city centre this does have the advantage of not have the normal city life noise possibly impacting on our guests.

Thank you for your comments as all feedback goes a long way in maintaining and improving the service we offer.

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel was great, when my car got a flat battery Asif and the rest of the staff where wonder in giving me a jump start.

Quite location

The room was clean, good telly decent bathroom, tea and coffee and provided in your room

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _Dave_xxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Dave

I hope you car is running fine now

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and in particular for singling out one of our team members for assisting you.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you are in Leeds

Kind Regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I had an enjoyable one night stay. My bed was comfy, the room was clean, tea and coffee and a decent sized tele.
Bathroom was clean and plenty of towels.
Breakfast ... Previous reviews are quite critical. I thought there was plenty there for what you have paid for the room. Cereal, toast, cooked breakfast option , croissants etc etc
I was at breakfast for about 7;45 and there was plenty of choice and food was hot.
Nice surroundings as well short walk to nice bars and restaurants. Would go back if in leeds again
Took me around 20 minutes walk from leeds train station and that was me losing my way on google maps a couple of times !!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Anna

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We have made recent changes to our breakfast buffet to improve the look and flow in this area which I am glad has made a difference.

The location of the hotel does make it a viable alternative to the city centre as we are only a short walk away.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you return to Leeds,

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night , rooms were clean , on 2 nd floor , bar prices expensive as hotels usually are but breakfast very poor . Buffet style no lids on servers so food only Luke warm cooked breakfast ? No bacon no mushrooms no hash brown no fried eggs , was not because they had run out because some of our party were there 5 mins before and it was the same for them . Sausage beans and scrambled eggs . I suggest you take a walk into premier inn breakfast area far greater choice . My first and last visit to a holiday inn .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomberslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Bomberslady

Thank you for you review of your recent stay.

I pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and tidy.

In relation to breakfast , the hotel does not advertise a full English breakfast and on numerous. Sites details the hot food as being sausages, scrambled egg and beans which is what you said was served. Our hot food is served on a servery which has heat lamps above to keep food hot , and is designed not to have the Inconvenience of lids. It is also worth mentioning that any breakfast taken at a premier Inn is at an additional charge per person whereby it is free at any Holiday Inn Express

Kind regards. Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed as late deal, due to being unable to stay at previous hotel due to the sauna like conditions in the room, we were aware that HIE have air cooler units in the room.
After some time in the room, there was no change in the temperature, so we went out and left it on. Returning to the room sometime after, again no change in the room, so opened the window and hoped for the best.
Opening the window proved a noisy alternative, after being hot, sticky, tired, uncomfortable and fed up of hearing drunk melodies from the street below.
A call and a trip to reception desk later, we were moved, having not been the only guests to complain, some guests complaining a little too rudely also. The new room was not much better, but we were able to get about 3 hours sleep. This did not add to the already stressful events of the weekend and 14 hours of driving done that weekend!

I simply cannot fault the night staff and the shift manager in the morning, they simply did everything they could to improve our stay. In the end they signed us up to the IHG rewards scheme and gave reward points to compensate.

The customer service was a shining example of what it should be. Well done!
Hope the cooling system has been sorted, we will be back if its cooler!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swinners2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Swinners2207

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was really pleasing to read that the staff dealt with the issue you faced really well and I will pass on your comments to them. It does make a difference to guests who may encounter issues when they are dealt with correctly.
We have been dealing with the cause of the issue you faced.

I look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the Leeds area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Hotel either has a huge design flaw or every room to the left, right, above and below me, not to mention every other room on the corridor was occupied by cattle. I suspect a design flaw. Every door opening, and door closing could be heard well into the early hours, and then there was the resident from hell in the room above who was either wearing wooden soled platform shoes or was bouncing a bowling ball on a ceramic floor. A call to guest services at 12:45 had no effect.

Yes this hotel has all of the usual attributes of this chain, but I judge sleep quality quite highly. I was still awake at 2:00am.

Will not seek to return in a hurry

Room Tip: ermmm. as far away from other occupied rooms as possible.......if it is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackthebiscuit010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Jackthebiscuit010

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry that your stay was spoilt by other inconsiderate guests (labelling them as cattle is a novel noun to use to describe them). My night team do react to calls made by guests during the night if required so I will follow this up with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just got back from staying here for 2 nights.....the hotel is not in the city centre but is within easy reach either by taxi or 15 walk along the canals. Good base for us as we were going to the First Direct Arena.

After a long drive up from Cornwall it was great to find the staff to be excellent, extremely welcoming and accommodating nothing was too much trouble (Thanks Andy)

We did stay whilst there were stag and hens in but to be fair we did not hear any noise from them and the hotel do try to put them on the same floor so that other guests are not be disturbed....please be aware of this if you book for a Friday/Saturday night!!!

The Armouries Museum right opposite the hotel is worth a visit as is the nearby Indian Restaurant. We will return to this hotel when we are back in Leeds....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kern0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us.

I am pleased that the hotel met with your requirements and you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your thanks to Andy. It is great to read that he had a positive impact on your stay.

The hotel is indeed in a good location and an ideal alternative to the hotels surrounding the arena.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return. Please do take advantage of our Advance Purchase Rates if you know your reservation dates as this ensures the best value for your stay. If you are not already an IHG reward member, don't miss the opportunity to sign up for this great point rewards scheme.

Kind Regards,
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,068 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#37 of 87 in Leeds
2,257 reviews
Jurys Inn Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £50 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing