We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 9 July 2014

recently stayed at the hotel as an overnight stay to see Pearl Jam at the Leeds Arena. My wife and I were extremely disappointed with the appearance of the staff and the evident lack of interest and attention given. The room was standard fare for a holiday inn express.......well designed, reasonable size etc but.....no fridge, and the room smelt damp. The toilet tiles were loose and the bathroom also smelt of urine! Otherwise the room was generally clean and breakfast ok. Disappointed, as we always choose the Holiday Inn Express as our budget hotel of choice. This one is, by far the worst and most tired we have visited. Refurbishment needed for some rooms methinks. If there were 2 1/2 points.......this would get it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank toffee290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Toffee290

I am sorry that your stay did not met your expectations and that we let you down in relation to the faults in your room. We do not however have fridges in Holiday Inn Express rooms some Holiday Inns do have these in executive bedrooms.

I you could contact me regarding your date of stay as I would be interested to ascertain which staff members were on duty to follow up your comments about the appearance and attitude, you can email me direct at deanlong@hiexleeds.co.uk

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for Tour De France weekend with friend. Twin room was spotless and cosy. Hotel offers free breakfast. Please note this is not a full English . You have sausages , beans and scrambled egg . toast or croissants, various cereals and fruit. Staff we encountered were all friendly. The location is really quiet and only a 7 minute walk and you are in Leeds centre.Only downside was parking. Hotel has about 10 spaces, multi storey next door do a £15 weekend ticket. First time in a Holiday inn and would use again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 24lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear 254 Lunch

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I hope you managed to get a good vantage point for the Grand Depart and enjoyed the atmosphere on the day.

I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team regarding your room.

I noted that you have said that you would use this brand again, if you have not already done so then you should consider joining the IHG Reward Scheme to gain points for your stays in any IHG brand that can then be redeemed for free stays and lost more besides.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon should you be in the Leeds area

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

So I booked this as a secret hotel on that popular last minute booking site and it was stated that it was in the city centre, well it was a 30 minute walk from the train station which isn't what I would call city centre.
I'm a travel writer and photographer writing a book about the 69 cities of the UK and as a female travelling on my own I try to pick central hotels, I am doing very badly at the moment, haha

The thing is though I discovered that this hotel is just next to the canal and the Leeds dock and what a beautiful area, I walked in and out of the city centre along the tow path and once I did that it was only really a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Leeds and a beautiful walk it was too!

Breakfast was good and in with the price as was the wifi and as a woman travelling on her own I felt safe and secure at all times, I would definitely stay here again and I would bring my kids, family or would be happy to stay on my own.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty good, from my room you would be able to watch the jousting at Leeds Armo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MandyCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mandy Charlton

It is was good to read that you have such an enjoyable time during your stay with us and was able to take in the walk along the canal.

We are indeed in a quiet location in Leeds with some of the rooms overlooking the jousting arena associated with Leeds Armouries museum.

I wish you all the best with your book happy travelling and we look forwarded to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Myself and 11 of my friends recently stayed here on my hen party, we were all separated and some of the girls were not even on the same floor, we were all so situated in rooms next to families, which I thought was ridiculous as we were a "hen party"
We were harassed by the night receptionist who walked the halls half the night slamming the doors, she stood outside the rooms and knocked on if she could hear anybody taking, it was a very disappointing experience, we will not be returning to this hotel on our next stay to Leeds!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela_010784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Michaela 010784

It was disappointing to read your review of your stay, but I make no apologises for my team reacting to guests calling down about noise disturbing them. It is my understanding that all the rooms were on the same floor however due to the number of rooms booked other guests were always going to occupy the floor also.

our aim is to provide every guest with good customer service but we will deal with any noise related issues directly as we have to consider all our guests who stay with us.

Kind Regards
Dean Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our room through lastminute.com a few days before we were visiting. We got a cracking deal.

We wanted a hotel close to the city centre, it isn't as close as we thought (approx 15-20 minute walk).

The hotel itself was clean and inviting. The room was very basic and reminded us of a travelodge hotel.

free breakfast for all guests - it's not a full English breakfast - only sausage, scrambled eggs and beans are the hot option. Breakfast wasn't hot, it was luke warm... I'd rather have had the option to pay for a decent breakfast.

All in all a pleasant stay but would probably choose a different hotel, closer to the city centre next time.



Stayed: July 2014
Thank KEMM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Kemm 882

I am sorry that you found the breakfast to be lukewarm this should not have been the case, I will addresses this with the team members concerned to ensure that food is being checked regularly.

Whilst we may not be right in the city centre this does have the advantage of not have the normal city life noise possibly impacting on our guests.

Thank you for your comments as all feedback goes a long way in maintaining and improving the service we offer.

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel was great, when my car got a flat battery Asif and the rest of the staff where wonder in giving me a jump start.

Quite location

The room was clean, good telly decent bathroom, tea and coffee and provided in your room

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _Dave_xxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Dave

I hope you car is running fine now

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and in particular for singling out one of our team members for assisting you.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you are in Leeds

Kind Regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I had an enjoyable one night stay. My bed was comfy, the room was clean, tea and coffee and a decent sized tele.
Bathroom was clean and plenty of towels.
Breakfast ... Previous reviews are quite critical. I thought there was plenty there for what you have paid for the room. Cereal, toast, cooked breakfast option , croissants etc etc
I was at breakfast for about 7;45 and there was plenty of choice and food was hot.
Nice surroundings as well short walk to nice bars and restaurants. Would go back if in leeds again
Took me around 20 minutes walk from leeds train station and that was me losing my way on google maps a couple of times !!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Anna

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We have made recent changes to our breakfast buffet to improve the look and flow in this area which I am glad has made a difference.

The location of the hotel does make it a viable alternative to the city centre as we are only a short walk away.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you return to Leeds,

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#12 of 87 in Leeds
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £52 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing