We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend trip to leeds and york.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Bargoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“weekend trip to leeds and york.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very conveniently situated 200 yards from the Royal Armouries Museum Leeds. Central for the the city.Conveniently situated within easy reach of the M1 motorway and not too far from the Leeds City nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the jousting arena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ray t

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us

I am glad that you find the hotel easy to get to it is indeed only 10 mins form the junction off the M1 then an enjoyable walk into Leeds along the canal

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the Leeds area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    298
    218
    80
    50
See reviews for
113
202
50
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is very handy for the city centre. The rooms are basic but clean and beds are comfortable. Breakfast is acceptable and sets you up for the day...typical sausage,scrambled egg etc
Staff are very friendly and helpful. We were there during Le Grand Depart and they coped well with no hassle and plenty of breakfast available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear The Shannons1

I will pass on your comments to the team, it is always good to hear that the staff had a positive impact on your stay.

our aim is to have a down to earth friendly team eager to interact with our guests even if the hotel is busy.

I hope you managed to get a good vantage point for the Grand Depart and got to see some of the great city attractions.

We look forwarded to welcoming you again soon should you be in the Leeds area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 2 nights in room 213 with my wife. Room was tired, old and smelt like smelly socks but most importantly it was hot weather and the air conditioning did not work. Complained FOUR times over two days and hot evenings. Got fobbed off each time but an engineer never looked at it. We Didn't sleep at all due to being so hot and left totally exhausted. We were there to celebrate our daughter graduating university and the experience of staying here really spoilt what should have been a great experience. No wonder the room smelt so bad... I've never sweated so much! We've stayed here a couple of times before and had a lovely stay. But I'll never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Nathan P

I was disappointed to read your review of your recent stay.

Your comment regarding the A/C is not entirely correct, when this was reported on Sunday it was logged as we don't have Maintenance staff working on Sunday Evenings. The unit was then looked at on Monday and was left working

It is inevitable that items will breakdown, I have checked the room myself and the unit is working, but I will be discussing with the team to ensure they considered all options including a room move for you as the units are individual to each rooms so would have been an isolated one.

We never wish guests to be dissatisfied and I am sorry that you have felt let down on this occasion .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A lovely setting for the hotel. In a nice pedestrianised area next to the canal and next to the armouries (a free tourist attraction). The hotel itself is clean and friendly. Rooms are are not luxurious but are clean and functional. Breakfast is included and is enough to set you up for the day. No parking facilities but fixed overnight price of £8.00 is payable to a large multi-storey adjacent to hotel. 10-15 walk along the canal takes you into the main shopping areas.

Stayed a couple of times and would sat again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela230375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Angela 230375

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay.

I am glad that you found the hotel to meet your needs, it is indeed in a good location away form the usual city centre noise that can occur.

I hope to see you again should you be in the Leeds area.

Kind regards

Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

recently stayed at the hotel as an overnight stay to see Pearl Jam at the Leeds Arena. My wife and I were extremely disappointed with the appearance of the staff and the evident lack of interest and attention given. The room was standard fare for a holiday inn express.......well designed, reasonable size etc but.....no fridge, and the room smelt damp. The toilet tiles were loose and the bathroom also smelt of urine! Otherwise the room was generally clean and breakfast ok. Disappointed, as we always choose the Holiday Inn Express as our budget hotel of choice. This one is, by far the worst and most tired we have visited. Refurbishment needed for some rooms methinks. If there were 2 1/2 points.......this would get it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toffee290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Toffee290

I am sorry that your stay did not met your expectations and that we let you down in relation to the faults in your room. We do not however have fridges in Holiday Inn Express rooms some Holiday Inns do have these in executive bedrooms.

I you could contact me regarding your date of stay as I would be interested to ascertain which staff members were on duty to follow up your comments about the appearance and attitude, you can email me direct at deanlong@hiexleeds.co.uk

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for Tour De France weekend with friend. Twin room was spotless and cosy. Hotel offers free breakfast. Please note this is not a full English . You have sausages , beans and scrambled egg . toast or croissants, various cereals and fruit. Staff we encountered were all friendly. The location is really quiet and only a 7 minute walk and you are in Leeds centre.Only downside was parking. Hotel has about 10 spaces, multi storey next door do a £15 weekend ticket. First time in a Holiday inn and would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear 254 Lunch

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I hope you managed to get a good vantage point for the Grand Depart and enjoyed the atmosphere on the day.

I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team regarding your room.

I noted that you have said that you would use this brand again, if you have not already done so then you should consider joining the IHG Reward Scheme to gain points for your stays in any IHG brand that can then be redeemed for free stays and lost more besides.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon should you be in the Leeds area

Kind regards

Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

So I booked this as a secret hotel on that popular last minute booking site and it was stated that it was in the city centre, well it was a 30 minute walk from the train station which isn't what I would call city centre.
I'm a travel writer and photographer writing a book about the 69 cities of the UK and as a female travelling on my own I try to pick central hotels, I am doing very badly at the moment, haha

The thing is though I discovered that this hotel is just next to the canal and the Leeds dock and what a beautiful area, I walked in and out of the city centre along the tow path and once I did that it was only really a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Leeds and a beautiful walk it was too!

Breakfast was good and in with the price as was the wifi and as a woman travelling on her own I felt safe and secure at all times, I would definitely stay here again and I would bring my kids, family or would be happy to stay on my own.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty good, from my room you would be able to watch the jousting at Leeds Armo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mandy Charlton

It is was good to read that you have such an enjoyable time during your stay with us and was able to take in the walk along the canal.

We are indeed in a quiet location in Leeds with some of the rooms overlooking the jousting arena associated with Leeds Armouries museum.

I wish you all the best with your book happy travelling and we look forwarded to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards

Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#17 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing