We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful hotel needs a make over and so does the staffs attitude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brookfield Hotel
Ranked #66 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
1 review
“Awful hotel needs a make over and so does the staffs attitude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

went out for a friends birthday originally booked into a hotel called the cresent but couple of hours before arriving we got moved from the cresent to brookfield (no one thought to even ring and let us know) Arrived at the hotel to a cold welcome. The staffs attitude towards us stunk and he was very creepy and intimidating! we felt so uncomfortable we rang our parents to see if they could sort us out another hotel, he made our friend stand outside in the pouring rain whilst we got changed which was un called for! The floor in the bathroom was all coming up and was a hazard. He then gave us a code to get back in later that night. so come 3 in morning we was left outside trying to get in, code didn't work no one came when pressed doorbell. So rang the phone he came and let us in through a totally different door, he looked at us like it was our fault where if he was doing his job properly he would have said this code is for this door not this one. Like anyone else we assumed the door we went out of we came in by too. All in all id never stay there again, and i certainly won't be recommending it!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    30
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
25
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My sister and I have just enjoyed another stay at Brookfield; we slept like tops in our quiet en- suite rooms, and have today returned home refreshed and eager for our next visit. Brookfield is a family-run hotel, and we were welcomed back like long-lost cousins. This is the personal touch that you wouldn't get in a larger 'chain' hotel. I would always recommend Brookfield as very good value for basic but clean and comfortable accommodation when visiting Leeds.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneBug1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Brookfield hotel is an amazing place to stay if you are money conscious and still looking for a place near the city center. You will appreciate: full English breakfast (included), free WiFi (works fine with laptops and smartphones), peace and tranquility of the hotel. Rooms and services are basic (there is no plasma screen on the wall and no full service restaurant) but who needs all these extras on a short leisure or business trip? We certainly don't. Brookfield is far superior to most hostels and cheap formula 1 like hotels. City center is 10 to 20 minutes away by foot (really depends on how fast you walk, it took me 10 minutes, it may take longer for other people). Alternatively you can reach the city center by bus, single ticket costs 1 pound/person.
Owner of this hotel is a very caring and friendly type of person.
We would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Our room was number 10 twin room with one double bed and one separate single bed. Beds are very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My fiance and I were traveling through and found this place online. We called to make a reservation and let the gentleman on the phone know we were coming late (11pm). When we arrived (after navigating through Leeds, which is terrible), we rang the doorbell, knocked, etc and no one answered. We had to drive back toward downtown to a restaurant and ask someone to use their phone. When we called the reservation number, a gruffy man answered and said the doorbells didn't work and that he would come out to let us in. When we were getting checked in, he barely said 10 words to us. And even though online it is posted that they have WiFi, they do NOT. Its this man who lives there who has a private acct. Only BT online is available, which is useless for foreign travelers. The room was cold and without heating, the bedding was extremely thin and the only "cover" was a blanket that had clearly not been washed. The bathroom was falling apart, with parts of the flooring coming up. Breakfast was early and was okay, but we were just focused on getting out of there and on to London. Likely the worst part of this "hotel" was a few days later when I got back to the US and my bank called me regarding suspicious activity on my card. I only used this card to reserve THIS hotel and I'm pretty sure that the gruffy man in the back stole my credit card number and made online purchases. Fortunately my card company canceled it. We are used to hostels and budget B&Bs, but this place was the worst. I can deal with harsh conditions, but this lodging needs to be shut down.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barinder1, Owner at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
As the hotel owner I would like to reply to the comments made by the above customer as the owner of this establishment I am responsible for handling all guest payment cards, this is a defamation of my character and slander of my business reputation until proved otherwise.

The room this guest was given, was one of the newly refurbished rooms. WIFI is available throughout the hotel as it clearly states on our website and we provided it to the guest free of charge, access was given through a security code.
Second option BTopenzone is not useless for foreign travellers, BT openzone is widely available in the UK and is simple to use for foreign travellers.

Heating comes on and off during the night. In the evenings the heating comes from 4pm-10pm and then comes on automatically if the temperature drops, it will then come on again at 6am. The heating does not stay on 24 hours a day, we are a small private run hotel. In my experience, in similar size hotels the heating does not stay on all night.

We change/clean our bedding for every new guest. We have not had a complaint about this previously.

As far as the early breakfast is concerned we accommodate the majority of our guests who prefer the early breakfast and this is reflected in the price.
Overall we take pride in looking after and accommodating our guests’ needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed overnight, wasnt very clean but it was tidy, bathroom was dropping to bits and the location was abit strange, smelt like food and cigarettes when we walked in. Bed wasnt that comfy but i still slept. Marks on the wall and the walls are paper thin! WOUDLNT recomend for people who are light sleepers or like peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We booked a weekend at brookfield and were very pleased with our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Location is close to the city center and Royal Armouries, Pizza Express etc are nearby. Breakfast was also appetising and filling. Would reccomend this hotel as good value for money and would deffo stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_Rainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My sister and I stayed for 2 nights at the Brookfield while we helped my nephew move into a flat in Leeds. We were immediately dismayed by the location - next to a used car dealership and surrounded by industrial buildings - and even more so when the door was opened by a scruffy, unfriendly young man who barely spoke half a dozen words as he checked us in and showed us our rooms. The rooms although reasonably clean and bright were cold, ( especially the bathrooms ) and the heating was only on for a short time morning and evening. Neither of us had good nights sleep, we were worried by thoughts of the young man and my sister`s sleep was constantly disturbed by the noise of some sort of industrial fan ( we could see a chimney from her bedroom window ). We didn`t have breakfast as it was only served from 7am - 8 am but we were able to make tea / coffee in our rooms. When we walked into the city centre we found it to be further than we had expected - about a 15 minute walk, and driving through Leeds was very stressful. We met the owner,briefly on our first morning and again when we checked out, and he was friendly, chatty and helpful - if only we`d been met by him ! Obviously we didn`t expect luxury for £30 per room per night but nevertheless we were not satisfied by the Brookfield.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabellacottonsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
0.3 mi away
Discovery Inn Leeds
Discovery Inn Leeds
#39 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Avenue Hotel
The Avenue Hotel
#52 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#69 of 86 in Leeds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Leeds
Jurys Inn Leeds
#17 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield Hotel

Property: Brookfield Hotel
Address: Hunslet Road Brookfield Street, Leeds LS10 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookfield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brookfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing