We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Basic.”
Review of Brookfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookfield Hotel
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A very basic hotel in a very run down area. It was cheap and functional.
We only stayed one night for a birthday party and it was OK for that, although I would not like to stay more than one night.
Not sure I would feel safe wandering about in the vicinity of the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greytop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed only one night at the Brookfield Hotel. To be fair, our expectations were not high given how cheap it was and we were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by some friendly staff who were happy to let us check in at 10.30am, despite check in not officially being for some hours later. We were lucky to be on the top floor - a few stairs to encounter, but the room was very spacious and clean, with a bathroom which was functional and also clean. It was a mere 10 minute walk into central Leeds, which was perfect for us. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would certainly recommend this hotel as being value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preciousholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Seeing family - so just needed a bed & breakfast for the night, didn't expect much, as it was cheap. Easy to find - just off a dual carriageway.
The building didn't look to appealing - looked like it was a pub at one time. Parking was fine.

The receptionist (cleaner & waiter), was polite. The room was basic, but clean. (Noticed a 4* hygine award in the breakfast room). Breakfast was good - fry up (not greasy); 07:00 - 08:00 was a shocker!!

It did what it said on the tin, no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Messagetoothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

probably the best value hotel in Leeds. Clean , tidy rooms with good carpets (not poor quality wooden floors like some). spacious rooms all en suite. Plenty of tea and coffee. Never had breakfast , but it smelt very good.Plenty of parking, very pleasant host. I have stayed in others in Leeds that cost more and were very poor (see my other reviews). 10 minute walk into Leeds city centre. Some people who have left reviews should try the other Hotels, I stayed here for 3 months.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 86e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I booked this for an overnight stay for 3 ladies visiting Leeds...how dissapointed were we !! I read the reviews on late rooms, which I cannot quite believe. The hotel is about 1-1.5 mile outside Leeds on a bit of land next to a garage. It took a while for someone to answer the door, when we went inside- there is a smell of years of smoking. It has a clean looking lobby and we were taken upto our room. As you go upstairs the lingering smell of stale cigarettes fills your lungs. We were offered to book breakfast ..7-8 the only time option....errr no thanks. The room looked clean to be fair. However the smell of stale smoke was even in our room. It just felt like a shabby place the light cord was filthy and broken,the towel bale a brown colour ( always a worry !) not a place for 3 ladies. So we left and lost our money. We tried to ask about the no smoking policy but the chap stated although non smoking he couldn't enforce the rule !!! Well if you don't mind some passive inhalation then this may be the place for you.We would'nt have booked a smoking hotel !

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank journeycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon1011975, Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

In response to this review there are several points that we disagree with.

First of all the hotel is a NON-SMOKING hotel and has been for the last 8 years since it was opened. Due to fire regulations we do not allow any smoking and its an offense to do so as it clearly states in the hotel.

We take much effort in cleaning our hotel and fresh towels are provided on a daily basis. Because the towels we use are brown it does not mean they are stained!

To say that the place is not for ladies is an an over statement. 70% of bookings are taken by female guests and we are extremely popular with hen parties.

Finally as this review states the guest 'lots their money' is a false statement. We informed the guest there and then that we will not charge for the reservation and no money will be taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is in the context of a hotel that charged £30 for the night
Location - 15 minute walk to Leeds railway station
Late check in - phoned, no problem
Check in - very easy, very helpful
Single Room - clean - en suite - plenty of tea/coffee etc - water in shower nice and hot
Noise - none on the night I was there
Breakfast - £3 for well prepared full English with toast, tea and fruit juice
Staff - Could not fault - very helpful

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J4JHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a Saturday night, just for one night. Please note that this is our one and only encounter with this hotel, and our review is based soley on this one encouter.

Located in an industrial area of Leeds, but the city centre is easily reached on foot (15 mins), or alternatively there is a bus stop very close by. Check-in was very unwelcoming and akward, zero professionalism. Parking spaces were tight, and scarce. Our room (11) was a decent size, and everything worked, but it was a bit grotty, especially the bathroom, which not only had no lock, it had no stay-shut mechanism! ...Good shower though.

Our room looked out on to the back court yard, a court yard which as it turns out, houses people of which we had very little in common with! They were loud, lairy, and had terminal insomnia. Their 'partying' continued until 5am, most of which took part outside, in the court yard, near our window, and our parked car. Safe to say we got little to no sleep.

We were so happy when we checked out, got to our car, and got out of there.

I don't mean to be harsh to anybody's business, but when there is paint missing off walls, I think 'just give it a quick lick of paint!' Put a latch on the bathroom door, etc etc.

Also, have a word with the 'people' who reside at the other side of the court yard as well, they are not doing you any favours.

Rant over, enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Discovery Inn Leeds
#38 of 87 in Leeds
911 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Leeds Centre
#32 of 87 in Leeds
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield Hotel

Address: Hunslet Road Brookfield Street, Leeds LS10 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookfield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Brookfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing