We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pubes, snots and chewing gum” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Ranked #47 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pubes, snots and chewing gum”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This place is in a great location, the price is great and the staff are friendly, the shower is lovely and powerful, but that's where the good points end. Our window was broke and wouldn't close, our room was covered in pubes, snots on the walls and chewing gum that people had stuck places. The bed was like sleeping on concrete. Noise travels really easily thru the building so we hardly slept. This hotel is only and good for those who will be very drunk, or are desperate for a bed for the night

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KButtery, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the matter, Kind regards, Rahul Parikh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    449
    256
    136
    120
See reviews for
125
306
144
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I got an £18 room on a Friday night. £18. Yes £18, how on earth do they manage to do it that cheaply? And for the price, I was very pleased with the hotel.

Typical small Etap/Ibis Budget room, but very clean and the shower worked well too. The mattress was a bit on the hard side, but I slept fine. To say it was a Friday night, I didn't hear any noise after going to bed.

My only gripe with Ibis Budget is no kettle in the room, however for £18 I can't complain. I would certainly come back here for future stays in Leeds. Well done Accor!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy-UK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KButtery, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Budget Hotel in Leeds again very soon. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Good location - but you have to get used to walking across ring road - it is safe but a lot of crossings. The hotel cocoon rooms on floor 7 & 8 are excellent value - Large double bed
shower flat screen tv and well soundproofed all for £18 per room on summer offer.
The rooms are clean and bed is comfortable and air-con. Breakfast basic but for £3.40 is good value.

Room Tip: Floors 7 & 8 have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidM674_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KButtery, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Budget Hotel in Leeds. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Good location. Clean smell in room. Room looked fresh and clean. Toilet and shower small but clean. Carpet in corridors not very nice. Staff okay. Noisy at times but priced to aim at Hen and Stag weekends so expected really. Tykes bar next door. Reasonable breakfast £5 and refillable tea and coffee £1. Not far from train station. Taxi to centre cost between £5-£8. No TV in room but price reduction to compensate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlsonVacation27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KButtery, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was exactly what it was advertised to be... a budget hotel. The staff on the front desk were polite, happy and helpful as we entered the hotel. The room itself needed repainting as the walls were a little dirty as was the carpet. The plain white bedding and towels were clean and nicely folded on the bed with a small bar of complimentary wrapped soap. The pillows were the usual flat as a pancake ones and the quilt was thin but the room was a regulated temperature so this made no difference. The bed itself was again cheap board with a thin matress on top but clean. There was a small tv in the corner of the room with a remote, free of charge unlike some hotels. The shower was clean, had good water pressure and was easy to opperate. The next morning we paid the £4.25 for the unlimited buffet breakfast, which consisted of a selection of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, hot drink and juice, we would have gladly paid more for a hot breakfast but all in all were happy with what we had. i would stay in this hotel again and give it another chance just to see if the next room is any better or worse than the one we had this time...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KButtery, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Ibis Budget hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and you will see our brand new rooms by end of 2012. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed in August 2012. Went into room.. bed was not made, stank of horrible smell. Went to shower in the morning and picked up a towel, only to find a GIANT STAIN of what appeared to be fecal matter on it. Took it down to front desk. Was accused of planting the stain on the towel by the hotel manager because the towel was wet. It had become damp when I showered in the same room as it (obviously using my own towel). Somehow that was proof to him that I was trying to get money off of my room. He simply said 'We check all of our towels and there's no way this could happen'.

Worst management and worst service I've ever experienced. This isn't just bad for a budget hotel, it's BAD.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KButtery, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us at Ibis Budget Hotel in Leeds. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

A friend and I stayed at this hotel due to having nowhere to stay that night and expected a decent 'budget' room. When we eventually checked into the room we were welcomed with a lingering smell of sweat and it was obvious the room wasn't thoroughly cleaned. The shower had a gaping hole through the glass door which wasn't very private and the toilet cubicle didn't have a lock (again, privacy issues). My friend was about to take a shower, but after opening one of the towels we were provided with he was horrified to see a disgusting brown stain (see attached picture). After bringing this up with the manager when checking out the next day, we were accused of causing the stain and that it smelt of "fresh p**s'. Perhaps if we were in suits we would have been taken a bit more seriously, but the way we were treated was not up to standard. I would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KButtery, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us at Ibis Budget Hotel in Leeds. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#27 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Jurys Inn Leeds
#17 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Address: Crown Point Road | 2 The Gateway North, Leeds LS9 8BZ, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Leeds Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ibis budget Leeds Centre - the perfect low-cost hotel for both business and leisure; situated within walking distance of Leeds' famed shopping districts, vibrant night life and business parks. Our hotel offers 218 contemporary 'Cocoon' bedrooms all with en-suite showers, air-cooling, and flat screen TV's. Free Wi-Fi throughout. 24 Hour Reception offers a wealth of sweet and savoury snacks, as well as a large selection of beverages. 100% Non-smoking. From the M1: take the exit at Junction 43 onto M621 / Exit at Junction 3 / Merge onto A653 ('City Centre').Turn left at A61 / Merge onto 'Crown Point Road'. *Discounted Car-parking is available nearby at 'NCP Leeds the Markets' *Discounts are applied to parking receipts at the hotel reception before paying at the car park (24 hour stay is approx. £5.50.) NCP, Leeds the markets, LS2 7EA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Leeds
Etap Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing