We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chefs Night”

The Man Behind the Curtain
Ranked #19 of 1,857 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chefs Night”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was lucky enough to go to the soft opening last week and had an amazing evening. It was fun, tasty and inspiring; definitely worth a go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    113
    60
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Next level”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Having previously eaten at both of Michaels previous restaurants expectations were high for a preview meal with my partner at The Man Behind The Curtain.

Suffice to say they were met an exceeded. Arriving at a very unassuming store front and led to a lift into the restaurant made the whole thing seem like a secret only we knew about. Once greeted and seated with a drink in hand out came the food.

Course after course were mind blowing and with an excellent wine pairing.

Will definitely be booking in again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A whole new experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you are looking for that special treat and a complete dining experience give "The Man Behind The Curtain" a try. From the first drink on arrival to the "final curtain" our visit on Saturday was a totally memorable experience. This new restaurant will be talked about for some time to come so give it a try and see for yourself - you will not be disappointed. Andy & Sue

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to get a table on the opening night, so I decided to dine with my wife to see what all the new hype was about. We have eaten Michael O'Hare's food twice before, when he graced York with his presence at The Blind Swine, so we already had high expectations.
The expectations of Man Behind the Curtain was always going to be a talking point, but from the minute of arrival, a stunning room that has been cleverly turned into a new type of dining experience.
From the offset we were serve imaginative & very clever cocktails before sitting down to our first selection of beautifully crafted appetisers served from the chefs & Michael himself.

The food was beautifully presented with a unique approach to the dishes presentation but backed up with a good balance of textures and flavours, there was just the right amount of food over the evening, even for a fairly hungry guy like myself, 10 courses in all at an outstanding price of £65 per person.

Overall "Man Behind the Curtain" is a fantastic & unique new restaurant that is going to be a huge success, Michael O'Hare is a young North East lad on a mission to surely becoming one of the new rising stars of British Chefs and I can not wait to come back to see what he does next.

Kenny Atkinson
House of Tides

.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kenny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fancy something different?”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Being completely honest, neither my wife or I hold ourselves out to be "foodies", but our trip to The Man Behind the Curtain last Saturday night has certainly got us hooked!

If you're either looking for a night to spoil your better half, a treat for a family member, or looking to impress a client, this place ticks all the boxes.

Excellent venue (with nearby parking), attentive staff, and an array of inventive dishes (and drinks) makes the night a thoroughly enjoyable experience - if you fancy something different, give this place a try - we both highly recommend it, and can guarantee you will widen the horizons of your taste buds...

Dave & Caroline

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Man Behind the Curtain also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Man Behind the Curtain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing