We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of The Corner Cafe

The Corner Cafe
Ranked #30 of 1,857 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$32
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a small, independent, family run restaurant. Our food is home style cooking inspired by family dishes from Old Delhi. Our menu has a wide range of vegetarian dishes available. Following the addition of a new mezzanine floor we are now fully licensed. We stock many different ales from local breweries.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my partner and the food was just amazing, the best Indian food I have ever eaten!! Especially loved the fish pakora starter! Will certainly return and recommend to friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Deblou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for a super review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    75
    26
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere, excellent service, good beer, good menu idea. Don't want to say too much otherwise might become too busy when I want to return

Helpful?
Thank Leeshore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for a great review. I am sure we will always have a table for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Came on a recommendation and was very impressed. Friendly and attentive service, fabulous food, very fresh and well balanced spices. Special mention goes to the mint choc chip kulfi which was amazingly minty.

Helpful?
Thank NickBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. Really glad you liked my newest kulfi flavour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The corner cafe is a charming but modern curry house with very helpful staff and good food. But that's the problem - the food is good but nothing special.
The menu is so wide ranging that I can't help feeling they should slim it down and just concentrate on less dishes but done better.
Don't get me wrong the food is nice but I don't think it's the 11th best restaurant in leeds and it isn't exactly cheap.
It's strikes me as curry English style and not as Indians would eat with loads of flavour and spice.
I will keep going every now and then but I just wish it was better quality and value.

Helpful?
Thank SwissUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello SwissUK. Goodness, I'm not sure what to say to your review. You haven't given any detail in your review so I can't comment on what dishes you had. Perhaps you should try our Early Bird Menu, which at £10.50 represents very good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good evening”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited here for the first time having seen some excellent reviews.

The Positives
The service and greeting is excellent. We were made to feel welcome
There is a good range of drinks available
The meals are competitively priced and well portioned.

Improvements

The meal was not particularly distinctive and certainly not a stand out curry. Nice/good but not great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Steve. Great to hear that overall you enjoyed your evening with us. We have a very extensive menu, so if you visit us again, make yourself known to us and we will hopefully be able to recommend a dish more to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Corner Cafe also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing