We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night bedlam !”

Sous le Nez en Ville
Ranked #43 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Saturday night bedlam !”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Ate here last Saturday night with friends. The noise from entering the restaurant until leaving was intolerable. It was difficult to communicate with the waiters and impossible to have a conversation with our friends.The food wasn't bad, but certainly not outstanding. We felt throughout that the restaurant wanted to see tables vacated to make room for the many waiting guests and we were only too happy to oblige after two courses. Maybe Saturday was a bad choice but we won't be returning in a hurry

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello and thank you for taking time to write us a review. We can only apologies for the noise, but on some evenings we do experience high noise levels due to the amount of parties booked in. We do advise customers at the time of booking that we require the table back at designated time, however we do not intentionally rush any customers so we must apologise if you felt this way. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    226
    67
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding party in private room”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Last month we had our post wedding meal for 18 in the private room. We were so well looked after by everyone. We had the excellent early bird menu which was excellent.
They were very helpful setting up screens for slide show and dealing with the cake, making the room nice and then helping the event special.
Even when one of the waiters made a small mistake the Maître de sorted the issue without question or fuss.
Thanks for looking after us we will come back again to remember this special day that you helped us enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevetighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. Firstly we would just like to congratulate you once again! We are delighted you had such a good evening with us and are very pleased to have been a part of it.
We hopefully will be able to welcome you in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Early bird”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

4 star expectations due to some ratings, 3 star experience.

As the last diners on the early bird we were sat in a tiny corridor next to the kitchen door, ignored most of the night & fed average food with microwaved sides.

Would need a very good review of the regular menu from a trusted friend to consider going again.

Kendals next time.

Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello. We are very sorry to hear you didn’t have a good experience with us. The table you were sat on is a normal table which is part of the restaurant, albeit next to our kitchen. In future, if you are unhappy please do notify a member of staff and we will do our best to accommodate your request. On Saturday evenings due to high demands we are very busy, but we’re sorry if you felt ignored. If you do decide to give us another try when you book please let us know if you have a preference and we will do our best to accommodate you. All of our food is cooked freshly and this includes the sides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch with a friend”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On one of our regular lunches, my friend took me here, we take turn to choose and pay, it was very busy and quite noisy really, lots of business lunches I think. The service was very good, drink prices were reasonable, the food, very extensive menu and selection of specials, I went for soup of the day, very tasty Tomato and Basil, my friend went for the Black Pudding which was lamost a meal in it's self she said. We both had fish as main, not because it was a Friday but because thats what we wanted, sides of new potato and mixed veg, both cooked to perfection, not being a big potato fan that is praise from me. Too full for a sweet we had a coffee to finish, all served in a unhurried way so all in all a very pleasnt lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed what sounds like your first visit to Sous le Nez. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon and you can sample one of our desserts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old school French restaurant, hooray”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Truly French. We ate early and it was a pleasure to watch the restaurant come alive. Great food, great service, lovely atmosphere. Looks like the kind of place that used to host boozy business lunches, in fact there were a couple of people at the bar that looked like they might have been there since lunch time!
Proper French food, in a non-shiny environment is a breath of fresh air in city centres these days. Luckily it is tucked away so we should always get a table, those in the know will always return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saffron14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the Sous le nez ambience and we are delighted to hear you were impressed by our service. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sous le Nez en Ville also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sous le Nez en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing