We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not amazing.”
Review of Sheesh Mahal

Sheesh Mahal
Ranked #187 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$39
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good but not amazing.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We really wanted to be wowed by our first visit to Sheesh Mahal for many years but unfortunately we were not. The service was excellent, as was the choice of dishes. We chose the Chicken Laziz and the Chicken Karahi for our mains and did enjoy but we didn't think they were the best curries we'd eaten in recent months. Handy location for the cinema but tough competition nearby.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    55
    31
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I had asked for a curry with loads of taste, but not loads of 'heat'. The suggestion was Sheesh Murgh Karahi (chicken). It was superb. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devonmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian place!.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visited with friends this evening 28th August. Starters nice popadoms great. Mains were lovely.
Chicken madras superb! that i had. Have been here before and was great then last year.

Will be back very soon to try more indian dishes.

Just visit folks. Nice!!!.

The staff there was nice also.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Chafiras, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Been eating here since the doors first opened.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

First found the Sheesh many years ago (must be 20 years or more ago!) when it was a tiny place and fell in love with the Special Dopiaza. It became a regular spot for a tasty meal when working night shifts. Many years later I don't get to visit as often as I used to as I don't live in the UK anymore, but I always make a point of going back to have my fix as part of my annual UK holiday. Still great food and great service. Got to be one of the best in the land!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lavatrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent veggie options”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Been to the restaurant a few times and the food is always great. Good choice of veggie options and they are happy to change dishes too, they made up a mixed vegetarian starter which was delicious. Love the paneer dansak and garlic naan.
Brilliant attentive service.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheesh Mahal also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sheesh Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing