We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistent”
Review of La Grillade - CLOSED

La Grillade
Price range: US$67 - US$67
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Leeds City Centre
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Been coming here for 25 years and never once been disappointed , I think this is the best place for steak by a country mile ,it can be a little on the expensive side but it is worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    40
    10
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A great choice - we will be back”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Oh, how I stewed and stewed over what restaurant to book for my partners 50th birthday. My only real criteria was intimate and romantic, but still with a decent amount of atmosphere. I've been to Sous Le Nez several times, and Kendalls Bistro once, but really fancied somewhere different but with a similar quality of food/atmosphere.

I have lived in Leeds all of my life and can't believe that I've never been to La Grillade. It's tucked away from the "main areas" in Leeds, hence the reason we've probably overlooked it, but what a great recommend it was on the trip advisor forums.

The service - exceptional. The food - out of this world. We spent £140 for two with a decent bottle of wine and it was worth every penny (starters, a steak each, and a dessert to share). My only very minor criticism of the whole evening was that my mussels weren't served without a spoon as to enjoy the garlic and cream sauce, but that is a very minor gripe.

I can truly recommend La Grillade, and we will be back as soon as possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyHollidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Reliable option”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This restaurant is a good option for French food or steaks and offers reasonable value (if price is not a worry, head for Sous le Nez). The service is pretty efficient but a little intrusive in nature as it becomes a little irritating to be asked about the meal several times during each course, particularly when this involves interrupting the flow of the conversation. Still, it's a nice experience but if service were a little warmer, it would be even better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Monday Family Lunch”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I, along with my sister were treated to lunch at La Grillade when visiting other family members in Leeds. I had Fillet Steak which was accompanied by some rather silly matchstick sized fries. Three of our party had the steak, two had the "cottage pie". We all really enjoyed the steaks which were of the highest quality as were the pies. Starters and the wine were also of a high standard. Although I did not pick up the bill, I noticed from the menu that the prices were generally on the high side. I am a regular visitor to France and this restaurant compares favourably with any I have visited.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank killerbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

It's been a number of years since i last ate at La Grillade and my wife hadn't previously visited. Neither of us were disappointed, the whole experience is still great! Being in a cellar adds to the atmosphere and ambiance, the staff are very friendly and helpful and more than happy to be engaged in conversation. But the thing that makes La Grillade special is the food, our steak was superb, cooked to perfection and the selection on the cheese plate was excellent. All in all, well worth a visit

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoMarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grillade also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing