We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAD”
Review of La Grillade - CLOSED

La Grillade
Price range: US$67 - US$67
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Leeds City Centre
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“SAD”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Sadly no more Beaujolais novae days or steaks remember the opening my 40th birthday and many other occasions there a great loss to Leeds

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lotherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    40
    10
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Was great”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Sadly now closed ,the first real taste of France in leeds and always consistant ,good look to Guy whatever he does ,thanks for the memory's

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sadly stopped trading Jan 2014”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've eaten here many times over the years and have always been totally satisfied, indeed La Grillade has probably been my favourite Leeds restaurant especially for special occasions. I wanted to book a table for my wives birthday in January but after a couple of days of not getting any reply on the phone I googled and found out that the restaurant closed just after the New Year.
Great shame.
Just posting this so that prospective diners are aware that currently no La Grillade!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigmund_Fried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great steak, good atmoshphere and excellent venue”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Went as a couple back in November and shared a rib of beef which was cooked exactly how we requested. The steak came with ample sides. I usually eat in Sous le nez but this was just as good. I read some previous reviews that the service was poor but I found the staff welcoming and attentive. Excellent venue also.

I recommend a visit if you have never been.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“What a Difference & Surprise...Decent Christmas Meal in Leeds”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had our annual Christmas get together and opted for Leeds this year, having never been to La Grillade I was expecting the typical overpriced, fixed menu poor quality food that a lot of the Leeds restaurants offer in December.

It was great when we walked in, although took a bit of finding as you go through a side door and head downstairs. The restaurant has a great feel to it and we were greeted by someone who appeared to be the owner and clearly knew what he was talking about. We had great pre dinner drinks in a relaxed atmosphere and then headed through to our delightful table. Food and Wine was top notch and a thoroughly enjoyable evening in great company, great atmosphere and fab service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grillade also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing