We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely slow”
Review of La Tasca Leeds - CLOSED

La Tasca Leeds
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Tasca brings the fun of a Spanish Fiesta to your table. A wide range of Tapas and Paellas to choose from with lots of Vegetarian and Gluten Free choices available. A wide range of drinks including a special sangria bar with daily specials available. A great choice for a cosy meal for 2 or a birthday party treat
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely slow”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Slowest service I've experienced in a restaurant in Leeds (and I am a chef). La Tasca don't seem to understand the concept of tapas (order a few and bring them out when ready, then order a few more with the next round of drinks). Maybe this is because it is a British chain.

We were a party of five on a Tuesday night and to be fair to the front-of-house staff, the restaurant seemed understaffed and the waiters did look like they were running around. It took 10 minutes for us to be asked for our drinks order, by which time we'd already decided what food we would have. We ordered about 12 dishes (actually less than recommended by the menu) and they took about 20 minutes to arrive, by which time some were hot, some were warm (the whole point of tapas is that they come when ready to avoid this issue).

When we had finished the first lot, we decided to order some more and waited another 20 minutes at least for about four dishes, again some were warm and some hot. By this time I was actually hungry again but I didn't want to order any more because I couldn't deal with waiting another 20 minutes for a dish.

The speed of service was a shame as the food was generally good. I think the two waiters were rushed off their feet and probably did as good a job as possible under the circumstances. Probably wouldn't go again, Azucar at Brewery Wharf are much better and the food is tastier.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    144
    90
    65
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The service was attentive (and good to see our waitress was from Spain, which added to the authenticity this chain is trying to create). The food was OK without being spectacular. The paella was served nice and hot, but the patatas bravos more on the warm side. The bottle of Proseco on the house seen as it was a booking for my birthday was most welcome. The whole place was just a bit noisy, but once we'd got acclimatised to this we enjoyed our visit and we were well looked after by the staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
Thank DNA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTascaLeeds, Manager at La Tasca Leeds, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank You for your review. We have review how we srved the bravas in order to be deliver to your table piping hot.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. It takes a bit to get use to our party service on the weekends but as you see we will alway will look after our guests. see you soon

Love
La Tasca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place and staff”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We do like a visit to La Tasca chain, and the Leeds one is no exception. Lovely place with gret decor fitting the Spanish theme very well.
Attention from the staff was excellent, food delivery times exactly what you would expect and the food was excellent and piping hot!

11/10 well done! Will be back I'm sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philbingham71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTascaLeeds, Manager at La Tasca Leeds, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Its Always great to know that we made your experience great. See you soon
Love
La Tasca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mouth watering tapas!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed six delicious tapas dishes at La Tasca - some new to the ever evolving menu. So loved the new melt in the mouth pig's cheek with skinny fries! The new ribs were scrummy too! Two crispy fish dishes - white fish and calamari - and two veggie dishes - spicy veggie stew and aubergines - completed an absolutely delicious, and soon to be repeated, meal! Great service, great food, great value for money! A winning combination!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
1 Thank 507CHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTascaLeeds, Manager at La Tasca Leeds, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We love you enjoys your visit and that the food was at the top standard
Love
La Tasca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GOOD AT LEEDS”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Food was excellent - and with 40% discount service was friendly efficient and very prompt. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Four of us ate on sunday 29 june
at 4pm and our friends being new to tapas are keen to return.
Good Atmosphere was subdued as place really quiet at 4pm sunday.

by jollyjeff

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
Thank Jollyjeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTascaLeeds, Manager at La Tasca Leeds, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank You for your review, We hope you come and visit soon
Love
La Tasca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tasca Leeds also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing