We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check this place out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haftsin

Haftsin
Ranked #310 of 1,806 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Check this place out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

There is no shortage of cheap and cheerful eateries in the Burley Road district of Leeds, but the Haftsin Persian Grill House stands out, for serving excellent food from a culinary tradition which will be unfamiliar to many and for the friendliness and welcome of the staff. Portions are generous and the prices low. The best value, and ideal for lunch, is the offer of four starters from the menu along with flatbread - plenty for two people and just 11 quid. A range of kebabs, stews and salads is available and there are plenty of non-meat options. There is no alcohol and payment is with cash only, but with food this good and a little forethought that's not a problem. The place is a one-off!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    31
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Persian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have gone to Haftsin many times now. The stews are great with copious quantities of rice cooked just the right amount. The nans are so soft and nice , I just devour them. The food also always tastes so fresh - especially the salads. I would be going there again many times.
Only thing is they don't serve alcohol, so go there when you don't want to have a drink with your food. The price are also very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
292 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Found by chance but what a find! Excellent Persian/Iranian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Staying in the city centre HIE I found this Persian restaurant by chance. I have not had Persian food before and this was a very pleasant surprise. In fact I went twice! Generous portions so do not have many starters! Kebabs etc Yes it is cash only but if you know in advance no problem. No alcohol but they serve fantastic mango lassi or pomegrante juice. Would definately go back. Menu online.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LewPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food, bad ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have to say that food is very good, but don't expect anything that resembles a classy restaurant. First of all the lighting is too bad, too bright, it feels that you are in a hospital cafe!

The most disappointing factor for me was the music that was played at a volume that disturbed costumers! Often they play really laud, cheesy and high beat Persian pop music. It is far too laud and far too high beat for a restaurant! So Haftsin would not be an ideal place for a special night, romantic candle light dinner and etc, but the food is excellent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller7b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Went today for my first visit on our christmas lunch with the team - I will definitley go back, the food was yummy and the service was excellent. A real gem, good value, lovely atmosphere and overall one of the nicest lunches I have had in a while. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haftsin also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Haftsin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing