We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful flavours and a good range of dishes”
Review of Chino Latino

Chino Latino
Reserve with OpenTable
Chino Latino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #579 of 1,961 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Leeds Train Station
Description: Welcome to Chino Latino Leeds Chino Latino, the award winning Pan-Asian Leeds City Square Restaurant is located at Park Plaza Leeds opposite Leeds Station. Our Pan-Asian food is served to share and dishes are brought steadily to the table creating an informal yet sophisticated style of eating and drinking - the best way to enjoy the taste sensation that is Chino Latino. Open for Lunch, Monday to Friday 12-2pm and Dinner Monday to Saturday 6-10pm, choose from our award winning sirloin steak on the hot rocks to our signature grilled scallops and freshly caught sushi and sashimi. View our menus here. Come and enjoy some of our unique cocktails, nibbles or a complete taste experience with our exquisite tasting menu
Reviewed 23 October 2013

On arriving we were a bit apprehensive as it felt like a hotel dining area rather than a restaurant with lots of empty tables. However, the service was brisk and we soon had two delicious cocktails, and as tables filled up, the atmosphere definitely improved. Out tasting menu looked good on paper (they always do), but when it arrived, it was far better - a great range of interesting dishes and magnificent flavours. This was all top quality Japanese food (and we've eaten in Japan), with the tuna sashimi and the crispy chilli squid being stand out dishes. The wine list was decent if not large, and our wine went well with the food.
Definitely one to go back to, and probably ideal for groups where you bring your own atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear MikePatx

Our taster menu's are without a doubt one of the best ways to try many of our dishes at Chino Latino, I'm glad to see you were able to take advantage of this.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We dined on a Thursday night, which we accept is not the most popular and the place was dead. Only 2 other tables besides ours. This may not have helped as the restaurant definitely would have had more atmosphere would it have been busy. The chefs were all leant on the hotplate waiting for orders, the waiting staff leaning on the bar.

We had the menu and dining concept explained to us, and we ordered a number of dishes. Food on the whole was very good. Belly pork and chilli quid stand out in my mind but the service was so lacklustre. One large table opposite were complaining about the experience of having food delivered to the table as cooked and not in the traditional courses. This you could say was down to their misunderstanding of the concept, but i have to admit that i suspect fault was to lay on both sides of the table.

In summary, when the place is packed and the serving staff on form im sure this restaurant would perform better, but when the food is fairly expensive,standards should be maintained on any night of the week, not just a busy Friday and Saturday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A1EX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear A1EX8

I'm sorry to see that the service given to you on your visit was a little lacklustre but you did enjoy your food.

It seems you dined in the restaurant on one of our not to frequent quiet nights which didn't help contribute towards the atmosphere.

We hope the service hasn't deterred you from coming to see us again.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell - Restaurant & Bars Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I have dined at Chino Latino before.. About 2 years ago. The amount of restaurants now in Leeds is mind boggling, and to be honest we only ended up here as we thought we had left it too late to get into the new trinity restaurants... However, the food was excellent! We had amazing sushi, steak on rocks and too many cocktails. I can't remember the name of most of the sushi but definitely recommend the duck with pancakes! It was expensive at £80 for 2 but we did have cocktails and wine, it's in a great location and the only pity was it wasn't as buzzy as the trinity restaurants but I'm sure once their novelty wears off it will be... Great music and lovely cocktail bar

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jollylollyloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Jollylollyloola

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit. It looks like you have tasted most of our signature dishes on the night which are without our best selling dishes.

i'm glad to see you had a chance to try our cocktail and wine list.

We now have a new wine list should you wish to visit us and try our new products.

Paul Tocknell - restaurant & Bars Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Went here with my friend, who had been before and recommended it (it was my first visit to Leeds).
Staff were extremely attentive, regularly checking if we were ok, and tailor made our drinks for us, including off menu. I found the cocktail menu to be quite innovative - I recommend the Dragon Fly.
Thoroughly enjoyed the food - I loved the idea of being able to try small amounts of every dish, and cant fault a single one. It was a genuinely exciting experience and we were both happy with all aspects.
I look forward to visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Newmeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Newmeey,

I'm glad to see that we lived up to our high standards of service, food and cocktails on your last visit to us.

i will of course make sure our dedicated team receieve your comments.

we look forward to your next visit.

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Visited with a group of friends food presentation was good , but unfortunately the taste was bland
Scallops were not cooked very well noodles greasy and bland, prawn rolls sauce was not nice.
To there credit they did bring us another dish but overall rubbish and wouldn't recommend
I think it was the only restaurant in Leeds on a Satuday night to have half the tables empty, I think that says allot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SR2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear SR2222

I'm sorry to hear that your food didn't live up to its usual standards from your last visit. We did try to rectify the problems on the evening and replaced the dishes you didn't like with more favourable dishes.

We also made the bill to suit what you requested on the evening in order for you to leave the restaurant happy. It disappoints me to see you still made negative comments on our page despite these efforts.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chino Latino also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Chino Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing