We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational venue for our small business meeting”
Review of The Lodge Avebury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Avebury
Ranked #3 of 5 Avebury B&B and Inns
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inspirational venue for our small business meeting”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We needed a meeting room midway between Bristol, Cirencester, Barnet and Winchester and rather than the usual bland corporate hotel we opted for something offering more character and charm, so that's how we found ourselves at the Lodge in Avebury. Our meeting was productive and creative, fueled by our landlady Sue's home made rock cakes and incredible chocolate gateaux, ample supply of tea and coffee and a superb view out to the Avebury stones and surrounding area. Combined with excellent parking a stone's throw away the whole experience was effortless, productive and memorable (which is pretty good for a business meeting).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveburylodge, Owner at The Lodge Avebury, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
So very kind of you Simon. I'm so glad that your meeting worked so well and that your clients enjoyed visiting Avebury so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    20
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
55
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed with Australian visitors here and were all knocked out by the great location with a view of the stones, by the greeting and helpfulness of the owners and by the quirky surroundings of the b and b which was full of antiques and curiosities amassed by the owners. Rooms were comfortable and the vegetarian breakfast was great. We could not think of a better place to stay if you are visiting Avebury or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveAlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveburylodge, Owner at The Lodge Avebury, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
It was a genuine pleasure to meet you and indeed, your lovely wife and delightful friends.
Thank you for your kind review! My genuine intention is that all our guests have such a happy and memorable stay and I honestly hope you'll visit Avebury again. It's nice finding things in common with people, whilst chatting about places you've visited that they have experienced too.
Amongst my favourite guests - welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a vegetarian B&B in the village of Avebury.
The landlord was very friendly and helpful. He provided fresh milk in a thermos when I said I did not like the UHT milk that was on the room tray.
The bed was large and very comfortable.
The rooms were filled with masses of antiques. Our room had 25 pictures on the walls,a large Buddha, a candelabra, a huge pelmet overhanging the head of the bed but only one coat hanger!
It was nice to be able to sit in our armchair having a cup of tea and admiring the lovely view of the ancient stones with sheep grazing amongst them. But this was a double room, where was the other person expected to sit ? Also it would be a good idea to check the cleanliness of this window.
I had not realised that our private bathroom would be down a corridor. However our landlord left a little light on in the corridor so that as an elderly person I did not get lost in the dark nor fall down the stairs on my night-time loo trips.
The bathroom had a heated towel rail and large white fluffy towels.The bath was also really long so I could stretch out and relax in it.
There was unlimited Wifi and free parking very near, for which we were provided a voucher.
The breakfast was good with fresh fruit salad, cooked food and lots of toast with tasty preserves. We were provided with extra boiling water for our tea at breakfast by our ever helpful landlord.
Altogether a most memorable visit.

Room Tip: Choose the one with the ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chesswidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveburylodge, Owner at The Lodge Avebury, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It was really nice to meet you both and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that the swallows had messed on your window, the windows are cleaned regularly and we do endeavour to keep them clean, in the nicest way, nature can be a little unpredictable in this sense. Yes, there is one armchair in the Pelmet room and two additional upholstered bedroom chairs and since letting rooms here since 2003, no one has ever mentioned a lack of seating before. If anyone asks for an additional armchair in the room, it wouldn't be an issue and I'd be delighted to help. You were lovely guests and I hope you enjoyed your tour of Avebury.
The Lodge is my home and as such, my family have grown up here and we've all many happy memories of my time living in Avebury. I appreciate the feedback and really do hope you visit again, your memories intrigued the other guests and I hope you will visit Avebury again. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I would absolutely recommend a stay at The Lodge. It is a totally unique experience, we know of no other B & B that enables you to sleep within a stone circle. We both enjoyed being able to sit in bed and view the Avebury stones just metres away. We were lucky to have a double aspect room so had views of the stones from the front and rear windows. The Lodge is a charming building and the owners are extremely welcoming. The vegetarian breakfast was fresh and piping hot. I'm a vegetarian but my husband isn't, he really enjoyed the breakfast too. The Wagon and Horses pub is just over a mile away and is a great place to eat and sample the local ale.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leapyloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveburylodge, Owner at The Lodge Avebury, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for staying at The Lodge and taking the time to share such kind words! Trying to do something with as much individuality as The Lodge and succeeding in giving some lovely people such a nice stay is truly rewarding. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location cannot be beat- to sleep in the middle of Avebury circle in a beautiful historic house is a unique experience. The pleasure of being able to explore the standing stones before and after the tour buses come is priceless. The house is lovely and tastefully decorated. Andrew is a great host and the breakfast was delicious (we are not vegetarians but who cares?). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, I believe. Both are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveburylodge, Owner at The Lodge Avebury, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
So delighted to receive such a kind review - from such nice people. The Lodge is an individual and quirky bed and breakfast that reflects the personality of it's owners, yet it's surrounded by one of the most other worldly stone circles in the world, a myriad of burial mounds, Silbury Hill, West Kennet Long Barrow and it's only 15 minutes south of the M4, Avebury makes a great location for a night or two away. It was really nice meeting you and I enjoyed your company thoroughly; having been able to point you in the direction of some nice pubs and restaurants as well as the stunning historically awe inspiring surroundings was my pleasure too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My family stayed at the Lodge over a weekend. It is in an extraordinary setting, in the middle of the giant neolithic stone circle of Avebury, and within walking distance of other incredible monuments such as West Kennet Long Barrow. The house is charming and the rooms delightful and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and served by the irrepressible character Andrew Blackall.
A totally unique UK experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveburylodge, Owner at The Lodge Avebury, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
It was a genuine pleasure to meet you and I'm delighted that The Lodge Avebury worked so well as you base from which to enjoy the stones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Avebury is an amazing place and staying overnight made the experience even more memorable. The Lodge was a lovely, welcoming place to stay and once the day trippers had gone we pretty much had the village to ourselves. The room and bed were very comfortable and in the morning we were treated to a lovely breakfast in a room overlooking the ancient circle. Andrew was a wonderful host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveburylodge, Owner at The Lodge Avebury, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
The Lodge is approaching it's 12th year in operation and having people come and stay in your home is 24/7 hard work, especially when your business remains open all year round and you have other business's too. The Lodge isn't a hotel, it's a Bed & Breakfast and it genuinely makes running a it a whole different experience when you have lovely people come and stay! Thank you for the kind words and praise. Welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avebury
5.3 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
632 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
974 reviews
8.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dorwyn Manor B&B
Dorwyn Manor B&B
#1 of 5 in Avebury
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avebury Life B&B
Avebury Life B&B
#2 of 5 in Avebury
87 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Avebury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Avebury

Property: The Lodge Avebury
Address: The Lodge High Street, Avebury SN8 1RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Avebury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right inside Avebury's 5500 year old Stone Henge, The Lodge Avebury is a beautiful Queen Anne country house with splendid rooms overlooking the surrounding henge and stones. Vegetarian cooked breakfast, stunning views, wonderfully furnished rooms full of antiques and antiquarian prints, comfortable beds and powerful, hot showers or bathrooms. Bedrooms have additional heating, hairdryers, wi-fi etc. The Lodge has featured in television shows such as Children of The Stones, Trust me I'm a dealer and Three in bed and has featured in numerous Antique, Interiors and Style magazines. Room rate per night £175 double (two people sharing a room)and £140 single occupancy (one guest occupying the room) per night including breakfast. All bookings are inclusive of breakfast and both rooms overlook the henge and stones. The Lodge is a small independent Bed and Breakfast, established in 2003, endeavoring to offer private accommodation to Avebury's visitors. Internally, The Lodge remains a home, with separate Guest areas offering visitors a good level of privacy. The Lodge is a 100% non-smoking business and home and all bookings are made with VISA, Mastercard or Debit and PayPal. Parking is adjacent in the High Street car park and a free permit is given to guests on arrival. Check-out is by 10am on departure mornings and Guests are asked to take off muddy shoes before entering the property. Rooms have a variety of complimentary beverages and breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the henge. Access to the Avebury stones, the henge and Avenues, West Kennet Longbarrow and the Ridgeway and Silbury Hill is free and open 24 hours a day. PLEASE NOTE: THE LODGE IS AN EXCLUSIVELY VEGETARIAN B&B AND DOES NOT SERVE MEAT PRODUCTS OF ANY KIND. THE LODGE AVEBURY - A VEGETARIAN BED & BREAKFAST IN AVEBURY - ESTABLISHED 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge Avebury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Avebury Hotel Avebury
The Lodge Avebury Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing