We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, but .....”
Review of Coach & Horses - CLOSED

Coach & Horses
Price range: US$0 - US$41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The coach and Horses, is a traditional 13th Century Coaching Inn, Serving Home Cooked Food Monday to Friday 12.00 To 2.30Pm 6.00Pm to 9.30Pm Saturday 12 to 9.30Pm Sunday Midday to 5.30Pm We are Child Friendly and Dog Friendly. We also have a large courtyard
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“good food, but .....”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had lunch here with friends, and the food was very good. We all had the two courses for £12 menu, and the four of us really enjoyed it. But ..... the price of the wine! Two standard glasses of Pinot Grigio was £12! It was only after we had eaten our meal that we saw a notice that we could have bought a bottle for the same price. And the beer that the two chaps had was not very good (and was well above the average price for a pint) and they had it changed, but they still said it had a slightly odd taste. In fact, my husband left a third of his - totally unknown!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreabrooke, Manager at Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review i just want to advise that the glasses of wine that you had were in fact large not standard glasses of Pinot Grigio the bottle price is not £12.00 as you have stated in your review but in fact £17.50. I am sorry that your husband left a third of his pint however if he had advised us of a slightly odd taste on the onset we would of exchanged this for him. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
800 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Doggy Friendly City Centre Pub”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Firstly,although I have given this a 3* it is probably nearer 4*. But as Trip Adviser indicates 3* = average I have marked it as such as food is good/average
Where the Coach & Horses wins is that it is a lovely traditional coaching style pub right in the city centre. Any overseas tourists would love the traditional style of pub.
I had checked out doggy friendly pubs before visiting Salisbury for the Christmas market with my parents and thought it looked to be the best option.
As we parked in Culver Street car park thought we would check quickly before going to explore the market.
Noticed on the door a notice to check with landlord/lady before taking your dog in. Thought this a bit unusual, but went to check and soon understood why as the owners have two dogs that are free to roam pub. Quick chat with friendly landlady who met my Norfolk Terrier & confirmed that yes all ok to bring him in at lunch time.
As mentioned food of good standard with a good selection & a specials board
It is also of good value with special lunch time deals

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank places2seeplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have visited this pub fairly often and yesterday after visiting the Cristmas market took my sister in law from Australia for lunch. As before great service, beer kept well very friendly gentleman behind bar couldnt do enough. I had the three sausages and mash superb, all the ingredients to make a good pub. Makes me very annoyed to read some reports which are so obviously untrue, expect theres an ulterior motive, discounts etc. Sister in law very impressed good old fashioned service with courtesy and comfort. Keep it up (hope the twins enjoyed their meal..)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreabrooke, Manager at Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review we do appreciate customer feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your experience of the coach and horses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food served too quick!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Ok - so no one wants to wait for ages for food to arrive BUT when your food arrives within 5 minutes it has either been sitting waiting or has been microwaved!!
We visited Salisbury for the first time. We were surprised how quiet the Coach and Horses was for a Saturday lunchtime - in fact if was quite empty and had no atmosphere at all. My husband went to the bar and ordered a goats cheese salad and lasagne with garlic bread. He had literally just sat down when the food arrived. The lasagne was steaming hot ( presumably fresh from the microwave! ) , the garlic bread was 'rubbery' ( surely not microwaved!! ), As for the goats cheese salad.....the 'salad' looked lovely and I consider myself to be quite a goats cheese expert BUT ...oh no, surely that wasn't microwaved too!! The goats cheese was an unrecognisable rubbery substance!! We will never return to the Coach and Horses again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CazWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love this little place”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

if you want a little unassuming traditional pub meal, here is the place to go. Great food, great prices and charm galor. And the dog sleeps on the couch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radiantkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach & Horses also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing