We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dated”
Review of Victoria Lodge

Victoria Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #29 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This guest house is three or four decades behind the times - and really needs a visit from TV's 'Hotel Inspector'. Many aspects are poor - the reception area is awful, and our welcome was only lukewarm (no offer to carry our luggage upstairs). Our room was small, dark and with very dated furnishings. Breakfast was only just adequate; both service, choice and quality of food were perfunctory. Victoria Lodge needs a thorough revamp in all departments.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
32
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A last minute booking made when my other hotel had lost my reservation. By luck I went on the internet and found this place. I arrived to a charming friendly welcome, the beds were very comfortable and in the morning a super breakfast, cooked perfectly to my requirements. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have just spent the week-end playing cards with friends from Southampton, Portsmouth & Salisbury. I was recommended this B & B by a friend from Salisbury & I must say his choice of B & B was excellent. The Staff & Accommodation were faultless, Staff very helpful & Accommodation very clean & tidy. If I visit Salisbury again Victoria Lodge will be my first choice if I need accommodation.

Room Tip: We had 3 single rooms, 3, 10 & 13 all rooms were very clean & tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was at this location for only one night this week, but I found my stay extermely comfortable and welcoming.

The premises are a bit old style, but in keeping with the building, it was very homely, the staff very friendly, polite and helpful. The whole premises were very clean, the rooms perfectly adequate and a wonderful breakfast, freah and with much choice.

Would and will next in that area, stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW516A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lodge is ideally situated from Salisbury town centre by way of a pleasant 15 minute walk. Fantastic welcome upon arrival with friendly advice on how to reach specific attractions. Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. The lodge is quite dated and our twin room was located very close to the reception desk, where every conversation could be heard. There were children staying above us and it was very loud as they were runnung around. If I were to stay here again I would ask for a room on the upper floor.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed in a group of 10 for a 4 day cycling holiday. Hosts very friendly. Great breakfasts. Good place to store the bikes. Nice walk along the river into town. Easy access to traffic-free cycle paths out of the city in all directions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danglefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed for one night and the hosting cannot be faulted, everyone working was friendly and very helpful. The decor is a bit dated, but everything was clean and neat. Not too far from town, about a 15 minute walk, and a taxi to town costs about £5.00. Breakfast was nice - endless toast! - a suitably-sized portion and not greasy or soggy like some cooked breakfasts can be.

We were, however, right by the road and it was very loud, even late into the night and early into the morning, and we had a constant thudding sound of water pipes or a washing machine or something in an adjacent room. This guesthouse is not for light sleepers!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.7 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peartree Serviced Apartments Salisbury
0.9 mi away
The Chapter House
The Chapter House
#6 of 58 in Salisbury
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Property: Victoria Lodge
Address: 61 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing