We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent reception, good breakfast, but small noisy room”
Review of Victoria Lodge

Victoria Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #24 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The woman at the reception was very pleasant, but our room was right on the road, which is a main road with heavy traffic. The room was small, basic, and could have used some maintenance, light shade missing. The breakfast was good, full English breakfast, but one morning we waited about a half an hour to be served. It is a short pleasant walk into town, which you can take along a stream, if you can manage to cross the road. We waited about 10 minutes at 10 in the morning and were unable to cross! We did have a car, and were able to park it easily in their parking lot, which was a plus. It was convenient to get into town, but next time I would look for someplace on a quieter street.

Room Tip: If you go here, make sure you are not right on the road, but you will still probably here traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gonetofrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place is very unpleasant. Decor stuck in 1970s. No shampoo, a note to say guests may 'request' a hair dryer, and toiletries may be purchased from Reception. The towel in the bathroom was so ragged I wouldn't even use it on my dog. Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank restless5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were very happy with our three night stay here and found the B&B ideally located for the city centre, the free parking was a bonus. Our twin room was very clean and made up each day and there were ample supplies of tea and coffee etc. The beds were a little soft and although the room was well equipped, like much of the building, it looked like it could be due a refurbishment in the near future. Breakfast was fine and overall, we found the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Perfectly adequate bed and breakfast, but we were there when the temperature was in the upper 20s, the room we had faced south and overlooked the main road. So it was vey very hot and also noisy late at night and early in the morning either with the windows shut or open so our stay was not as comfortable as it might have been.

Assisted up stairs with our luggage on arrival which was very welcome

Nice walk into the city along the river bank( for some reason the B&B makes a feature of this in their advertising whereas Victoria lodge doesn't give it a mention).

Room compact but very clean. Bathroom with excellent shower cubicle (pity we never did quite get to grips with the water temperature control. It's quite clear that the owners pay a lot of attention to running costs, but that is no bad thing.

Breakfast menu OK but rather limited, cooked to order. Service sometimes a bit haphazard, but everything sorted in due course. The dining room will not cover all the guests when fully booked so occasionally there was a need to wait a little for a table to be cleared.

Staff always friendly.

Adequate parking on site.

We are thinking of going back to Salisbury and I would quite possibly stay in the Victoria Lodge again. The fairly short and very pleasant riverside walk to the centre is a real plus point. Daytime parking in the City costs an arm and a leg ....

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Castle Road, otherwise loud traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puttingitright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent only one night there. We arrived early but the lovely lady let us checking early. She and the others were super friendly, gave us direction, suggestions... It is a 15-20 minutes walk to downtown, and you have an opportunity to see the architecture of the buildings.
It is a clean bed & breakfast so don't expect modern furniture or carrying your luggage.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pati V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I arrived late so wasn't greeted but was left a note with my key to apologise for this and with details of my stay. When I met the staff at breakfast they were very friendly, and I couldn't fault the breakfast service.

I had a single room, which was small, but perfect for me as just a stop off. The lodge is also in an ideal location for a short walk along the river into the town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in room 11 last night and it was great! The room was nice, big and clean. it had plenty of tea, coffee and milk supplies in the room. The staff are so friendly and the location of the b&b is perfect for walkign into the centre taking in the river views or on the main roads. We had a great breakfast this morning, it was no trouble at all to make a vegatarian breakfast made, and it looked just as hearty as the meat version. We were given great local advise as to local pubs and nice walks to take. I would definately visit here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.3 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Address: 61 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £61 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing