We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Avonlea House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avonlea House
Ranked #4 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had a lovely stay at Avonlea House bed and breakfast in Salisbury,A chic and elegantly decorated B&B.The room and shower were beautiful clean, very comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast.Jackie and John were so welcoming and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here - we certainly enjoyed your company. We look forward to welcoming you back to Avonlea House when your work commitments bring you back to Salisbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
119
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were so pleased to find such a lovely B&B in Salisbury and really enjoyed the few days we spent at Avonlea House. Jackie and John were extremely good hosts, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were delicious. Our room was spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished with very comfortable beds. We will definitely return and would recommend Avonlea to anyone who is exploring the city and local area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review, and such a lovely review too. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed your company and would love to welcome you back to Avonlea House in the future should you need another break from your busy lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The new owners, Jackie and John, had a tough act to follow when they took over Avonlea House in Salisbury, but they have risen to the challenge seemingly effortlessly. Avonlea is a very comfortable and elegantly decorated B&B, beautifully appointed in a very chic style, with very comfortable beds too. We really enjoyed the superb breakfasts, which are so generous! The table is always beautifully set, the views across Salisbury from the front bedroom and the breakfast room are lovely.The warmth of their welcome, combined with their lovely personalities make this a 'must stay' for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had a lovely stay here. The bedroom was beautiful and clean and the bed was so comfortable! Irene and Peter were extremely helpful and excellent hosts. There is a lounge to use too with a selection of books and games. British breakfast at its best!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Peter and Irene were excellent hosts. We booked the deluxe room, which was large and comfortable with a nice bathroom and an excellent shower. Beakfast was excellent, there was plenty of parking, it was close to Stonehenge and Old Sarum, and Salisbury Town Centre was a short drive away. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst we explored Salisbury. The room was lovely with a big bathroom and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast was excellent and the freshly baked bread was a nice touch. The location was fine and on a regular bus route if you didn't fancy the 20 minute walk into town. I would definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Stayed for just one night for a family party with my husband and parents. Both rooms were very well equipped and comfortable. Despite being on a main road, the double glazing ensured that the room was quiet and we had no problem sleeping. The breakfast was excellent. There was a good selection of cereals, followed by a cooked breaksfast with granary bread, toast and home made preserves. It is owned by Irene and Peter, who are both really helpful and friendly. Although we didn't have chance to visit, Old Sarum is about 5 minutes walk away. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonlea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea House

Property: Avonlea House
Address: 231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonlea House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our modern and comfortable B&B. All bedrooms tastefully decorated with En-suite shower rooms, TVs with Free-view, FREE WiFi, kettle and hospitality trays and hairdryers. A tempting breakfast menu is offered to suit all tastes. 20 Minutes walk to Salisbury city center or 5 minutes to Old Sarum. Direct route to Stonehenge. Join the Stonehenge Tour Bus from our local bus stop. Free parking for all guests. Sarum Airfield nearby for Skydiving and flying lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avonlea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing