We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Avonlea House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avonlea House
Ranked #4 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We visited Avonlea in early March and stayed 2 days while touring the area. The accommodations were excellent consisting of a king bed with an en suite bath. Linen and towels were all fairly new and fresh and the breakfast was first class. Although we had a room in the front of the house, it was quite quiet and traffic noises didn't disturb us.
Both Jackie and her husband were very welcoming and most pleasant.
We'd strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayH722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and so kine of you to take time to post a review. I'm so glad you both both comfortable here and, in particular, like our new linen as I personally am delighted with the new big fluffy towels our linen and laundry company are providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
116
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

One of the best B&B's I have stayed at. There is very warm welcome when you arrive from Jackie and John,The rooms are immaculate and beds are very comfortable. It was so good I stayed at Avonlea House for 14 weeks while I worked on a contract at Amesbury, I couldn't recommend Avonlea highly enough

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrickkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Pat, I can't believe I've overlooked responding to your review until now. We really enjoyed your company and were sorry when your contract came to an end. Perhaps we'll get to see you again if work brings you this way. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Probably one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. The Hosts are very attentive and the choice of Breakfast was first class. Ideal for a stay when visiting Salisbury, Old Sarum and that part of Wiltshire. Good bus service into the City centre and other places of interest.

Room Tip: Be advised by the hosts, we had the back room our friends had the front rooms, All spacious and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review. It was so nice having you and your friends stay with us while attending a local function. Hopefully the running club will arrange another event and I'll have the pleasure of welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have to say this place is immaculate!! You would not be able to fault it. From the minute you arrive, you get a very warm welcome from jackie the owner, who couldn't be more pleasant.

Rooms

We were shown to our rooms past automatic hall lights, which turned on as you walked past them. We had two rooms and both were stylishly decorated and spotlessly clean. The decor is classy and jackie has thought of every little detail to make your stay special. There are tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk provided in a flask on the landing. So much better then the usual cartons. There is a flat screen tv in every room and wifi. The beds were very comfortable with crisp white bed linen that didn't even have a crease. The bathrooms are very stylish and beautifully decorated and the towels are the best I have seen in any hotel I have stayed at. I have not seen any as nice in 5 star hotels!! Lovely powerful showers in spotlessly clean bathrooms, again decorated to a very high standard.

Breakfast

Perfect!! The dining room is great!! It is newly decorated and jackie lit a fire for us. Very light and airy, and beautifully decorated. There was a selection of fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurts on a side table which again were nicely presented.

We chose a full English breakfast which was perfect!! But there were other choices. Another time I would have the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Jackie also uses local companies to supply her with produce, so she is doing her bit to support the area.

The location is good as it is on the road into town. We chose to stay there because we have family only a short drive away, and will definitely go back there again. Jackie and her husband have only been running this b&b since 2012 but if you are visiting the area i would highly recommend it. The excellent reviews she has been given are well deserved!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill from kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Jill, thank you so much for your lovely and very informative review. I greatly appreciate the time you have given to posting this long review. It was a pleasure having you both stay and I really enjoyed your company. Looking forward to your return when you visit your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here, as visiting Salisbury for our daughters 40th birthday, and she had a house full. What a wonderful guest house. Immaculate, well situated, great breakfast, and very friendly hosts. Anyone wanting to visit Salisbury, could not find a better place, central, walking distance into city 25 minutes, on bus route, free parking, and close to Stonehenge and surrounding area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Sheila, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and such a wonderful review too. It was lovely to meet you and your husband. John and I enjoyed our chat with you on Saturday morning and are grateful for your marketing advice - we'll be checking out any future opportunities to put your advice in to practice soon. We hope to see you in Salisbury again soon - possibly as neighbours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

As many other reviewers have mentioned before, Jackie and John are wonderful, warm and welcoming hosts; the rooms at Avonlea House are spot on and everything in the B&B, from the breakfast to the amount of information provided tells that the owners really care about providing their guests with the best possible experience. Avonlea House has everything you can expect in a B&B. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Mateo, thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was so nice of you to take the time to post a review and it's lovely to know how much you enjoyed staying here. We greatly enjoyed your company and hope we will get the chance to welcome you back if you plan to organise another jump in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I took my Mum away for a few days and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better to stay than 'Avonlea House' !! All decorations & furnishings appear new, very stylish & tasteful plus everywhere was spotlessly clean. Jackie the owner was a very warm, friendly lady and a Great cook too !! She also recommended some excellent restaurants for dinner on both nights.

The house is also in an excellent position, only 5-10 Mins direct walk to the top of 'Old Sarum' and only 5-10 Mins direct drive to get parked in 'Salisbury Centre' - couldn't be easier.

Overall we had a wonderful stay, didn't want to leave and hope to return as soon as possible. Have already recommended Jackie & 'Avonlea House' to several 'Family & Friends' who are intending to visit Salisbury and the surrounding area. Mum keeps telling everyone how lovely her bedroom was !!

Thank-you once again Jackie for an absolutely faultless stay and it was a true pleasure to
meet you. We all hope to see you again soon !!

Room Tip: Both double rooms are Excellent, Mum loved her lemon & gold room at the rear of the house !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiths26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello Smith family. Thank you so much for such a kind and informative review. It was lovely having you all to stay and so glad your Mum enjoyed Room 3 as much as my Mum does. I really hope to see you again and your other family members if they are planning to visit their childhood home too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
753 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#2 of 57 in Salisbury
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonlea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea House

Property: Avonlea House
Address: 231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonlea House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our modern and comfortable B&B. All bedrooms tastefully decorated with En-suite shower rooms, TVs with Free-view, FREE WiFi, kettle and hospitality trays and hairdryers. A tempting breakfast menu is offered to suit all tastes. 20 Minutes walk to Salisbury city center or 5 minutes to Old Sarum. Direct route to Stonehenge. Join the Stonehenge Tour Bus from our local bus stop. Free parking for all guests. Sarum Airfield nearby for Skydiving and flying lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avonlea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing