We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avonlea House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avonlea House
Ranked #4 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our hostess could not do enough for us, and I enjoyed the comfiest bed for a long time. The breakfast was delicious and I was able to find out the best places to eat in the area, which are only a short walk away in the centre of Salisbury. I'd actually like to move in!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASD925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I really enjoyed you and your colleagues company and really hope your work will bring you back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
103
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Granada, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at Avonlea House in May, 2014. The house is beautiful and our hosts, Jackie & John were outstanding. As others have said, you can walk to town. Very charming town! Food was great and there are many things to see in the area. If we ever have a chance to go to Great Britain again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I do hope your involvement in the D-Day celebrations in France was a wonderful experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here after visiting Stonehenge and we are so glad we did. The owners of this property are very hospitable! The room was immaculate and the breakfast was hearty. The b&b is a short walk to the city center. Thank you for a terrific stay!
Paul and Roseann

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much Paul and Roseann for posting your review - even before you left on Thursday morning. Hope you're continuing to have a wonderful holiday in Europe - and the sun is still shining on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a nice visit! Great room with a true king-sized bed (!), wonderful view and a fantastic breakfast. Close enough to town center to walk in and take bus back which drops you off right in front. Also close to Old Sarum... Great hosts also made the visit super enjoyable !

Room Tip: We stayed in the large room with a king-size bed facing the street...it was busy in the morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your lovely review. Many thanks again for staying with us for 5 days - it was great getting to know you over that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a great stay! The room was spotless, bright and airy all lemon and white. The bath towels are huge and fluffy! Room was plenty large and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting everyone - both hosts and other guests. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review. It's so nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed your company too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights over the May bank holiday and it was a fabulous B&B. Clean, modern decor with simple lines and really excellent hosts. The breakfast was beautiful with fresh ingredients daily. I loved the table for breakfast where you could chat to and get to know other travellers. Good parking amenities. I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone wishing for a very comfortable and high standard B&B in Salisbury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irish-redhead123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure having you both stay over the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I recently stayed at Avonlea House for one night when on a visit to the Salisbury Playhouse.

A very warm welcome to a spotless, beautifully upgraded Guest House. A comfortable room with all conveniences a traveller could ask for. Breakfast was of an excellent standard with a wide choice of good quality ingredients.

I have already recommended that friends, if in the area, need look no further than this lovely house which is managed by the most helpful owners. Well worth a look.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlloydjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay here while visiting the theatre in Salisbury. Thank you so much for posting such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
0.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#2 of 58 in Salisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonlea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea House

Property: Avonlea House
Address: 231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonlea House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our modern and comfortable B&B. All bedrooms tastefully decorated with En-suite shower rooms, TVs with Free-view, FREE WiFi, kettle and hospitality trays and hairdryers. A tempting breakfast menu is offered to suit all tastes. 20 Minutes walk to Salisbury city center or 5 minutes to Old Sarum. Direct route to Stonehenge. Join the Stonehenge Tour Bus from our local bus stop. Free parking for all guests. Sarum Airfield nearby for Skydiving and flying lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avonlea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing