We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holmhurst Guest House
Ranked #52 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Karen made us very welcome from the start - we had just had a terrible experience with another B&B (not in Salisbury) where they had double booked us and didn't have room for us (after travelling 250 miles, we needed to crash!). The family room was clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The breakfast was exceptional and Karen's attentiveness was 'just right'. Would definately stay here again.... MANY MANY THANKS!

Room Tip: A little noise from the busy road, but didn't disturb us too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshGirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed the night, last minute booking, cheapest option in Salisbury. Very comfortable bed, decent sized room, very helpful owner, convenient parking, good road access, breakfast good, Yes i would book again.

Room Tip: Ring up in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogereasterbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here the night before my wedding with my two brothers.
Rooms were a good size and the value was excellent. We had a room on the front of the house but the traffic was not too bad. (We are all heavy sleepers though)
Just read a previous review slating cleanliness, I would have to totally disagree with this as our rooms we spotless. Breakfast was also great quality and just what I needed to start my day. The owners were really nice and so was their lovely little dog!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hstayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

My friend and I visited Stonehenge and Salisbury for one day. Since it wasn't a bad price and nearby Salisbury town centre with free parking, we stayed there. We found that it was an average B&B. I felt that it was a bit like a hotel than home from home.

The room was big with a double and a single bed, a small TV and two comfy chairs. The room was facing the main road so it was a bit noisy during the peak hours. The breakfast was average but really liked the fried bread.

Karen, the host, knew the area well and have given us some useful travelling advice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

On our recent visit to Salisbury we stayed at Holmhurst and found it a very friendly establishment. It is a well located place also it was easy to walk to the Cathedral and town centre. The room was nicely decorated and clean and Karen (the proprietor) made us very welcome and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augierjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at Holmhurst last month whilst travelling around the south of England. We found the property easily from the website map and the owners Karen and Trevor were very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area.Room was clean and well decorated, breakfast superb! - freshly cooked and very prompt service.
All in all a great place to stay in Salisbury. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Having been at the Holmhurst AA-rated B&B in July with our 5-yo son, we were happy to stay near to the cathedral within 10-15min walking distance. Parking was good. The house is located right next to a petrol station though which had us smell the petrol right away depending on the wind direction.

Looking into the kitchen and some other rooms next to the staircase left us with mixed feelings though. Everything was a bit messy and uncleaned. Piles of clothes, stacks of whatever kinda things - but far away from being tidy. Hmmh. And what about the rooms?

We got one, right next to the main road. Surprisingly quiet - we expected more traffic noise from the lorries passing by - the room hit us though with 2-3 rather NO-GO's:

First, the bed sheets were not clean, neither were they freshly washed. Looked like somebody else had been staying in here and the sheets weren't changed. The bathroom was really unclean, Not only hairs in the corners but also stains on all chrome elements and the shower looked like even the paint renovation remains on the tiles (provided it was paint :-/ ) had not been removed. My wife didnt want to use the showers, because she really feared the rather dirty shower curtains to stick to her skin...

A place to stay for people who dont mind finding rooms not clean - but all others who insist at least on the basic principles of cleanliness (bed, floor & bathroom clean) should avoid this place. For GBP 10 more you get way better deals in Salisbury...!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hillcroft Bed & Breakfast
#50 of 58 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#8 of 8 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bridge Farmhouse
Bridge Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Britford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wisteria Cottage B&B
Wisteria Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Alderbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Huntsman Tavern
#45 of 58 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmhurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmhurst Guest House

Property: Holmhurst Guest House
Address: Holmhurst Downton Road, Salisbury SP2 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing