We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it's really that bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Bend, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yes, it's really that bad!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were not informed about any bar. We came back from dinner at 10 at had to wait for the rude young patrons to remove themselves from the doorway before we could get into the hotel. Main floor is a nightclub that started up while we were away at dinner. Very surprised to get back and have to walk through crowds and thumping music to get to our rooms. And yes if you are wondering there IS a reason they have provided earplugs in your room! No sleep until at least 2 am when it closes?? This shoul NOT be advertised as a hotel but instead a nightclub with beds. HORRIBLE!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bend_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Guest

I am sorry you where not informed about our busy bar. I see you travelled with friends and I can only imagine they made the booking and recieved the email telling your party about our busy weekend bar.
We try and make it clear on our web site that on Weekend nights we are one of the most popular hotels for bar entertainment in the City that is open till 2am. We cater for all ages from all walks of life. We have a lounge area that is attached to the bar where you can sit and chat but you will be aware that there is a d.j. playing.
During the week we offer a quiet relaxed experience, and are right in the heart of this great City. We are a great base to use to tour, shop or visit the Cathedral which is just a short walk away. We have lots of home made dishes and local cask beers available for you to enjoy.
I would ask all potential guests to please read the snapshot of reviews I have listed below to try and give you a fair and balanced view of what to expect when you visit The Cathedral Hotel. Make an honest judgement of what you require from your stay in Salisbury and come stay with us and let us give you a great time and let you enjoy this great city, but above all please book for the right occasion and if something is not right when you stay with us, give us the opportunity to put it right, while you are with us.

Recent Reviews:

''My wife & I spent a Friday and Saturday night, but we were on the third floor and with secondary glazing we were not disturbed at all by any noise.''

''Very friendly staff. Excellent location, just in the middle of the city centre. Good breakfast. If you stay on the weekend, the noise from the bar downstairs might reach your hotel room''

''I know on some of the reviews people have mentioned the noise, however, I can honestly say it didn't bother us at all. The hotel caters for all ages and when we arrived back at the hotel around 10.30pm on the Saturday night the place was really busy, we went straight up to our lovely refurbished room and couldn't hear a thing from downstairs.''

''Central location, and appreciated lift to 3rd floor,very pleasant staff and excelent breakfast.''

Kind Regards,
The Cathedral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    147
    81
    30
    27
See reviews for
79
169
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I can only agree with comments already made. Superb location in City Centre, only five minutes’ walk from the outstanding cathedral and riverside walk. Hotel staff & service outstanding – 10 out of 10! All staff on duty during the weekend did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Breakfast included in the very competitive room rate offered an excellent breakfast bar supplemented with a similarly excellent breakfast menu offering everything from the Standard English to the more exotic Smoked Salmon with scrambled or poached eggs, both offering substantial portions.
My wife & I spent a Friday and Saturday night and we had also received the same rather ominous e-mail regarding weekend noise, but we were on the third floor and with secondary glazing we were not disturbed at all by any noise. A small problem was that the first night was very unusually (for the time of year) warm and this made the room rather stifling having to keep all windows closed because of possible noise problem. Large ceiling fan wasn’t really enough to cool the room sufficiently. The owners are aware of this problem, but if we have a hot summer, it would be worth checking arrangements in advance.
But we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthseaDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind comments.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

From stepping into the hotel to checking out, the staff were absolutely amazing. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with local information. The dining staff did everything they could to accomodate us. The friendliness and attitude of the staff were second to none. Even when we returned to the hotel after an evening out, we were shown to a table and looked after impeccably by the two gentlemen who were on duty that evening. They made us feel very welcome and we will definitely stay there again! Aishlinn has the most wonderful,sunny personality and makes you feel so welcome!
Fantastc!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aqua1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantasitc comments. We look forward to looking after you again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We have Just come back from a weekend in Salisbury, The hotel is in the centre of Salisbury with lots of nightlife, if you arelooking for a quiet place to stay this is not one of them, but if you want good value and good friendly staff and a pub atmosphere with good food this is the place for you. We were warned by the hotel manager that on Friday & Saturday it would be very noisy as the hotel stayed open until 2.00am, we were supplied with earplugs but didn`t need them as when you got into your room you couldn`t hear anthing. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
I think this hotel will appeal to all ages, we are in our sixties but still young at heart.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Really impressed, food, service and accommodation excellent. Had stayed in hotel last year and found it a bit noisy but because of the friendly atmosphere and excellent service decided to come back this year. Was really pleased that I had decided to do so as they have fitted double glazing windows which has made a real difference. Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liverp00l_Supp0rter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We were aware of the noise on Saturday nights so wasnt a problem as we ended up in the bar for a few hours with it, then watched the aftermath from our hotel room which was entertaining in itself. For the price you cant go wrong, lovely building good rooms with mostly what you need in them, breakfast wasnt too bad although i think the young staff on sunday morning might have been a little hungover it seemed, but overall friendly staff. I dont know if it was my imagination but my partner and i found the majority of people in Salisbury, shops etc extremely rude bordering on angry, unlike the hotel the people in general certainly didnt make visitors very welcome, which i found bizzare.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

This hotel provided exceptional customer service with a personal touch. It is in an ideal location, close to shops and dining. The rooms are small but well appointed with all of the necessities. We had two connecting rooms with bathroom. No a/c and we happened to be there during a heat wave. The ceiling fans helped and we kept the windows open. The street noise was minimal as we were not staying over the weekend. There were no lifts but the staff did help with luggage. We were told they are adding a lift soon.
This hotel is a great value with traditional English breakfast included in the rates. Quite delicious! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing